We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Inn!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonoma Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonoma Creek Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Meridian, ID
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Nice Inn!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2007

My family got together for the holidays with our mother in Sonoma in early January. I chose the Sonoma Creek Inn by the reviews on Trip Advisor. I was looking for a clean and reasonably priced hotel. Once again I was not let down. I made the reservations with Mark over the phone and he was very helpful. I was able to meet Mark when we checked in and he was just as nice and efficient in person. The rooms are a good size and very clean. The bathrooms were great!!! Lots of hot water. The beds were very comfortable. The only problem is that I am a light sleeper. Boyes Ave is directly behind the rooms so you hear traffic noise. On the other hand, my husband is not a light sleeper so he had no problems at all.
We ate at the two cafe's within walking distance. The Sonoma Creek Cafe is attached to the hotel and had a very good breakfast. I think they are only open on weekends for breakfast. We had three meals at The Big Three Diner. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are very good and priced well.
We will stay at the Sonoma Creek Inn again when we are in the area.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — traffic noise
  • Tips/Secrets — light sleepers take note
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weaversmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    101
    37
    14
    3
See reviews for
21
126
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2006

We took a shot staying here after reading the various reviews on TripAdvisor and we're glad we did. We stood here from Nov. 6th until the 9th (2006) and really enjoyed the property. This place has a lot of charm and some nice amenities. My wife loved the decor so much, she took pictures of our room. She wants to try to incorporate some of those ideas into our own home. They definitely paid attention to detail when choosing the decor. The only suggestion I might be able to make to the hotel is to consider adding electronic safes to the rooms. Other than that, everything else was great right down to the soap and shampoo (don't worry, they have a safe in the lobby area that guests can store valuables in).

What made us choose this place was the response from the hotel to an unhappy TripAdvisor guest (see posting from Nov. & Dec. 2005). One guest wrote a negative review. The hotel, after reading this review, tried contacting this guest in several different ways to try and "make the situation up to them" but to no avail (they could not get a response from the guest). We found that very surprising and appealing. When do you ever see a hotel do this? Normally, once they have your money, they can care less about your experience but not this place. They took the extra step to try and rectify the situation. Because they went the extra mile, we decided this would a great place to try and it definitely was well worth it. The small staff here is very friendly and the rooms are quite cozy. We had a room with a private patio which I would recommend for those nights you want to relax outside with a bottle of wine and the one you love.

If you are looking for a resort with a pool, then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a safe, clean (actually, the cleanliness of this place exceeded some of the big name chains), affordable, comfortable hotel with easy access to everywhere in Sonoma wine country, then this is the place for you.

Now here's a little about our stay and some information you might find helpful. Jason checked us in when we arrived and took some time to mark maps for us with wineries he enjoyed along with some wineries of unique interest (like the Cohen winery, the Doobie Brothers manager owns this place). He also recommended some of his favorite restaurants in the area along with showing us both lunch and dinner menus from these places (the Sonoma Creek Inn has an extensive collection of menus from the local restaurants with prices which can save you a lot of time when it comes deciding where to eat). We met the hotel manager, Shana, the next day and she was able to help us locate a chocolate tasting we were interested in doing but we lost the brochure for it. She stepped in and played detective for us. She called the Sonoma County visitors center and got us all of the information we needed along with a map to the exact location (thanks again, Shana!). She even took the time to tell us a little about the town we would be visiting (Glen Ellen) and a few things we might want to consider doing while we were there. Little things such as those can really make a difference to an out of town traveler.

Going back to the hotel, this place is very deceiving from outside but once you open the door to your room, you will be pleasantly surprised. People have written about the noise from the street but we barely noticed it. It is true, you will hear some cars passing by but after 6-7pm, traffic really slows down and is barely noticeable. Three side notes, pay close attention to the speed limits in Sonoma. The cops seemed to pull a lot of people over for going over the speed limit and that can potentially cause you a lot of headaches, especially if you are returning from a days worth of wine tasting. Second, the Sonoma Creek Inn is completely nonsmoking but if you are a smoker, you can use your private patio or the balcony to smoke, just make sure to close you door while smoking otherwise the smoke may carry into your room. Third, if you plan on picnicking at any of the many wineries use the Safeway supermarket downtown and pack your lunch. The first two days we were spending about $60 a day on lunch with a bottle of wine. After finding the Safeway, we cut that cost in half. One other tidbit of information, Safeway sells many of the local wines for less then the wineries themselves. They even carry to so called "reserve" wines only available at the winery. We bought 6 different wines from the various wineries, mostly in the $30-$40 price range. We found 4 of those 6 wines available for purchase at Safeway with an average savings of $12 per bottle. Going back to the hotel, I've read that this place in not in the most convenient part of town. We found that to be untrue. It's actually in a great location. You are only about 7 minutes away from the town square by car and if you travel in the opposite direction, you are only about 7 minutes away from about a dozen wineries.

Overall, this hotel has a nice B&B fell but with plenty of privacy. I thought it was an excellent value. We did our research and found that booking directly through the hotels web site was our best option (they were offering a package for $135 for 2 nights, which included a bottle of wine and wine tasting passes). [----] They were also nice enough to book our 3rd night for the same price of $67.50 ($135 / 2 = $67.50). We would definitely stay here again and would also recommend this place to our friends. We are also excited to try one of their sister properties the next time we are in California. I think this place is an excellent find and an extremely great value. Please feel free to contact me if you have any additional questions about this property or our stay.

  • Liked — Cozyness
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Gotham31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2006

I always read the reviews of hotels that appear in Trip Advisor before I book a property so I hope this one assists you.

The Sonoma Creek Inn is never going to be a five start hotel. But what the Inn offers makes for a great deal when you are touring Sonoma Valley. Let's address the "neighborhood" right up front. There is a previous review that questions the safety of this neighborhood. All I can say is this - "Have you never been outside of Greenleaf, Kansas before?" The Inn is truly in a working-class neighborhood... there are people of color here. But my wife & I never felt uncomfortable & we walked both days of our stay to the Big Three Diner (GREAT breakfast fare... actually their breakfasts were fabulous). The rooms are a nice size, very clean & have a refrigerator if you need to chill your white wine/cheese/food. The location of Sonoma Creek Inn allows you to motor to the valley's southern-most vineyards in 14 minutes & the central valley vineyards in seven minutes. It's a great base camp for your wine tour. The small patio does sit right by Boyes Street so there is your usual street noise. But you can sit two people out there & enjoy some of the wine that you purchased while touring the valley. If you are a light sleeper, drink more wine!

To reiterate some thoughts by previous reviewers, the cost of the room is around $100 per night, depending on the date of your stay. You just cannot find rates like that in Somona Valley, particularly in those quiant, lacey B & Bs that everyone seems to gush about.

  • Liked — Geographic location
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JackEWadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2006

There have been several remarks about the neighborhood in which the The Sonoma Creek Inn is situated, so as a resident of a town only one half hour from Sonoma, I want to add my impression of the Boyes Boulevard area.

Sonoma is a wine valley and a tourist destination largely due to the making of wine and secondarily, the wonderful agricultural producers. It is rustic and approachable and doesn't suffer from the prices and attitudes sometimes found in Napa.

What makes Sonoma great is its wine, and what makes its wine great are the people who work in the fields tending vines, picking grapes, and doing all the backbreaking work involved in the creation of a single bottle of wine.

Many of the workers of Sonoma live in the the Boyes area, in which a tourist will find not only the excellent Sonoma Creek Inn, but also the world class Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn and Spa, which is one-tenth of a mile from the Sonoma Creek Inn. There is also an upscale housing development within a half mile of the Sonoma Creek Inn.

It is true that as you drive out of the town of Sonoma to the Inn, you will enter a working class area of homes that are not necessarily manicured and freshly painted. These residences house hard working family-oriented people whose labor makes your visit to Sonoma a possibiltiy, and it is beautiful in its own way.

If you want the artificial pampering of a manicured and created location, the Sonoma Creek Inn is not for you.

If you want the privilege of sharing your space with all the residents of Sonoma who are making your visit the wonder it is, stay in Boyes Boulevard knowing you are safe and secure staying overnight near the very same people whose labor has created your vacation experience.

What a privilege/

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank ramonaloewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2006

We went during high season and rates were very high, so value was low. It's a redecorated motel. The street isn't too busy, so the noise level is ok - not great. The bed we had was horrible - old and no support. We told them it was unsuitable - they were modestly apologetic. Overall, i's not a bad place considering the area can get so pricey and over-booked during hi-season. Our sentiment was that when price gets over ~$130/night it's hard to rationalize this place -- it's a no frills, low-comfort motel with a good paint job and some cute furnishings.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pootiehikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2006

There are very few chain motels in Sonoma, so you will probably be choosing a locally owned place. The Sonoma Creek Inn would be a good choice unless you just don't care about price. If price is no object, try the Eurospa in Calistoga. For the more budget minded, try this one. We were able to book for $99 +tax during the week. Weekends are about $160 +tax, but you might be able to dicker a bit if you are booking well ahead. This is a small motel, older but very nicely updated. It has the feel of a bed & breakfast, although no breakfast is available due to the presence of an attached cafe. Not under the same ownership, but a very nice little place for breakfast or lunch. There is no laundry here, but there is a laundramat due east on the main street in back of Isa's restaurant. $2.50 per wash and you will probably pump $2.00 into the dryer. The staff here are very friendly and helpful, but go off duty at 5:00 p.m. so get all your questions answered and all your needs tended to before then! If you are staying in Sonoma for a few days and for the first time, start your time at the visitor center in the Plaza (anyone can point the way.

Justin Fisher

Helpful?
1 Thank Col Fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CENTRAL CALIF
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2006

What a wonderful stay. Our room was warm and inviting.

After a terrible recent stay at a San Francisco Hotel, I was extremely please with our room at the Sonoma Creek Inn at almost 1/2 the cost of the San Fran Hotel.

The room was as inviting as a room in your own home. Everything was fresh and clean, with modern necessities, yet with grandma's touchs such as a hand made quilt on the bed.

The private patio with the water fountain made for a relaxing afternoon break in the day to read and relax before evening events.

Can't wait to stay again.

  • Liked — COMFORT
  • Disliked — ROAD NOISE
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RJG_MEOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
1.5 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
2.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
2.0 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Creek Inn

Property: Sonoma Creek Inn
Address: 239 Boyes Blvd, Sonoma, CA 95476-3605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sonoma Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sonoma on Boyes Boulevard, just down the road from the world-renowned Sonoma Mission Inn, the Sonoma Creek Inn offers an affordable and casual alternative to pricey wine country Sonoma hotels - without sacrificing style and convenience. GUESTROOMSSonoma Creek Inn's 16 updated hotel rooms don't skimp on amenities. Many rooms have private outdoor patios or porches - just the ticket for relaxation after a busy day exploring the wine country. SPECIALSAvailable select times of the year, unbeatable specials, discounts and packages are offered. Check out our specials by clicking here and be sure to sign up on our email list to receive periodic offers. SONOMA LOCATIONThe neighborhood is close to wineries, parks and the downtown area of Sonoma is just a short drive away, with its historic Plaza, innovative restaurants and enticing shops. Our staff can assist you with arrangements for fun things to do in town such as tennis or golf at a nearby course in Sonoma, or an afternoon of pampering at the local spa while staying at our Sonoma hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sonoma Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Creek Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing