We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Perfection for a California Elopement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“True Perfection for a California Elopement”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My fiancé and I arrived to California for our July elopement at a local vineyard. We were delighted to find that our accommodations for the two day stay - the Cottage Inn and Spa - completely exceeded both of our expectations. Faye, the proprietor, was absolutely wonderful, our east room suite was clean, bright and beautiful, and the Inn was just steps away from the charming downtown Sonoma. We especially loved the private patio and the fresh fruits, juice, and baked goods delivered every morning! We can't rave enough about this place, it was great for us. We'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewisn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    70
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
595
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My partner and I were in town for just one night, to attend a friend's wedding, and found The Cottage Inn and Spa. We felt completely welcomed and well taken care of. Extremely comfortable bed, lovely spa bathroom, and the room had everything we needed. Would definitely recommend to others, and would stay again. Wish we'd had more time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emily g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argentina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our expectations were definitely exceeded by this little gem in Sonoma. We had the North Suite, which is so much more than a suite - the photos don't do it justice. It is like a full vacation rental, and I think if we had known how comfortable it was we would probably have stayed longer. The only thing for this suite is that the bathroom is small, although it was perfectly adequate for us, and was more than made up for by the spaciousness and facilities throughout the rest of the suite. Location is perfect. Staff couldn't be more helpful. A big thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I checked into Cottage Inn for two nights in the middle of a 9 day tour through California. We had just finished a three day stay in Yosemite, walking, hiking and just busy trying to get it all in.
We arrived around one o'clock, and the minute we stepped onto the property, you could just feel the positive energy!
Our room was ready, we were escorted to the South Suite, and it was the size of a small apartment! Fresh orange juice, milk and filtered water was in the fridge. There was a beautiful fireplace (which was never used with the temps in the mid 90's) that was two sided from the living room and the bedroom.
Peaceful would be an understatement. Once we arrived there, we wanted to never leave!
One of the gals that worked there (forgive me for not remembering any names!) came by that late afternoon (it was a Tuesday) to see if we were settled in ok. She told us about the "Market Day" up at the town square. She suggested that we take the bottle of wine that we had just bought, take the blanket that was on the couch, and pack a picnic basket that she would provide for us with a corkscrew and wineglasses. Go up to the square, stake out a spot, enjoy the jazz band that was providing the entertainment, do a little shopping and drink a little wine!
If you are going to Sonoma, Cottage Inn is a MUST! We WILL be back, and we will definitely stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiM8tnce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico,ca
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The Cottage Inn and Spa in Sonoma is truly an oasis for peace and quiet even on the fourth of July. The staff is friendly and welcoming as soon as you enter the grounds. The Cottages are very clean, and inviting to the eye. The courtyard is very peaceful with the fountain running during the day and fire dancing in the fire pit during the evening hours. The Inn is only a block off of the City Plaza, but you would think you are miles away in Tuscany.
We stayed in the East Suite, which is off of the courtyard, it has french doors opening out onto its own secluded patio, double jacuzzi tub, great bed, and fireplace. The Cottage INN and Spa is about as romantic as it can get. (no TV's). We will definitely return and stay again in the future

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Cottage Inn & Spa is an oasis in the middle of downtown Sonoma, just steps from the plaza. From the moment we checked in, we were treated like family, even down to the basket of home-made breakfast items on our first morning. We stayed in the North Suite and the bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in. The design and decoration of the room and private patio were gorgeous and we felt so pampered. Thank you for a great stay in my hometown. It was absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in the North Suite, which was very quiet, except when the people next door (on the other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Faye and the people at The Cottage Inn & Spa know how to treat their guests.... like family. My fiance and I had just gotten engaged, and were welcomed with open arms and gorgeous accommodations. From decorating our room with chocolate covered strawberries, cheese, wine etc. (sent from our families back in NY) to leaving thoughtful and loving quotes with each morning's breadbasket, we could not have felt more welcomed. The inn itself is beautiful, and the highlight for us was certainly the firelit room at night, where we snuggled up into love seats with our newly purchased wine and met the fellow travelers. It was truly an experience to remember, and we are so grateful to have started off our engagement journey at the Cottage Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayleeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.1 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#7 of 11 in Sonoma
196 reviews
6.3 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn & Spa

Property: The Cottage Inn & Spa
Address: 310 1st St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-5705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block from Sonoma’s quaint town square, step into The Cottage Inn &Spa and be transformed by its peaceful courtyards and award-winning Mediterranean architecture. Luxury private suites feature cathedral ceilings, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and king beds. A Zen Garden Spa offers therapeutic couples massage treatments in a calming atmosphere. Complimentary wine tasting passes to many Sonoma Valley wineries, WIFI and health club privileges are included. Experience romance and relaxation in one of the most charming areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Sonoma
The Cottage Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing