We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on the square”

Swiss Hotel Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
168 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great place on the square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Good location to get a beer and people and the restaurant in the back has great food. The service was good and overall great experience

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank befird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    96
    18
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sonoma Restaurant - Swiss Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

After our last wine tasting of the day, we asked our wine 'sommelier' for a recommendation for a good, but not fancy place to eat around downtown Sonoma. We were told to try the food at the Swiss Hotel, which was just across the square.

The setting is fairly quaint, nothting too extravagant, but with a nostolgic flair to it. If you do go, please ask to be seating on the back outside patio....by far the best spot.

The food was pretty decent, somewhat pricey for what you get in my opinon, but definitely not the best or worst. I order the swordfish which seemed to be a very thin cut (than what I am used to), but it was cooked pretty well. It came with a some roasted potatoes and a cold salad on top, both of which were not the best, but again, not terrible. The portions I thought could have been a little bigger. I would definitely recommend getting an appetizer beforehand if you are expecting a big meal (the warm brie with roasted garlic is pretty good).

Overall, it was a pretty decent meal in Sonoma....it could be worse!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, Usa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very quaint restaurant on town square with indoor/outdoor seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We met family there for drinks and appetizers on the patio. The restaurant is adorable and the service was great. The price seemed right for the venue and the quality of the food, it was also very kid friendly. Would definitely do it again. Reservations definitely suggested, especially if you want patio seating. It is a covered patio which is nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 56LisaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great choice for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a rare rainy day Delightful dining room with period photos lots of charm in this early 1900's hotel. Food was outstanding from chilli to chicken sandwich to shrimp Louie sandwich special. Menu had lots of options at surprisingly reasonable prices. Will visit again


  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emorga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch at the Swiss Hotel and sat on the patio area in the front of hotel. It was a beautiful day and I think out waitress was named Sharon. She was fun, attentive and friendly checking in on us often and visiting too as we enjoyed our lunch there. Food was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Hotel Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Swiss Hotel Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing