We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Disappointed”

Della Santina's Trattoria
Ranked #11 of 124 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st St. E
Berkeley
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Really Disappointed”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This WAS one of the go to places in Sonoma. I'm sorry guys it's not great Italian food.
On Sunday night the place was packed with loud groups. Not a romantic setting to be sure. The staff was ok, no where near as attentive as say LaSalette.
The big problem seemed to be the food was kept on the kitchen shelf for a few minutes too long so it was not hot but not cold enough to send back. Our portions were plentiful but not all that great. A mixed salad instead of the Caesar we ordered with a bit too much vinegar. The cannelloni was very saucy but the filling lacked any distinct flavors. The veal, which was recommended was almost over the tough line and of course also luke warm.
I reported back to my office friends who travel up to Sonoma regularly and they all agreed it should be avoided.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oldjgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    170
    56
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

While in Sonoma we ate here and it was an excellent choice. Greeted immediately and seated with a nice selection of dishes on the menu. although the bread could have been better and was on the dry side, the appetizer and main dishes were excellent. my wife had the pasta with duck sauce and I had the special of linguine with mushrooms. So tasty even though I was full I was wishing there was more to eat! A quaint place to eat while visiting wine country.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmbflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Della Santina's did not disappoint!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stopped here last year for lunch and decided on this trip try it again. I had the cannelloni , veal & chicken with tomato and béchamel sauce. Portions are large and enough for 2 meals. Dining partner had the duck. Perfectly cooked, not greasy at all. The bread that comes with the meal is so good I wish they would sell it. Service is attentive without being in your face and I liked the fact that they do not rush you. Lunch was a good time to stop there, skip breakfast so you can enjoy lunch!
After living in Northern Italy for 3 years, this was like a trip back in time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shermansj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The "feel" of a great Italian restaurant and the food and service to back it up.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

You leave a very unassuming exterior behind as soon as you enter the restaurant. As many of the reviewers have written, it brings you back to the wonderful Rome and Florence cafe style restaurants we have visited. We sat out back in a lovely cafe style Italian ambience. So nice yet definately not stuffy. From there it was all about the food and wine and service which we found to be excellent.

Sometimes you can tell alot about a restaurant, the owner, and the staffs training when you throw a wrench into the mix. We arrived to our reservation 45 minutes early. A first for us and it may never happen again. After a 46 mile bicycle ride through Somoma and Napa we were ready to eat and then eat some more. The staff told us to get a glass of wine and they would see if they could find us a nice table. The place was packed and we were very doubtful that we would be seated as quickly as my stomach wanted. To our surprise, after only a few sips of our wine, we were escorted to our table in the rear outdoor cafe. They not only accomidated us, but made us feel that it was not a problem and that they did it effortlessly.

We enjoyed it. I hope you do to!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JDhappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good and Plenty”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We showed up without reservations on a weeknight. It was busy, but we got in - We just didn't get to sit on the patio.

We thought the service, atmosphere, and food were all first rate. Portions were large, but not overly so.

I had gnocchi, which was superb. My wife had a mushroom pasta which was to die for. Really, really good.

Not much else to say. This was just a very good dining experience all the way around.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Even_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Della Santina's Trattoria also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Della Santina's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing