We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Phenomenal Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ledson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ledson Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was one of my favorite hotel stay experiences I've ever had, and I travel quite frequently with work. It is a boutique hotel, only 6 rooms and everyone goes home at 9pm. The room is excellent, the shower itself deserves a special praise and I thought the staff were excellent - everything the concierge Vinny recommended was excellent. We ate several meals there, including an excellent lamb shank - recommended by the chef himself. It's right in the heart of Sonoma, walking distance to everything. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    21
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
126
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is a true, intimate experience. It is centrally located, right next to the park. The rooms are romantic and spectacular. The service is great. Having a tasting at the bar and enjoying a stroll outside is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fivestarbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west granby, ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I planned a getaway " honeymoon" for my wife and me. We had just celebrated the marriage of our second of two daughters within 7 months and my wife certainly deserved a getaway from the east coast. I picked the Ledson off the Internet. Upon our arrival at Sacramento airport, my wife's luggage was lost. Arriving in our room immediately soothed all the frazzled nerves. The room was magnificent, from the impressive decorative moldings to the period drapes and light fixtures. Each room had a theme. We also had a balcony overlooking the town square (a must to ask for). During dinner in the downstairs restaurant, the informal ambiance is what we needed. All seemed to know about our luggage issues and did all they could to make us feel relaxed, as if it was their fault. The following morning, the 9am knock on the door brought the most impressive breakfast one could ask for, deliverer by Angel, and he was a Godsend.

As we headed out for our first day of touring, he told us of the Ledson vineyards, the family history, the details that went into the hotel construction (I still can't believe it's not 100 years old). This guy exemplified the passion everyone felt in working not just for the hotel, but for the Ledson family. Mr Ledson, should you read this, you should be proud of what you have built and for the passion your employees feel towards making your guests welcome. Upon our departure, Angel and Michele made us feel like we were saying farewell to family, but did ask us to come back home soon.

Along with your stay comes a free private wine tasting at the estate. A truly fun and educational experience for a less savvy wine drinker like me.

If you visit the wine country, chose Sonoma. And if you chose Somoma, stay at the Ledson.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for a front room. The back rooms overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon
Level Contributor
256 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a lovely experience eating at the Centre du Vin dining room in this Ledson hotel in Sonoma Square/Plaza...Just about 20 tables, small and intimate with beautiful high ceilings and a nice bar area with floor length window doors. Excellent service and a wonderful eclectic menu. I had a grilled ham and bechamel sandwich with guryere (sp) cheese melted that was delicious. The service was outstanding. Not really a kid place, mostly honeymoon couples and adult couples which kept it nice and quiet, most enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsBunny2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A nice boutique hotel located right on the square in Sonoma. The room was very nice and the breakfast was good. The service was a little disappointing. The internet did not work while we were there and staff seemed little helpless with fixing it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdavis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a night when we visited Sonoma on September 27, 2012. It was absolutely luxurious! It was our first trip to wine country and a perfect place to stay. Yes, it is pricier than some of the B&Bs in town, but the accommodations are worth it.

The location is central to everything. It is right across from the town square and perfect walking distance to any of the local shops or restaurants (We highly recommend Cafe LaHaye - probably our best meal in our trip to San Francisco and Sonoma combined).

Each of the 6 rooms are uniquely decorated. We stayed in the "Barker Room" which was aptly decorated with a few paintings of dogs on the wall. The bathrooms were beautiful gold and marble, the room was ornately decorated with red satin and gold trim. Our bed was super comfortable, we had a small balcony that looked out the back of the hotel. There is also a whirlpool in the room and wonderful sound system (we could hook up our iPod) that made for a wonderfully romantic experience.

Free WIFI and parking are also included as a nice perk.

The complimentary breakfast was nice. Egg quiches, fruit, yogurt, granola, pastries, fresh squeezed orange juice, and coffee.

The staff was exceptional. Thank you Michelle, Mike, and Angel for being so accommodating and welcoming. They helped us choose some winery tours and set us up with our private VIP tasting at the Ledson Winery. They also recommended the Benzinger Family winery tour - which was a great experience.

The Ledson Winery private VIP tasting was a great bonus for us! It is complimentary to hotel guests. We got "Freddie" who was a real delight to taste with - we had a lot of fun with him. The Ledson Wine is awesome. We brought back 4 bottles with us!

We would definitely come back if we are in Sonoma again.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank temetnosce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Of course this a charming hotel, however...... Angel whom I believe is the cook/jack of all trades was very pleasant and made awesome quiche every morning. It would have been nice to have some type of pastry or bread served with the complimentary breakfast. A few things on the down side are....there is a bar next door and the noise at night when you are trying to sleep, will keep you up. I can't forget to mention that either the hotel or bar should wait and dump their bottled garbage until during the day the noise of 100's of bottles being thrown into a can is so loud. In addition to the noise from the bar, I have never been in a city where the garbage truck comes at 3:19am to empty trash. Don't sleep with the window open, you'll be up all night. I mean really, come on is there not enough hours during the day that this can be done. Overall experience, I would not stay again given all the choices of places to stay. Can't say anything about their wine...we were never offered the complimentary wine tasting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel...perhaps it's better than the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.0 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
6.5 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledson Hotel

Property: Ledson Hotel
Address: 480 1st St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ledson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ledson Hotel features six individually decorated guest rooms that are named after the legendary Ledson family members: William, Noble, Whitby, Winslow, Barker, and Edna. Appointed with antique grandeur, and paired with modern amenities, each room reflects a different personality with almost 400 square feet of luxury and comfort for your convenience. All rooms are equipped with king-sized beds, whirlpool tubs with a separate standing shower, marble sink vanity, complimentary Internet access, refrigerator, fireplace and balcony. One guestroom is equipped with wheelchair accessible facilities. The rooms boast views of the historic and bustling Sonoma Plaza or overlook the rustic backstreets that make Sonoma quaint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ledson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledson Hotel And Centre Du Vin
Ledson Hotel Sonoma
Ledson Hotel Harmony Lounge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing