We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Exceptional service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ledson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ledson Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit. As always, exceptional service! Angel is the best.... A true gem. He makes sure all our needs are met. Love this location! Restaurants just around the corner... Don't miss girl and the fig and cafe la haye. I can certainly recommend wineries to visit.. This trip we had 13 in four days to Cover. Weather cooperated. Wine, great food, family and California weather... What else is there?

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jake1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    19
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
113
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Ledson Hotel is an absolute favorite of ours. We really appreciate Michele and Justin. Every time we check in we are totally pampered. Angel is outstanding and always makes our room so beautiful. We love spending special occasions with our Ledson Family. Thank you, Steve Ledson, for building such a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody and Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner although they could use slightly larger tables. The wait staff was very helpful. We were unsure what wine to order so our server brought us tastings of the 3 wines we were trying to decide between. To me that is service above and beyond what you may get elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCMS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband & I just spent three nights at the Ledson Hotel for our 20th anniversary and we would definitely go back! It's great that's it located right on the square in Sonoma and that there are shops, restaurants & tasting rooms within walking distance. Our room was clean, quiet and beautiful!

I would like to mention that Michelle went above & beyond to help me with my food allergy issues. I cannot eat gluten or dairy, and she had the chef make me a frittata without those items so that I could enjoy breakfast with my husband. Thank you to Michelle and the chef!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNNE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Suspend disbelief...you are not in a mini French Chateau, but rather California Wine Country on the Sonoma Square. The Ledson Hotel is an anachronism to say the least, but a gorgeous one. Six rooms and a lovely dining room and outdoor cafe. The hotel is affiliated with the Ledson Winery and one is (strongly )encouraged to participate in a free wine tasting on premises and or a private tasting at the winery, about half an hour away. We particiapted in the onsite wine tasting with Justin which was informative and the wine was great. The Wine Club does get mentioned by each and every staff member - club members do earn points and discounts on wine purchases and accommodations which is no doubt a good deal for return visitors and wine buffs who are interesting in spending about $1000 annually on shipments from the club.
The rooms and common areas miss no expense as far as marble fireplace surrounds, tub and shower. Luxurious European style linens, towels and robes. Inlaid wooden floors and crown moldings are amazing - apparently it took over three years to build and craft the small hotel.
The staff is lovely, but a bit invisible. Angel was apparently involved in the construction and now serves as housekeeper, handyman and general welcoming committee. Michelle Ledson is very nice and provides good advice about where to go and what to do ...and the wine club and their winery tours.
Breakfast was fine...the first morning, repeated day two and day three!?! Weird.... baked eggs with veggies, fruit, granola and yoghurt. Perhaps all the lean and fit Californians do not eat toast, muffins or croissants - however there is a lovely French/Basque bakery just down the block. Wondered if the warmish egg dish was baked once a week and nuked every morning (and then covered with a napkin to sit until someone decided to give it a try)???

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tournesolchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

BEYOND beautiful, accommodating and hospitable! Justin, Travis, Angel and Michelle did an awesome job taking care of us. everything was very classy and high end. from the bathroom marble to the hard wood floors to the furniture to the paint on the walls. the food was incredible! the complimentary breakfast was delicious and substantial. every drink we had was tasty. HIGHLY recommend!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13armadillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The rooms are exquisite. With only 6, there is an obvious need to book ahead, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff is attentive.
Other review that considers the breakfast to be limited is certainly accurate -- don't stay here for the breakfast! We did find the view, bed, furnishings to be excellent, competing with some of the wonderful hotels we have visited in Paris, London, Chicago & NY.
Definitely do the private tour of the Ledson Winery, as that elevates the experience to truly unique and undoubtedly positively biases your opinion, but it is part of what you pay for!

Room Tip: Views of the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynchfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.0 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
6.5 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledson Hotel

Property: Ledson Hotel
Address: 480 1st St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ledson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ledson Hotel features six individually decorated guest rooms that are named after the legendary Ledson family members: William, Noble, Whitby, Winslow, Barker, and Edna. Appointed with antique grandeur, and paired with modern amenities, each room reflects a different personality with almost 400 square feet of luxury and comfort for your convenience. All rooms are equipped with king-sized beds, whirlpool tubs with a separate standing shower, marble sink vanity, complimentary Internet access, refrigerator, fireplace and balcony. One guestroom is equipped with wheelchair accessible facilities. The rooms boast views of the historic and bustling Sonoma Plaza or overlook the rustic backstreets that make Sonoma quaint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ledson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledson Hotel And Centre Du Vin
Ledson Hotel Sonoma
Ledson Hotel Harmony Lounge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing