We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place we would have never found if we hadn't stumbled upon it”

LaSalette Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
LaSalette Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spain Street
Description: Fresh, Inventive Mediterranean and Iberian Cuisine in the heart of the Sonoma Valley Wine Country. Seafood and Portuguese Cuisine are our specialties. We offer a unique variety of fresh local and imported seafood specials daily including whole fish. The seafood selections on our menu are complimented by a variety of meat dishes ranging from the popular Pork Tenderloin stuffed with almonds, olives and figs to the, hard to find, Tripe Porto Style. Many of these dishes come steaming hot out of the wood-burning oven and fill the dining room with the exotic aromas of true Mediterranean cuisine. The menu reflects the commitment of Chef and Owner Manuel Azevedo to creating the unique culinary delights of his native Portugal and its neighbors. LaSalette Restaurant is proudly one of Zagat Surveys top rated restaurants in Sonoma. See our web site for the complete menu and a look inside our dining room, which features an open kitchen and decor that sends you back in time to old Lisbon.
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
340 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great place we would have never found if we hadn't stumbled upon it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a Portuguese restaurant down one of the "back alleys" off of the square. If my wife hadn't wanted to look in the shops and bore me to tears, we would have never seen the restaurant and its menu.

They put together very interesting gourmet dishes, and they add special touches like a complimentary appetizer from the chef and a truffle at the end of the meal. Prices were fair and service was great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamaica_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    195
    47
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Finally a restaurant with something more complicated than a grill!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

When people tell me how good is the food in California, I feel surprised (I know I spent too much time in Spain, hehe). Yes, there are nice restaurants in the area. But compared with food in Spain or France, everything looks like fast food. Fast in a way that you could cook it at home in 10 minutes. No complicated dishes.

Now LeSalette is definitely exclusion from this sad situation. It has some good dishes that need some effort to cook and they are very tasty. So if you are in Sonoma and look for some upper mid-range restaurant, come here, you would not regret!

I came here several times - with my mom and friends. And always it was good service and wonderful food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Portuguese prepared Meals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were two couples that wanted to try something different when we found this wonderful Portuguese Restaurant off the main square in Sonoma, Ca. It is down an alley from the front, but the locals use the parking lot in the back near the restaurant. Three of us had variations of the Sea Bass and one had the Brazilian national dish - Feijoada Competa ( a combination of stewed beef, pork and black beans) We all enjoyed our food and loved the service. One of the specials turned out to be twice as expensive as the others, so be sure to ask the price ahead of time. We got there early, just after 5pm when the opened, and had the place to ourselves. Within an hour the inside seating was full and reservations would be required.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddmsigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Food to die for. Service excellant. Search for it down an ally off plaza. Well worth the look. Entrees very imaginative and creative.Shared a grilled whole fish on a bed of fresh tomato relish yummy. Open kitchen so you can watch chef cook all food in wood oven. A definate must try.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner with friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Dinner here was amazing. We were in the area touring some wineries and heard about this place. It is excellent, no one was disappointed. The service was great, food was fantastic. The caramel dessert is a must

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elk555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaSalette Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to LaSalette Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing