We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reminds Us of Grandma's House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Della Santina's Trattoria

Della Santina's Trattoria
Ranked #12 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st St. E
Tehachapi, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reminds Us of Grandma's House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We always make time for one dinner at Della Santina's when we visit Sonoma.
The food reminds me of dinner my Italian Grandparent's home, especially the Pappardelle w/Bolognese Sauce.
The first time we visited in 1996 we enjoyed lunch and the only folks speaking English was my wife and I. The others spoke Italian. Mostly the old winemakers including Sylvia Sebastiani her son Don and Sylvia's brother. We knew then we would find great food and we did.
Not at all pretentious just wonderful homestyle food like Grandma used to make.
Over the years we have had most everything including but not limited to Penne Contadina which is a penne with sausage and a simple tomato sauce, Pollo allo Spiedo is an delicious half chicken with fresh herbs cooked on a rotisserie, Braciola di Maiale a pork chop top with an earthy mushroon reduction. The last time October 2012 my wife enjoyed the Gamberoni Dorati, prawns finished in a wine, lemon and butter reduction which she said ws the best ever.
I don't think you can "have everything" unless you live nearby as the menu changes over time.
You will also find a lovely selection of salads and at least a couple of house made soups.
Oh, and the wine list is extraordinary and within a moderate price range up to about $50.
Della Santinas also offers a wine club wherin "Our goal is to bring our cellar to your home".
For wonderful and tasty wine country meal this is the place.
Don't forget "the girl and the fig" diagonally across the park/plaza from Della Santinas for an oustanding experience as well!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    163
    54
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old world flavor in Sonoma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Della Santina is nestled in an old stone building just off the southeast corner of Sonoma's historic Plaza. The Della Santina family has owned and operated this restaurant for many years, and we can always count on a great meal and delightful experience. The wait staff has been with them for years and the atmosphere is an intimate blend of old Sonoma mixed with the Italian heritage and accents of the Della Santina family. The Tuscan-style Italian food is consistently good, and it has become our first choice whenever we decide to walk to the Plaza, enjoy a pleasant evening dining in our home town, and then walking home. In the spring summer and fall the patio is especially nice. My wife always orders the prawns dore, while I prefer one of their pasta specials. We often begin with a glass of prosecco before ordering, and just relax as though we were in a patio somewhere in Italy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyfisherbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Our best Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

An ideal evening: Start right next door and enjoy a couple of glasses of wine picked by the expert staff at Enoteca, the attached wine bar/tasting room. Then roll next door and see if you can get a table in Benny's section. The daily specials are alays opf the charts (I had osso buco the other nite). But usually i go for the spaghetti with vognole (clams). my wife loves the papardelle! homemade and wonderful! This place is always a solid performer, and the outside patio in back is charming.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent for Ambience, Cuisine, Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a family-operated restaurant that excels in everything it intends to do! You are greeted by the owner, service is impeccable, the food is beyond delicious. There is something special about a business owned by multi generations of a family - the pride and dedication is obvious. Don't miss this one! Buon Appetito!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pegasus1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
231 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“The Place for Italian in Town Sq Sonoma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

DS is 50 feet off the Square in Sonoma. This time we had dinner inside. All our diners with different entrees felt the food was very good and the service was very attentive. Definitely will return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BocaBlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Della Santina's Trattoria also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Della Santina's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing