We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private wine tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosso Host Company

Rosso Host Company
Ranked #8 of 39 Tours in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We're not here to do what has already been done. From the very beginning, we designed Rosso to capture a sense of place and time, to be authentic and not follow what everyone else was doing in the wine industry. We use a European approach to sharing wine country with you. This approach is authentic, fun, classy and high end. We're not chauffeurs or a limo company. We're a host company, our team is composed of quality individuals from Sonoma and Napa that bring you into their world and take you to places where we would take our best friends. Unlike limo and bus tour companies, we set high standards for our team and we don't make them wear silly penguin suits. My goal is to create fun jobs for my community so we only hire gregarious locals who are passionate about food and wine. Spending a day with one of our hosts is like visiting a friend who lives in wine country. We share wine country through a locals' prospective, which offers a unique view of wine country's less commercial side. Our focus is to support smaller production and family owned wineries that don't mass distribute. Growing up here I always heard locals complain about the buses, limos, town cars, and vans. The last thing Sonoma and Napa needs is another company using those vehicles. Our cars are much nicer and classier than the standard tour vehicle. They are not black and do not have our logo or phone number on them. We use this understated style out of respect for the community, and in hopes to some day bring more charm back to Sonoma and Napa.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Private wine tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Vito and our host Steve were both incredible!
We had the pleasure of spending a day in Sonoma and Napa at great boutique wineries. Our guide Steve became part of our family by day two!
We can't return!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Perfect Winery Tour Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I toured the Sonoma wine country with Rosso Wine Country Hosts on June 20, 2013. Rosso was recommended to us and arranged by the concierge at the lovely Kenwood Inn and Spa (a great place to stay). Our Rosso host for the day was James who was a perfect companion for our tour - efficient, courteous and knowledgeable during the drive-between times, and unobtrusive while at the wineries so we could enjoy our full experiences with each winery host. The tour arranged by Rosso was brilliantly planned and perfectly executed, tailored specifically to meet our needs via a 15 minute phone interview two weeks before our trip. We visited "only" three wineries during our 6-hour touring day which sounds like just a little but is really quite a lot. Each winery (in our case, Repris, Petroni and Flanagan) had its own vibe and uniqueness, but the common threads among all three were Intimacy (we were the only group touring each winery at that time), Enthusiasm (each winery host was passionate and knowledgeable about their wines and the story behind the winery), and Customer Experience (each host's attention to US was first rate and we were clearly the center of their attention and interest). Touring with Rosso was a highlight of our trip to the wine country and is the only way to go - leave your car (and the cops!) behind and let the folks from Rosso take good care of you!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Perfect Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in wine country and decided to hire a tour company for a day of private touring. We contacted Rosso and we could not have made better choice. They were fantastic. The trip was easy to book, the owner asked a series of questions about what we would like to see and he set up the whole day. We visited smaller wineries where the winery staff took the time to explain how their wines were made. We sampled several offerings in a relaxed, intimate, unhurried environment. All the wines we tasted were outstanding. Jim, our driver, took us to a local place for lunch in between appointments. All in all, a great day. I highly recommend them. We will use Rosso again when we return to Sonoma and Napa.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Long over due review- MADE OUR TRIP!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went to Sonoma for the first time and literally had zero plans on arrival. I told our concierge we wanted wine tours, off the beaten path, no buses full of people, nothing touristy and busy (this is vacation!!) and to not have to plan a thing. She set up a day with Rosso, and luckily we got the owner himself - Vito - and just had the most amazing time! We went to four wineries. Had so much fun we went again the next day...and when we visit in October of 2013 most definitely plan to again! This is the ONLY way I'll ever do the wine country...after being spoiled with the best how can we go back? The MOST personable service...the BEST and most FABULOUS wineries...meet the MOST FUN people...how can it get better?? CANNOT SAY ENOUGH GOOD THINGS!!!!!!!! Cannot wait to go back!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurendies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Amazing!!! The only way to taste Napa wines.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I had the perfect experience for wine tasting with family and friends. It was a great-choreographed day filled with big name wineries as well smaller producers. Rosso was an exceptional tour guide company with excellent fund of knowledge of wines and the area. They tailored the day to our goals. Will go back again and again with the company.

J. Imani Dupree, MD

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ImaniDup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosso Host Company also viewed

 

Been to Rosso Host Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing