We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VIP TREATMENT”
Review of Rosso Host Company

Rosso Host Company
Ranked #9 of 40 Tours in Sonoma
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We're not here to do what has already been done. From the very beginning, we designed Rosso to capture a sense of place and time, to be authentic and not follow what everyone else was doing in the wine industry. We use a European approach to sharing wine country with you. This approach is authentic, fun, classy and high end. We're not chauffeurs or a limo company. We're a host company, our team is composed of quality individuals from Sonoma and Napa that bring you into their world and take you to places where we would take our best friends. Unlike limo and bus tour companies, we set high standards for our team and we don't make them wear silly penguin suits. My goal is to create fun jobs for my community so we only hire gregarious locals who are passionate about food and wine. Spending a day with one of our hosts is like visiting a friend who lives in wine country. We share wine country through a locals' prospective, which offers a unique view of wine country's less commercial side. Our focus is to support smaller production and family owned wineries that don't mass distribute. Growing up here I always heard locals complain about the buses, limos, town cars, and vans. The last thing Sonoma and Napa needs is another company using those vehicles. Our cars are much nicer and classier than the standard tour vehicle. They are not black and do not have our logo or phone number on them. We use this understated style out of respect for the community, and in hopes to some day bring more charm back to Sonoma and Napa.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VIP TREATMENT”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

If you are looking for a truly special experience in wine country, you have to plan your day with Rosso Hosts. Actually, you don't have to plan anything, all you need to do is speak to Vito and he will take care of the rest. It being our first trip to Sonoma, everyone had suggestions of how to planour trip. I was totally confused and worried about what to do and where to go.......until we were referred to Rosso. Just one phone call and we were set. Our driver, Steve, arrived 10:15am in a Suburban and took us out to three amazingly beautiful vineyards. On two of the properties, we were the only guests and had the opportunity to taste all the wines, tour the property, and even get a sneak peak into future production with tastings straight from the barrels inside a cave. The day went by in a flash. I'm now counting down the days till next Fall when we can hopefully make it back for another tour. Thanks Vito! Thanks Steve!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marni25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

There were three of us on this tour: one who studies wine professionally, one who is a somewhat knowledgeable amateur and one who was there to learn more about wine. I think it says quite a lot that all three of us had a fabulous time. We loved that all of the places we visited were way off the beaten track (literally--one did not even have a sign!). So, if you are looking for an authentic Sonoma experience with wines that you cannot even hope to find on the east coast, this is it. It was well worth the fee. In terms of the practical things that are also important, the driver was on-time and a very good/safe driver and the office was responsive to our e-mails and requests as well as clear about things like fees, schedule, etc. In short, it was done professionally. We would book this again and recommend it to others.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CatandMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Amazing day of wine touring with Rosso Hosts”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was my daughter and my first visit to Wine Country. Our hotel, Fairmont Sonoma Mission Spa recommended Rosso Tours for a true authentic Sonoma/Napa experience. Prior to our visit, Vito took the time to ask about our wine taste and trip interest. Rosso tours had our host, Steve, promptly at our hotel with a beyond amazing itinerary for boutique wine tasting day. Each of vineyard stops provided a unique/personal experience. The owners/workers at each stop gave us individual attention. We learned so much about the wine process at each stop -plus the views made us feel we touched apart of Heaven! Each of our stops, Mckenzie-Mueller, Fontanella, Fleury and John Anthony was a beyond WOW experience! Wine..Views.. History..Wonderful People. As we drove, Steve had answers to questions before we even thought to ask. We are so glad we had the opportunity to tour with Rossa Tours..It truly made our trip a Life Long Lasting Memory :-) With a warm heart and enthusiasm I recommend Rosso Tours to anyone wanting a true taste of what wine country is all about! A wow experience. I am so thankful to Rossa Tours and Steve for memories that will keep us smiling for a lifetime. A must for anyone wanting an unforgettable Napa/Sonoma trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry77744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Rosso private wine tour”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had an excellent day on a private to to multiple wineries with a nice lunch to break up the day. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, fun and experienced. She took us to some very private wineries where we were the only couple visiting and I wouldn't hesitate to use them again next time I am in napa or Sonoma. Great experience!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The only way to truly experience Napa and Sonoma”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I own a wine touring company in the Finger Lakes that provides experiential tours of our wine region. Being in the industry, we wanted a tour of the Sonoma and Napa wine region that would provide an indepth experience that gives us a glimpse into the passion and quality behind the wines. Doing our due diligence and research, we discovered Rosso Hosts. Vito is passionate about showing his guests the authenticity of the region. He carefully vets his wineries, and goes only to those that want to provide an experience to their guests that demonstrates their commitment to excellence, their love for their craft, and their sense of place. Each of the three wineries delivered this beyond expectation in their own unique style. We are completely transformed, and will be bringing back the soul of this spectacular wine-making region with us thanks to Vito and his vision of excellence.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExperienceFLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosso Host Company also viewed

 

Been to Rosso Host Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing