We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cottage Inn and Spa, Sonoma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Cottage Inn and Spa, Sonoma”
Reviewed July 16, 2008

The Cottage Inn and Spa in Sonoma is a delightful place to stay. Just a few steps from the town center, the Inn's personnel are exceptionally helpful when asked for travel advice. Our room, which opened onto a beautiful courtyard with fountain and shade trees, was clean, roomy, well-appointed, and downright elegant. Breakfast of cereal and fruit, juice, coffee and tea, was available at any time, and a basket of fresh bakery appeared at the door promptly at 8 AM each day. This was an excellent base from which to explore the vineyards of Sonoma and Napa both.

I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

Darryl Gless
Chapel Hill, NC

  • Liked — Clean, elegant, comfortable room.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glessd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    70
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
595
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
PA
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2008

The Cottage Inn and Spa was one of the nicest places my wife and I have ever stayed. We arrived at the beautiful property a little early, but our hosts were not fazed by this. The owner, Faye Behrens, and her sister Laurie were there to greet us with a smile. They were so friendly and helpful. When they learned that my wife and I were on our 1st Anniversary, they immediately upgraded us to the Vinyard View Suite. It was incredible! Complete with a jacuzzi, fireplace, and of course a view of a vineyard on a hillside. We woke up to a basket of fresh pastries on our door each morning and a bowl of fresh fruit in the afternoon. There are two fountains on the grounds, including the beautiful fire pit / fountain in the middle of the courtyard. I couldn't think of a more relaxing setting to sip on a glass of Sonoma wine. Our only regret was that we were only there for two nights and didn't have time for a massage. If you are planning on a visit to Wine Country, splurge on The Cottage Inn and Spa. It will be worth it.

Dave and Kara

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandKara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2008

My boyfriend found the Cottage Inn after extensive research about places to stay in Sonoma. And yet, it still managed to exceed both of our expectations.

The location was ideal: one block walk to the main square of Sonoma and it's many eateries, an easy drive to many wineries in both Sonoma and Napa, quiet, peaceful environment, and an excellent staff.

We stayed in the Mission Room, which was large, comfortable, and very clean. In addition to the expected finds of shampoo/towels/bathrobes, we found our room greeted us with fresh orange juice and milk in the fridge, fresh fruit, cereals, coffee, and even a log for us to burn in the fireplace. And first thing in the morning: freshly baked pasteries hung in a basket ourside our door.

There were two "public" exterior patio places where friends could gather around a fountain. The back room has a clear roof and a fire-pit on top of the fountain. All you need is a glass of wine and some good conversation.

All in all, I was very pleased with our stay and honestly can't think of a single thing that was lacking. It was fantastic.

  • Liked — The entire package.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kidlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at The Cottage Inn & Spa. We arrived late and there was a note for us on the door with instructions on how to get to our room. Our room was very welcoming and VERY clean. We stayed in the East Suite and I would recommend this room to anyone. I loved reading outside in the private garden and enjoyed the jacuzzi tub (don't have one at home). We would like to come stay again and know that any of the rooms would have equal qualities. Great staff!!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank happy2travel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We loved our stay. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our suite was quite comfortable and just gorgeous. We loved the fresh fruit and pastries every day. We found the fountain on the patio to be quite relaxing. The firepit was perfect on those chilly evenings. We will recommend to friends and definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jfm813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2008

My husband and I spent the fourth of July here and it was amazing. It was a great place to get away from the city life and relax. The service is imppecable, and the fresh muffin's and pastrys every morning are to die for. (I was told they will prizes every year )...I will be going back here and will never stay anywhere else in Sonoma. It is also very conveniently located.

  • Liked — Nice location and accomidations
  • Disliked — everything was really good
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nicoledskaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Cottage Inn and Spa over the 4th of July weekend. We usually stay in large resort hotels--Four Seasons, Ritz-Carlton, and the like--so we had some trepidation about staying at a small, family-owned B&B. Our fears were groundless!
From the moment we were greeted ("checking in" doesn't do justice to the warmth of the welcome) until we reluctantly departed, everything about the Inn, and the lovely women who run it, was just about perfect.
We stayed in the Vineyard View Suite which is very large, private and has great views. The breakfast area is light and airy, and the coffee and breakfast rolls are delicious.
Faye, the owner, had "warned" me, in response to my inquiry, that the TV had a VCR but no DVD or in-room movies. We didn't miss it a bit--Sonoma and the Inn are so relaxing and romantic.
What a wonderful place to stay.
As a restaurant tip: The Girl and the Fig is incredible, but make reservations well in advance.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.1 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
196 reviews
6.3 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn & Spa

Property: The Cottage Inn & Spa
Address: 310 1st St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-5705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block from Sonoma’s quaint town square, step into The Cottage Inn &Spa and be transformed by its peaceful courtyards and award-winning Mediterranean architecture. Luxury private suites feature cathedral ceilings, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and king beds. A Zen Garden Spa offers therapeutic couples massage treatments in a calming atmosphere. Complimentary wine tasting passes to many Sonoma Valley wineries, WIFI and health club privileges are included. Experience romance and relaxation in one of the most charming areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Sonoma
The Cottage Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing