We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected.”
Review of Maya

Maya
Ranked #19 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Maya Restaurant is located in Downtown Sonoma and serves Mexican cuisine. Happy Hour offered Monday to Friday: 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Hythe, ab
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not what we expected.”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Took a while for the server to even take our drink order in the first place. I had the fish tacos and my husband had some sort of other tacos. My fish tacos had no flavour. I will give them this the free nachos and salsa were really good. The wine country tour bus driver recommended we go here!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CABlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    120
    51
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious food and attentive staff”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My spouse and I recently stayed in Sonoma for a week. Our experience at Maya was so good, we ate there three times. The margaritas, chips, salsas, and entrees were fresh and delicious. Basically, we can't say one negative thing about the restaurant. Everyone who works there was friendly, attentive, and accommodating. Looking for a place to enjoy amazing fresh Mexican food, don't look any further.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocMulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eating Nexican food without being in Mexico”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

From the warm nacho chips with a great salsa to the tasty food this place did it right
Our waiter Fernando's attention to detail topped it
There red sangria was very good though it could have used less ice.
Plentiful & good tasting food a caring waiter made for great dining experience

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tali2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nice location and the drinks were good. The food was just okay, a
different spin on Mexican Food.
Give it a try, we will not cross it off of our list.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 32480Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
181 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Very good food and nice decor”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Have eaten in Maya a couple of times and never been disappointed.

The restaurant has a very pleasant decor with some large paintings/murals representative of the restaurants culture. The walls and floor are hard surface and do not absorb sound; if there is a lot of activity in the restaurant it can be a bit noisy.

As with all Mexican restaurants, chips and salsa are a standard offering and theirs are quite good; the chips are light and the red and green salsas, some may find spicy, have a very good flavor. All of the dishes tried so far have been very good. The Grand Burrito is huge and unless you have a huge appetite share it or be prepared for a doggie bag. The carnitas Enchiladas served with rice and beans is a nice sized portion and can be topped with guacamole for additional favor. The same can be said for the tacos. If you like desserts the flan should not be missed. The Sangria was good, but not outstanding.

Service is very good - water is filled regularly, empty dishes are removed quickly and you never feel like you are being ignored or your server went on break.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flylikeahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing