We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Spacious and Relaxing Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Spacious and Relaxing Inn”
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cottage Inn & Spa. We arrived on Friday evening around 8pm, and although we'd made arrangements to have the key left for us, the innkeeper was still there, which was a nice touch.

We stayed in the Mission Suite, which features a sitting room, full kitchen, breakfast bar, king-size bed, fireplace and double jacuzzi bath. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable, the kitchen surprisingly useful (for the fridge, sink, etc., even though we're only there two days), the fireplace operable (with wrapped logs provided), and the grounds well kept. On the less-than-optimal-but still-functional side, the shower is a modest fiberglass prefab and the TV a small table-top model. We did however, enjoy watching one of the dozen or so complementary VHS movies that were stacked on a shelf beneath.

A point that is made on the website, the Cottage Inn does not do evening mixers or a sit-down breakfast, as many B&Bs typically offer. Instead, breakfast is a selection of pastries in a basket by the door, placed very promptly at 8am. We found that this worked fine for us, but may not be optimal for folks who enjoy meeting and mingling with other guests as part of the B&B experience.

Lastly, Sonoma was just a block away, making afternoon and evening excursions delightful. Plus, many wineries are only a short drive. We particularly like the Ledson Winery - both the hotel location in town and the "batman" like castle about 20 minutes away.

  • Liked — Proximity to Sonoma and room size/amenities
  • Disliked — Small shower
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rsekeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    70
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
595
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

With only five days to spend in Northern California, my husband and I decided to drive to three cities to sample the wine country. Our first stop was to this lovely bed and breakfast in Sonoma. It was only a half block from the historic square, so we were able to park our car in front of the Inn and walk everywhere - to dinner, to the historic mission and barracks, and to the lively square. Our room was exquisitely appointed with a large courtyard outside for basking in the sun or sipping newly found wines. Our hostess was most welcoming and made us feel right at home. We had also booked a couple of massages which were a wonderful way to start our small tour and leave our busy lives behind.

Our room was very quiet and had everything we needed. Music was playing softly as we entered. A small television set was available and the bathroom had a basket of amenities. A coffee and tea pot were available as were fresh milk, cold water, and orange juice in the small refrigerator. For breakfast, cold cereals and coffee/tea were provided and a basket of beautiful muffins and pastry was on our door knob in the morning. We were able to sit down to a lovely breakfast in the privacy of our own room.

We highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone visiting Sonoma.

Patricia and Eric, Connecticut

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank J34sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTTK1
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My husband and I chose to stay at this fabulous inn for our honeymoon. We were treated with great respect and kindness from the moment we arrived at the inn. The rooms were spotless and we even had fresh pastries on the door in the morning! We stayed in both the Chapel and the Mission rooms, both incredible. The courtyards and fireplaces make for a relaxing place to sip wine in the evening. The inn is within walking distance to Sonoma Plaza with great restaurants and shopping (and wine tasting!!) I would reccomend The Cottage Inn and Spa to anyone seeking a personal experience with a romantic, tranquil, peaceful environment. You won't be disappointed if you choose this inn for your stay in wonderful Sonoma!

**Spa services are also excellent!!**

~Katie and Ted~

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTTK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2008

This was a beautiful and peaceful Inn. The service was excellent, the grounds were beautiful and the room was perfect. It is right in the small town of Sonoma and so you don't need your car. Our experience was amazing.

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rozan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2008

When we were looking for a new place to stay in the Sonoma, CA area, we came across "The Cottage Inn And Spa" online and decided to give it a try. I called the number to get an accurate vacancy report, which they were not in the office yet and was going to call back a little later. To my surprise they returned my call just from seeing the caller ID phone number. They gave us a great rate and the rooms we stayed in and the service was out standing. It is located just two blocks from the Sonoma Plaza where the great shops and resturants are located. We were leaving after the second night and decided to turn around and go back to the Inn for a third night. We will definitley return the next time we go to Sonoma.

  • Liked — Everythig
  • Disliked — We had to leave
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DebbieBReno_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutter Creek, California
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2008

If you would like to spend some time in Paradise then choose the Cottage Inn & Spa - Mission Bed & Breakfast. Enjoy a quiet and peaceful stay in a luxury room where you are pampered by the most accomodating staff. The courtyard is a peaceful place to sit and sip wine and enjoy the beautiful landscape, subtle lighting, and bubbling fountain at the end of the day. Something for everyone is just a short walk away, such as excellent dining, wine tasting, shopping in unique shops, as well as a scenic bicycle and walking path. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — Luxury room and accomodating staff
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Buster718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
120 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

What can we say? This place is absolutely amazing and we are sad to leave. We stayed in the very romantic Chapel suite, which is an architectural masterpiece. The 'burning' fountain right in front of our door... you have to see it to believe it. The facilities are very clean and Laurie, the sister of the owner, was very friendly and helpful. So was the amazing guy who does the maintenance work and showed us around the complex in such an enthusiastic way. There is an overall, almost Buddhist feeling of serenity all around this very well-designed place. Sonoma is an oasis in the middle of the 'valley of the moon' and the Cottage Inn well deserves its top ranking. Ron & Mary.

  • Liked — The serenity
  • Disliked — That we had to leave.....
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RonT58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.1 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
196 reviews
6.3 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn & Spa

Property: The Cottage Inn & Spa
Address: 310 1st St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-5705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block from Sonoma’s quaint town square, step into The Cottage Inn &Spa and be transformed by its peaceful courtyards and award-winning Mediterranean architecture. Luxury private suites feature cathedral ceilings, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and king beds. A Zen Garden Spa offers therapeutic couples massage treatments in a calming atmosphere. Complimentary wine tasting passes to many Sonoma Valley wineries, WIFI and health club privileges are included. Experience romance and relaxation in one of the most charming areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Sonoma
The Cottage Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing