We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Italian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Della Santina's Trattoria

Della Santina's Trattoria
Ranked #11 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st St. E
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yummy Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

the food was great, but it was a busy Friday night so the place was noisy. Service was good though, and the wine selections were decent

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kimat29forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    163
    53
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“4 Terrible Meals”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Being Italian, my mother, aunt, sister, and me were very excited to celebrate my mother's 60th birthday at an Italian restaurant. We made reservations the week before our visit. When we arrived, we waited in line for the folks ahead of us to be seated. When it was our turn, the man behind us, an obvious regular, was prompted to sit ahead of us. When we were seated, we showed our Spot On card and our bottle of wine to have corked and were told they did not accept the card, their name on it was a mistake. Instead, we could pay the $18 corkage fee. When we opted not to do so and to just drink water, the owner/waiter became abrupt and irritated.

To top off a very strange and uncomfortable start, the meals were terrible. We had cannelloni, tortellini, lasagna, and gnocchi. After we began eating, we all started looking at each other. Each meal was absolutely disgusting. They were all very gooey and slimy. My light cream sauce on the tortellini was like water. The meat filler in the cannelloni was ground into a flakey pulp until it was unrecognizable. The lasagna was so overdone it was mush.

The whole meal was a disaster and very disappointing. We were very polite and didn't voice our opinion at the time as the owner seemed irritated with our not purchasing wine or wanting to pay a corkage fee. It was shameful. Hopefully he reads this!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank familyfunMBSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This restaurant came highly recommended and we were highly disappointed. Food was just okay and service was not very good. Our waiter came to our table only when it was convenient for him. We dined on the patio because no one was being seated inside the restaurant. It was a lovely setting, but so chilly, I was miserable. Not sure if I'd go back if I'm ever in Sonoma.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dfbrewer04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
277 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“This is the best Italian food we have had!! Awesome Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Della's is a family owned and run restaurant...it was fabulous food and superb service. I loved the atmosphere....we were able to be seated on the back patio. It is quaint and comfortable. I can't say enough about the service and food. If we ever make it back to Sonoma we will definitely dine here again. The owner even brought us complimentary dessert...which was so delicious. Highly recommend

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dakotagirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just what we needed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

A lovely meal -- beautiful fresh salads, wonderful pasta, and desserts worth the calories.

The indoor patio setting was lovely and a bunch of fresh concord grapes (that were growing on a trellis above our heads) were picked, chilled, and presented to us. Great service!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Driverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Della Santina's Trattoria also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Della Santina's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing