We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2008

My honey and I stayed two nights and three days at the Cottage Inn & Spa where the entire time we felt as though we were visiting old friends. The staff was so friendly and delightful, remembering and greeting us always by our names, offering various suggestions and assistance with anything needed.

Jack surprised me that weekend by coordinating with Lorie and Maggie at the Inn; setting up flowers and my favorite chocolates when we returned from a wonderfully romantic dinner at Sante (a local favorite and fabulous service!) where he surprised me with our engagement...couldn't have asked for a better more relaxing weekend full of bliss.

Relaxing atmosphere creating the aura that you're in a different country rather than the napa region - although you can't beat Napa valley on any given weekend!!!

We plan to visit them again in the near future to reprise our lovely weekend. Simply delightful. We encourage anyone to visit.

Best Wishes,

Jessica & Jack

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JJJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 790 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cottage Inn & Spa. We arrived on Friday evening around 8pm, and although we'd made arrangements to have the key left for us, the innkeeper was still there, which was a nice touch.

We stayed in the Mission Suite, which features a sitting room, full kitchen, breakfast bar, king-size bed, fireplace and double jacuzzi bath. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable, the kitchen surprisingly useful (for the fridge, sink, etc., even though we're only there two days), the fireplace operable (with wrapped logs provided), and the grounds well kept. On the less-than-optimal-but still-functional side, the shower is a modest fiberglass prefab and the TV a small table-top model. We did however, enjoy watching one of the dozen or so complementary VHS movies that were stacked on a shelf beneath.

A point that is made on the website, the Cottage Inn does not do evening mixers or a sit-down breakfast, as many B&Bs typically offer. Instead, breakfast is a selection of pastries in a basket by the door, placed very promptly at 8am. We found that this worked fine for us, but may not be optimal for folks who enjoy meeting and mingling with other guests as part of the B&B experience.

Lastly, Sonoma was just a block away, making afternoon and evening excursions delightful. Plus, many wineries are only a short drive. We particularly like the Ledson Winery - both the hotel location in town and the "batman" like castle about 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rsekeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

With only five days to spend in Northern California, my husband and I decided to drive to three cities to sample the wine country. Our first stop was to this lovely bed and breakfast in Sonoma. It was only a half block from the historic square, so we were able to park our car in front of the Inn and walk everywhere - to dinner, to the historic mission and barracks, and to the lively square. Our room was exquisitely appointed with a large courtyard outside for basking in the sun or sipping newly found wines. Our hostess was most welcoming and made us feel right at home. We had also booked a couple of massages which were a wonderful way to start our small tour and leave our busy lives behind.

Our room was very quiet and had everything we needed. Music was playing softly as we entered. A small television set was available and the bathroom had a basket of amenities. A coffee and tea pot were available as were fresh milk, cold water, and orange juice in the small refrigerator. For breakfast, cold cereals and coffee/tea were provided and a basket of beautiful muffins and pastry was on our door knob in the morning. We were able to sit down to a lovely breakfast in the privacy of our own room.

We highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone visiting Sonoma.

Patricia and Eric, Connecticut

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank J34sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My husband and I chose to stay at this fabulous inn for our honeymoon. We were treated with great respect and kindness from the moment we arrived at the inn. The rooms were spotless and we even had fresh pastries on the door in the morning! We stayed in both the Chapel and the Mission rooms, both incredible. The courtyards and fireplaces make for a relaxing place to sip wine in the evening. The inn is within walking distance to Sonoma Plaza with great restaurants and shopping (and wine tasting!!) I would reccomend The Cottage Inn and Spa to anyone seeking a personal experience with a romantic, tranquil, peaceful environment. You won't be disappointed if you choose this inn for your stay in wonderful Sonoma!

**Spa services are also excellent!!**

~Katie and Ted~

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTTK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

This was a beautiful and peaceful Inn. The service was excellent, the grounds were beautiful and the room was perfect. It is right in the small town of Sonoma and so you don't need your car. Our experience was amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rozan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

When we were looking for a new place to stay in the Sonoma, CA area, we came across "The Cottage Inn And Spa" online and decided to give it a try. I called the number to get an accurate vacancy report, which they were not in the office yet and was going to call back a little later. To my surprise they returned my call just from seeing the caller ID phone number. They gave us a great rate and the rooms we stayed in and the service was out standing. It is located just two blocks from the Sonoma Plaza where the great shops and resturants are located. We were leaving after the second night and decided to turn around and go back to the Inn for a third night. We will definitley return the next time we go to Sonoma.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DebbieBReno_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

If you would like to spend some time in Paradise then choose the Cottage Inn & Spa - Mission Bed & Breakfast. Enjoy a quiet and peaceful stay in a luxury room where you are pampered by the most accomodating staff. The courtyard is a peaceful place to sit and sip wine and enjoy the beautiful landscape, subtle lighting, and bubbling fountain at the end of the day. Something for everyone is just a short walk away, such as excellent dining, wine tasting, shopping in unique shops, as well as a scenic bicycle and walking path. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Buster718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.4 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
665 reviews
6.3 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
507 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn & Spa

Address: 310 1st St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-5705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range: $222 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block from Sonoma’s quaint town square, step into The Cottage Inn &Spa and be transformed by its peaceful courtyards and award-winning Mediterranean architecture. Luxury private suites feature cathedral ceilings, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and king beds. A Zen Garden Spa offers therapeutic couples massage treatments in a calming atmosphere. Complimentary wine tasting passes to many Sonoma Valley wineries, WIFI and health club privileges are included. Experience romance and relaxation in one of the most charming areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Sonoma
The Cottage Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing