We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to be pampered!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2008

The owner, Faye, is the sweetest ever. She personally took time to make sure we had everything we needed. The room was spectacular! Every necessity and then some. We also had all the privacy we wanted. The entire property is beautiful. They held nothing back. We went to the spa and had the massage of our dreams. In addition, the Mission is just a short walk from downtown Sonoma. No driving need. We could not have been happier with our experience!!! 5 Stars!!!

Thanks Faye!!

Dave & Tyana

Stayed: June 2008
Thank RACEMOM93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for The Cottage Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 779 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2008

My husband and I took one of our first trips alone (no family or weddings to travel for). We hit San Francisco first and we were so busy there. By the time we made it to the Cottage Inn, we were ready to relax. And this was the perferct place! We slept in and had a delicious breakfast basket waiting for us. We had a private garden area and enjoyed beautiful flowers and native plants. The hiking and walking paths nearby were great for exercise and it was a great loction to walk through the town but still feel like we were secluded from the world. The staff were so helpful and friendly. Just what we needed for a perfect romantic trip!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kelley092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

The Cottage Inn is the quintessential tranquil Sonoma experience. The room was immaculate, well decorated, and cozy. The staff were warm, friendly, and accommodating. The grounds have an Eastern appeal featuring Japanese Maples, Jasmine plants, and numerous scrumptious smelling things. The Cottage Inn is ultimately a place to nurture one's mind, body, and spirit.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psychracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We spent three nights at the Cottage Inn while touring the wineries in the Sonoma valley. It was a quiet, romantic, comfortable and luxurious place to stay, within easy walking distance of the Sonoma plaza, shops and restaurants. In our room we had a little table with place settings for breakfast, a fridge with breakfast beverages, coffee maker, cereal and fruit. Each morning a basket with pastries was delivered to our door. We also had wine glasses for the bottles of wine we brought back from the wineries. Outside the room we had our own private patio with lovely plants, chaise lounges and an umbrella. There was a two-person jetted tub, candles and robes. Everything was set up for romance. This is not a place for families. There are no phones or big TV's in the room, and I didn't even notice whether there was wireless internet because I didn't care. In the middle of the inn there's a space with a fountain in the middle surrounded by built-in sofas, kind of Las Vegas for my taste but fun. The room was very nicely decorated in the California style. My one disappointment was that the shower stall is a cheap fiberglass construction that is not in keeping with the rest of the quality of the place. If you want an idea of what the inn looks like, the photos in the website are pretty accurate. At this and some other area B&B's you will receive a pass to a number of wineries for free tastings, a very good deal.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LavanRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We've stayed twice at Cottage Inn and Spa and both visits were wonderful . I spent forever on the internet before deciding the first time (May 2007) and for once, the rooms are everything the website promises. The rooms are more like perfect private apartments ( or environments) which are only a block or so from the Sonoma Plaza. I guess, the owners have somehow created the lodge/inn from three old Sonoma buildings so every room is different with skylights and patios.
The second time, we stayed in the Mission suite (which has a great modern kitchen) fabulous shower, tub and only a few steps from outdoor hot tub. This place is too perfect if you care about design. My husband sees alot of carpentry in his work so he notices everything. He spent an hour just admiring the detail. (I guess that's what he was doing) Also, they also have just finished a beautiful zen massage (environment?) room which they didn't have finished the first time we stayed. Unfortunately didn't stay long enough to try it out.
The owners are very nice and invisible when you want them to be. Continental breakfast was a little dry -- our only complaint. Otherwise, worth every penny.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank krfsanfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

The Cottage Inn was just perfect. It was quiet and secluded with a perfect location - just a 5 minute walk from the bustling downtown Sonoma Square. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Fresh pastries with milk, OJ, coffee, and fresh fruit was a nice touch. Beautiful grounds! One courtyard is very unique and has a sitting area circled around a fire pit. We will definitely return and highly recommend the Cottage Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flickaflicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

For our Fortieth Wedding Anniversary, we chose the Cottage Inn and Spa, based on comments of previous guests and information on their website. And, we were not disappointed. This is a lovely B&B and the Mission room we booked was large and comfortable with both a private garden and a porch. The location is perfect, so close to the town of Sonoma, we walked to restaurants and shops and even some wineries via a walking/bike bath only steps away. And yet, it was quiet, peaceful and oh so relaxing. The breakfast is just what we required, no calorie top heavy 3 course over indulgence, but a basket of bread and cakes delivered every morning to your door combined with cereal, fruit and coffee supplied in the room. The staff couldn't be more pleasant.

If you're planning a trip to the Sonoma wine area, this is the place for rest and rejuvenation. Next time we will try their spa and take advantage of their beautifully lit gazebo.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IraT149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1.1 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#6 of 11 in Sonoma
205 reviews
6.3 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn & Spa

Address: 310 1st St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-5705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range: $231 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block from Sonoma’s quaint town square, step into The Cottage Inn &Spa and be transformed by its peaceful courtyards and award-winning Mediterranean architecture. Luxury private suites feature cathedral ceilings, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and king beds. A Zen Garden Spa offers therapeutic couples massage treatments in a calming atmosphere. Complimentary wine tasting passes to many Sonoma Valley wineries, WIFI and health club privileges are included. Experience romance and relaxation in one of the most charming areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Sonoma
The Cottage Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing