We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch but there are better places nearby” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maya

Maya
Ranked #19 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Maya Restaurant is located in Downtown Sonoma and serves Mexican cuisine. Happy Hour offered Monday to Friday: 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM
fairfield, california
Level Contributor
166 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice lunch but there are better places nearby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

A group of 7 of us had lunch during the week and had expected a better selection and quality of food. It was a bit rushed and not as tasty as several other nearby restaurants. Think it might appeal to the frequent tourist trade a bit more. My wife and I felt our meal was a bit bland, especially for a Mexican restaurant. May have been expecting classic Mexican fare and got a bit more of the "fusion" (with something) influence.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fairfield_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    118
    51
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Home of the Space Needle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Upscale Latin food, not kid friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice place for upscale Latin food on the Sonoma Square. Vibrant atmosphere and fresh food; however just a side note for parents - most of the menu items are too spicy for kids. Our tween girls are well-travelled, but they found the spice to be too heavy-handed, so they left hungry, which was disappointing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenLakeGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This Mexican restaurant is right on the plaza so the location was withing walking distance of our B&B. The food was tasty, the margaritas were good, the atmophere was festive and the service was good. The only negative was that it was a tad noisy, but all-in-all, we were glad that we stopped there for dinner.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank phelajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just for Fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Here is a Mexican joint that is easy to get into most times. Large and rustic, perfect location and friendly staff. Always check out the soup.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darrell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was recently in Sonoma for a weekend getaway and, after reading mixed reviews, decided to give Maya a try for dinner. There was a pretty good crowd and the place looked interesting. However, when I was seated, I noticed that the place was not very clean. I decided that maybe they had had a busy day and no time to really clean up. I ordered a margarita and ceviche to start and unfortunately, neither one was very good. I decided to stop after the appetizers and try another restaurant. I would not recommend this restaurant in Sonoma, there are too many other good choices.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonTX77006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing