We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant...from a local”

LaSalette Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
LaSalette Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Brazilian, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spain Street
Description: Fresh, Inventive Mediterranean and Iberian Cuisine in the heart of the Sonoma Valley Wine Country. Seafood and Portuguese Cuisine are our specialties. We offer a unique variety of fresh local and imported seafood specials daily including whole fish. The seafood selections on our menu are complimented by a variety of meat dishes ranging from the popular Pork Tenderloin stuffed with almonds, olives and figs to the, hard to find, Tripe Porto Style. Many of these dishes come steaming hot out of the wood-burning oven and fill the dining room with the exotic aromas of true Mediterranean cuisine. The menu reflects the commitment of Chef and Owner Manuel Azevedo to creating the unique culinary delights of his native Portugal and its neighbors. LaSalette Restaurant is proudly one of Zagat Surveys top rated restaurants in Sonoma. See our web site for the complete menu and a look inside our dining room, which features an open kitchen and decor that sends you back in time to old Lisbon.
Sonoma, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite restaurant...from a local”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The service is great. Same servers since they opened, for the most part, so they treat the help well. Complimentary small appetizers and desserts, but don't skip the dessert menu, which is really good. This is a Portuguese restaurant, so familiar foods may be served a little differently than you expect. The diver shrimp dishes are so good! I love the pork loin as well, which is actually stuffed with a delicious filling. If you like Port, there is an excellent selection. The steak is served "con ovo," so expect an egg on top. You can always ask to have it held if you do not want the traditional presentation. We go here for special occasions often. They also offer an affordable brunch on the weekend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Napadave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    204
    47
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Unusual Contemporary Portuguese!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

After being on the road for several weeks and eating at many restaurants, we were yearning for something totally different. We saw this option on Open Table and checked the website menu. How unusual! A contemporary twist on Portuguese food. We ate outside on a lovely evening and were warmly received. The wine list was also quite different and we needed help with a choice. As for the food, we each started with the roasted red pepper soup - most delicious! Dinner, we chose a sampler of octopus, sardines, escargo, pig ears, pig feet pate, anchovies, and a few other items. What a combination of different flavors. We wanted unusual fare from the typical French, Italian, American, etc. and we got it here. It's a place to definitely try!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank StanSylvain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must in sonoma!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We had reservations & were seated promptly. Great atmosphere & dishes we're reasonably priced. We tried the appitizer where you have several dishes. We decided to be adventourous & let our server decide what to bring us. We tried pig ears & they were not bad! :) For my main dish i had fettucini with clams & t was delicious! We enjoyed our night out with friends.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Portuguese in Sonoma”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

So if you want something a little different I would say go here. The meals are done with a portuguese flair (they even serve fojoada). Our table was a little lukewarm on their meals primarily because the food prep was a little different than they were accustomed, (salt code and potatoes in a casserole type dish) but the presentation was lovely and the service was good. Oh, and the desserts were excellent; small portions of a trio of tastes all nicely done quite delicious!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Huge disappointment. I hope this isn't really the #1 place in Sonoma. We went for dinner and order lamb and another dish. The waitress advised that they suggest they cook it medium rare which is exactly how we like it. It came out so well done, completely brown. If I were the chef it should have never left the kitchen. We sent it back. You can see part of the kitchen from where we sat, and we could see the cooks looking at us as they delivered our meal. It was almost as it they knew they did a horrible job but wanted to see if we would just take it or not. Even the waitress admitted it was over cooked when we sent it back. The second time around it was still over cooked, done medium, but we took it anyways. It was so tough we couldn't even eat it all. The other dish was ok, not memorable as I can't even remember the name. A slow cooked stew of sorts with pork, sausage and black beans. The service was ok. The hostess either hated her job or us. I would never go back.

Helpful?
Thank KPETE0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaSalette Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to LaSalette Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing