We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handcrafted Food and Family Dining”

Della Santina's Trattoria
Ranked #11 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st St. E
sonoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Handcrafted Food and Family Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

In the most charming patio garden Bob and Roberto Santina
welcome guests to the most delicious handmade pasta,
caprese salads and affordable wines in Sonoma. In the winter
the minature Victorian dining room is cozy and entertaining with
guests enjoying tables near an open fireplace. A must if you visit Sonoma.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank stephanie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    164
    55
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkview, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good, old-school Italian fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you like traditional Italian cuisine, Della Santina's is the place to go. My husband and I dined there our last night in Sonoma. Both had pasta dishes: his a homemade ravioli with Bolognese sauce, mine penne with tomato and sausage. Pretty basic Italian food, but expertly prepared. Panna Cotta with fresh berries, and a good, strong espresso for dessert. Yummy.

Service was slow, but we noted that our waiter was handling a large, overly exuberant party nearby (maybe a few too many wine-tastings that day?). Rather than get in a huff, we chalked it up to "these things happen sometimes." I suspect that this was an aberration, and didn't let it spoil the overall experience. Mostly felt sorry for the poor waiter; he sure had his hands full.

Extensive wine list, complements the menu well. A couple of veal dishes were featured, but no osso bucco that night (had my hopes up for that!).

We're not likely to return to Sonoma any time soon, but I'd go back to Della Santina's in a heartbeat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable place, some close quarters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

First, the food, gnocchi and lasagna bolognese, and service were excellent. Good wine list, even Italian wines in Cali wine country! Through no fault of the staff, we were seated next to a loud person in a small area with heat lamps, but overall a positive experience. Downtown Sonoma is fantastic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HumesHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This is what Sonoma is all about”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

A wonderful place to eat, hang out and enjoy being in Sonoma. Had no reservations, but they sat us anyway in the courtyard with heat lamps. Perfect for us. Courtyard had nice vegetation, fountain and a very Italian type feel to it....and why not? It's an Italian restaurant, of course. Food was very good and the dessert (espresso over ice cream, forgot the name) was really good and we don't even drink coffee, etc... The owner and wait staff never let you feel as if they wanted your table for the next customer and the all tried to make your stay with them as enjoyable as possible, service was perfect....always keeping that water glass full. Fully recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travlholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Italian on an atmospheric patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Busy, bustling restaurant with a fantastic patio that offered great atmosphere. Simple but tasty (and real) Italian food. Very good value for money. Great server and the after dinner port (free of charge) was a really nice touch and a nice way to end the evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3Thirstytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Della Santina's Trattoria also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Della Santina's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing