We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Della Santina's did not disappoint!”

Della Santina's Trattoria
Ranked #11 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st St. E
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Della Santina's did not disappoint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stopped here last year for lunch and decided on this trip try it again. I had the cannelloni , veal & chicken with tomato and béchamel sauce. Portions are large and enough for 2 meals. Dining partner had the duck. Perfectly cooked, not greasy at all. The bread that comes with the meal is so good I wish they would sell it. Service is attentive without being in your face and I liked the fact that they do not rush you. Lunch was a good time to stop there, skip breakfast so you can enjoy lunch!
After living in Northern Italy for 3 years, this was like a trip back in time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shermansj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    164
    55
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The "feel" of a great Italian restaurant and the food and service to back it up.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

You leave a very unassuming exterior behind as soon as you enter the restaurant. As many of the reviewers have written, it brings you back to the wonderful Rome and Florence cafe style restaurants we have visited. We sat out back in a lovely cafe style Italian ambience. So nice yet definately not stuffy. From there it was all about the food and wine and service which we found to be excellent.

Sometimes you can tell alot about a restaurant, the owner, and the staffs training when you throw a wrench into the mix. We arrived to our reservation 45 minutes early. A first for us and it may never happen again. After a 46 mile bicycle ride through Somoma and Napa we were ready to eat and then eat some more. The staff told us to get a glass of wine and they would see if they could find us a nice table. The place was packed and we were very doubtful that we would be seated as quickly as my stomach wanted. To our surprise, after only a few sips of our wine, we were escorted to our table in the rear outdoor cafe. They not only accomidated us, but made us feel that it was not a problem and that they did it effortlessly.

We enjoyed it. I hope you do to!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JDhappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good and Plenty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We showed up without reservations on a weeknight. It was busy, but we got in - We just didn't get to sit on the patio.

We thought the service, atmosphere, and food were all first rate. Portions were large, but not overly so.

I had gnocchi, which was superb. My wife had a mushroom pasta which was to die for. Really, really good.

Not much else to say. This was just a very good dining experience all the way around.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Even_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like revisiting Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Likes:
1. The outdoor garden eating area was very cozy and though it was a chilly evening, the heaters kept it very comfortable.
2. The waitstaff was friendly helpful and efficient!
3. The food was wonderful with a couple of items on the menu, that I have not seen other than ristorantes in Italy.
Dislikes: None

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Maine
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Almost Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were seated on the back patio, and immediately were waited on by a very attentive waiter- the owner! he helped us to choose a wine, and when he told us about his own wine, we ordered a bottle, which was delicious. We started with an Heirloom tomato Salad, which was big enough for 4 to share and was fresh and a good accompaniment to the antipasto plate. The stuffed cannoli was great, and the other dishes ordered by our party, which were shared, were a taste of Italy in California!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Della Santina's Trattoria also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Della Santina's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing