We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make Sure You Make Reservations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of the girl & the fig

the girl & the fig
Ranked #4 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st St.
Description: Wine Country Destination restaurant in the heart of Sonoma Valley. Country Food with a French Passion. Seasonal local products, award winning Rhone-Alone winelist, full bar with aperitifs and unique cocktails. Enjoy seasonal garden patio dining.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Make Sure You Make Reservations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a perfectly lovely meal at the bar at this restaurant, but we wish we hadn't been at the bar. Relatively early on a Sunday evening (about 6:30 p.m.), it hadn't occurred to us that the wait could be very long. But there was a two-hour wait! The cheese plate and a charcuterie selection were divine, and the soup was terrific, but the sandwiches left a bit to be desired in the bread-to-filling ratio (a bit too much bread to filling). The emphasis on high-quality, local food was nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,349
    693
    257
    82
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delish and fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had reservations for lunch and were seated immediately at a table outside in the patio. I felt like I was truly on vacation the moment I sat down. The service was very attentive and the food was really fresh and delicious. Our group had the fig & arugula salad, mussels, meat/cheese platter as appetizers to share. The mussels sauce was so good we asked for more bread for dipping! We also tried the salmon, duck confit and the flounder. Everything was pretty well executed though I found the duck a bit too salty and rich for my own taste. Overall I would recommend this restaurant in the heart of Sonoma.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nousmangeons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Food delicious--service inconsistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I dined here on a Sunday night. The restaurant was pretty busy and we were seated in between two large parties. We enjoyed the food especially the mussels appetizer! Also enjoyed some unique cocktails after a day of wine tasting. The service was slow at times likely because of the large tables and it dragged out the meal to see a dessert menu and get the check.
Overall, a good experience and would highly recommend the girl and the fig for lunch or dinner!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must dine when in Sonoma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Make sure you book in advance so you don't miss out.
Excellent fresh local food, presented really well.
Good selection of starters, entrees, sandwiches and mains.
Helpful waiters who assist you in selecting a good wine to pair with your food and also portion sizes.
Would have loved to return if we had the time! Especially to try the magnificent dessert and sticky wine menu!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MoochieandBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved the approach; left a little hungry.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stopped here after a morning at B. Wise winery. I'd been snacking on cheese and crackers at the winery so wasn't terribly hungry, but my husband and parents wanted a mid-afternoon bite. We were seated quickly on a beautiful patio. The menu was thoughtful, creative, and locally grown. I ordered soup and an asparagus salad and really enjoyed both, but the portions were slightly smaller than I'd like. If I had it to do again, I definitely would have ordered something a little heartier -- if you go, basically, don't worry about over-ordering because you're unlikely to. You can easily eat a soup or salad and an entree as well and not be stuffed.

That said, we had a nice, leisurely lunch -- and I do love their approach to food. I would go back armed with this knowledge and likely order this gorgeous chicken dish my husband ordered!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the girl & the fig also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to the girl & the fig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing