We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved”
Review of Ledson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ledson Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just beautiful... They will take care of you or leave you alone. The owner has a gentleman named "Angel". Does everything!
They help you with your bags, bring you breakfast... Feels like youre in a beautiful home, but no one bothers you... Very peaceful for us- we were tired
Very grand looking and feel- everything is lovely...
Across from the plaza- the view is wonderful and everything is handy- but I think they would help you with just about anything you asked. One of the owners "Michelle". Is there most of the time too- very quality place!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melcasey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Ledson Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice and thoughtful review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and certainly hope you will return. Would it be all right with you if we used your great review as a testimonial on our website? Either way, thanks again for taking the time to write about Ledson Hotel!
Cheers!
The Ledson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    22
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
144
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We absolutely loved the hotel and the location. The reason I didn't give it five stars were a couple reasons. First, if the hotel isn't full, they bring you breakfast to your room, which is nice, but there really isn't anywhere to comfortably eat it. I had to try and make room at the desk and my husband had to pull a chair up to the tray that it is brought you on and use that as a make shift table. It was too cool (not to mention wouldn't fit all of your food) to eat on the balcony. This isn't a big deal but the shower could use some kind of ledge for the ladies, so they have somewhere to prop their legs to shave, especially with the dim lighting in that area.

However, we did enjoy the balcony in the afternoon after a long day that faced the street (definite must, the other view is an alley/parking lot) We sat and drank some wine and got to visit with our neighbor while he was out on theirs...which leads to our unfortunate incident that happened that morning (it also affected them because I asked).

The beds and linens were great. We would have slept wonderfully all three nights had it not been for the man who decided to park his pick-up in front of the hotel both Saturday and Sunday morning a little before 5:30 am and blare his Tejano music with his truck door open. Saturday morning at 5:18 for at least 10 minutes across the street and Sunday he was there at 5:17 am (you know you tend to look at the clock when you are suddenly awake like that). On Sunday, he was right below our room, so my husband was able to go out on the balcony and get the guys attention and told him to leave or he would call the cops. He promptly left after that but then we were wide awake. 5:30 is 7:30 our time, so we decided to pack-up and head to the airport early to try and get on an earlier flight, which was unfortunate because we missed their Sunday brunch downstairs that looked so good.

We did share with Angel what happened and another employee who said they would check the video. I sent an email the next day for the 2nd time it happened because I would really hate for that to happen to anyone else for the $400+ price you are paying for your room.

It really was a great location and we loved the wine tasting at their estate. The staff was wonderful. I am sure we will go back to Sonoma but not sure whether or not we would stay here again due to what happened with the street noise.....hopefully that was an isolated incident and doesn't happen on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Street view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedsonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ledson Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thanks you for taking the time to write such an in-depth review. We will certainly take your suggestions into consideration as we are always trying to improve guest experiences. I'm so sorry that you had a bad experience with early morning noise. Had we known at the time we would have called the police. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

I know Michele Ledson sent you an email offering a nice brunch (the one you missed) or lunch next time you're in the area. We certainly hope you'll take her up on that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

G'ma is 95 - what an accomplishment! Being a wee bit old - and demanding plus having our 10 year-old big dog with us on b-day trip to Sonoma should make finding a place to eat and relax really difficult. But G'ma did not want go back to her home in San Rafael - who can blame her? Staring at the same walls gets old at any age but when your key loved ones in your generation are all gone - it's really tough.

Well - the first place we went to bore the difficulty out with dismissive nasty attention - don't go to the Lodge at Sonoma. Instead, hop over to Sonoma square and the Centre du Vin. We got a nice table on the patio, really friiendy neighbors and a fantastic waitress in Courtney - what a sweet cutie! The food was quite good too and reasonably priced I would say. We had a Ledson Chardonnay which was delish (met G'ma's approval although admittedly any alcohol tastes good to her - woman after my own heart :)).

If you are coming up from SF - take the little jaunt down Lakeville Rd which is just so pleasant and drops you off on 116 to Sonoma. This is truly God's country and I lived in Hawaii for 7 years.

I will be back to Centre du Vin for sure and will try out their hotel too. I would trust the other reviews here on this after my experience at the Resto.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea_Traveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedsonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ledson Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write such a lovely review on Centre du Vin. So glad to hear you'll come back! Cheers to your 95 year old Grandmother!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Ledson for 4 nights last week. The rooms are wonderful (ask for a room on the front--with balcony facing the square). Staff was very attentive to all our needs and was especially helpful in arranging to ship home the wine we acquired from our winery visits. Morning breakfasts (in room during the week) were amazing. Could not make a better choice for a Sonoma get-a-way!
Ted Owen

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of hotel have nice balconies overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedsonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ledson Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Ted,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write such a lovely review about Ledson Hotel. We hope you'll return soon. We love seeing familiar faces! Also, you can follow us @ledsonhotel and on facebook.com/TheLedsonHotel. Cheers!

The Ledson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We just returned from the Ledson Hotel to celebrate my 40th Birthday. This place is absolutely amazing!! They made me feel so special and all of us feel like family! We went with 2 other couples and we felt like (which a couple of nights we did) that we had the place to ourselves. They warmingly greeted us from the time of check in and each day we returned from our wine tours. My husband coordinated this trip with Michelle Ledson and she was great during the entire process and setting up a special Birthday private tasting at the winery. The rooms were fantastic and classy. We loved the bar manager Mike and the Innkeeper Angel was always pleasant and always asking if there was anything we needed. The chef was amazing- breakfast in the morning, nice dinner on Saturday night and Sunday brunch. The asparagus/mushroom omelete and the biscuits and gravy are a must. We will definitely be back here as we are members of the winery and now are very impressed with the hotel. Thank you again to everyone at the Ledson- you made this milestone birthday very special and memorable!!! Amy Akins

Room Tip: We saw most of the rooms and there is not a bad rooom in the place. We had a street view with balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedsonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ledson Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Amy,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review! It's just fantastic to hear that we were able to help make your birthday a special one. We'll look forward to your next visit; be sure to give us advance notice so we can take care of you again!
The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I had been to this spot 9 years ago on business and have always wanted to return. I got the opportunity on a trip to San Fran with my husband. For my original visit I had Sunday brunch in front of the larger glass doors they had opened so you could enjoy the beautiful sqaure and all of the wonderful activity. The food then was amazing. I am happy to say that my visit last weekend was just as fantastic.

The space itself is very charming. Well appointed with bar, piano and fire place, but not at all stuffy. The staff was attentive, quickly seating us and providing menus. We ordered several items as we wanted to take our time, socialize and enjoy the wine. The cheese was spectacular, we even made sure to find out the source so we could order some to ship home. The garlic shrimp was well prepared, not over cooked or overspiced. The bread that accompanied was crunchy and flavorful. A real treat was the blue cheese french fries. They were somehow coated in a thin layer of melted cheese. I had a spicy Zin to drink along side and it was an out of this world combination.

The pricepoint was spot on for the service, food and atmosphere. The staff was great through the entire experience.

My only hope is that it doesn't take another 9 years before I have the opportunity to return. Would absolutely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breezy_in_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedsonHotel, Manager at Ledson Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Ledson's Centre du Vin. It means a great deal to us to get this kind of feedback - especially from a repeat customer! We hope it doesn't take you 9 years to return, but if it does, be assured that we'll be here. Again, thanks for your valuable time and kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is exactly the experience you would expect from a bed and breakfast. The rooms are spectacular with incredible furnishings and detail. The towels and bedding are plush and the staff are accommodating but not intrusive. We did the wine tasting and had dinner in the Centre du Vin and it was one of the best meals we had in Sonoma. Can't say enough good things about the staff, accommodations, and location.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms with balconies in the back. You could sit outside and not feel like you were bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamerolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedsonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ledson Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review about Ledson Hotel and Centrer du Vin. It means a lot to us to get feedback, and it's so satisfying when we acheive our goals! Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.0 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
8.9 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledson Hotel

Property: Ledson Hotel
Address: 480 1st St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ledson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ledson Hotel features six individually decorated guest rooms that are named after the legendary Ledson family members: William, Noble, Whitby, Winslow, Barker, and Edna. Appointed with antique grandeur, and paired with modern amenities, each room reflects a different personality with almost 400 square feet of luxury and comfort for your convenience. All rooms are equipped with king-sized beds, whirlpool tubs with a separate standing shower, marble sink vanity, complimentary Internet access, refrigerator, fireplace and balcony. One guestroom is equipped with wheelchair accessible facilities. The rooms boast views of the historic and bustling Sonoma Plaza or overlook the rustic backstreets that make Sonoma quaint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ledson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledson Hotel And Centre Du Vin
Ledson Hotel Sonoma
Ledson Hotel Harmony Lounge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing