We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First night great, second night, not so”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of the girl & the fig

the girl & the fig
Ranked #3 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st St.
Description: Wine Country Destination restaurant in the heart of Sonoma Valley. Country Food with a French Passion. Seasonal local products, award winning Rhone-Alone winelist, full bar with aperitifs and unique cocktails. Enjoy seasonal garden patio dining.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“First night great, second night, not so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife's cousin recommended the girl & the fig to us on our travels through Sonoma. We had a late reservation and sat on the patio. With heaters going, on a cool night, we had a terrific dinner. I had the steak frites which was one of the best I ever had. We enjoyed it so much, we decided to return the next evening.

Unfortunately, we ordered different food and the taste was not up to the first evening. I ordered the duck the second night and was disappointed with the seasoning. The salted fig caramel dessert with brownie bites was delicious though.

This is a happening place so I would recommend it, maybe just one evening though!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ilre12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,376
    705
    260
    86
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must "go to" restaurant in Sonoma Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

You want to visit this restaurant while in Sonoma but do secure reservations in advance to avoid a long wait or to get in at all. This place is bustling on the weekend and once you have a dining experience here, you will understand why. Our meal began with a selection of plated meats, figs,condiments and cheeses that we selected from cow, goat or sheep. These flavors harmonized so well - each bite was savored. Our main meal consisted of the pork tenderloin that was served with a bed of fresh locally grown greens, beans and figs - awesome - and the smoked salmon salad with a fresh dill vinaigrette dressing - equally awesome. We concluded with the ice cream stuffed cream puffs atop of dark chocolate drizzles - yum! We were warmly greeted and seated by the hostess. Our server was attentive and willing to answer any of our questions regarding the menu and provided us with fine recommendations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomato57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This restaurant is one of the mainstays in the Sonoma Square. I had heard about it from a Californian before coming out to this area, so my husband and I had to try it. It did not disappoint. Since many of the entrees are a la carte, we decided to try the lighter fare. Both plates were plenty of food and were delectable! My husband had the Quiche Lorraine and salad, and I had the Croques Monsieur, which was an amazing ham and cheese sandwich, and a salad.

The atmosphere is upscale, but casual dress is fine. Service is excellent. We went on a Monday, so we can't speak to lines or reservations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coconutsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Second time to this fun, totally California vibe eatery. On a week away in Kenwood with family and definitely wanted to revisit. This time with three small grandchildren,, up two from five years ago. We wisely sat in the bar area where there is one low, long table and that worked well for us, as well as for the other patrons in that we were well away from bothering those having a grown up lunch, which also allowed us to relax and enjoy ours.

Started off by sharing an order of tasty fried green tomatoes with our fig liquor/prosecco cocktails. Then, grilled fig arugula salad for daughter and me with a bowl of fabulous squash bisque; duck confit with spaezle for son-in-law with option of one or two legs. I took the second leg and it was delicious. Grilled cheese sandwiches with fries/aoli sauce for the boys. We were all happy campers. Desserts were the signature chocolate sundae and fig ice cream.

Very nice staff, our server was just a beat behind, but had good intentions, so it was all good. She very kindly replaced my duck leg without charge when the littlest guy lobbed it across the table. So relieved about our seating choice at that point. And, yes indeed, he had a time out with his dad outside the restaurant for that little trick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“True to memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Recently enjoyed my second meal with friends and it was better than the first. We ate lunch outside, had outstanding food and wine. The cheeses chosen by our servers were memorable. If you go to Sonoma you have to go to The Girl and The Fig.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EAMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the girl & the fig also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to the girl & the fig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing