We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you must”
Review of Sonoma Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonoma Creek Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for two days when up in Sonoma for a friend's wedding. You wont be disappointed if you what you are getting in advance: 1) this a motel, 2) when they say "courtyard view" what they mean is a view of the parking lot 3) not in a "cute" part of town (i.e. suburban, residential, with the occasional trailer). That being said, the rooms themselves, albeit small with a decent size bathroom, are newly renovated with cute 50's style posters on the wall. The bed is very motel-like, and there is a cat that occasionally sneaks into your room. The front staff people are not particularly warm and told us when we checked in that we shouldn't excessively party or throw chairs out of the windows (I think as a joke?).
Bottom line: overpriced, stay somewhere else if you can. I would recommend the rooms with the patios so at least you are not staring at a parking lot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 231 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We found this hotel by searching on Travleocity. My friend and I were on a roadtrip across California and didn't want to spend too much money. This place exceeded our expectations. It was cute, quaint, and comfortable. Plus...it is close to the town's center and close to many winerys. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cederico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was the 2nd year staying here and I will be back. It offers a great location along with solid rooms and a great staff. There is a breakfast place attached to the inn and dinner establishments are a short walk up the street! This place offers all that you need at a reasonable rate! I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: I am not sure if all rooms have patios but mine did and that was room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boerner820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We LOVED this little inn. We were a little turned off at first glance by the fact that it's more of a motel, but it was very quaint and the rooms were lovely. We stayed in a lower floor room that had its own private patio. The rooms were neat and clean and the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The little diner around the corner was amazing and we ate breakfast there every day! We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melissaworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Here are the pro's of the Sonoma Creek Inn: rooms and bathrooms are spotless and furnished and designed with flair. There is a 1940's CA travel theme to the decorations and if you like vintage-looking lighting, you'll love the look of the place. The bathroom was spacious, the shower /bath large with great water pressure. For an expensive tourist destination, the room rates were reasonable, but if you're looking for a cheaper place, you'll have to stay in Santa Rosa or Petaluma at the Super 8. There is a restaurant on the premises which I didn't eat at, but it was full of people.

Con's: the reception desk person who checked me in was not very friendly or warm. She seemed more concerned with my understanding the strict "no-smoking" policy than with making me feel welcome. The "inn" is really a quaint motel, but that's not really a drawback unless you're looking for a B&B. I notice a comment on here about noise. I had no problem with falling asleep; our room faced the parking lot, not the road. I wouldn't call the road the motel is on very busy. It's a connecting road between the two major arteries up the Sonoma Valley, which makes getting around the Valley very easy.

I would definitely return to this lodging.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot may be quieter than the ones facing Boyes Boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JimSeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

As others have stated, Sonoma Creek Inn is not really an Inn. I do give them credit for creating visual interest with the decor and layout. However, it is in one of the less attractive areas in Sonoma/Napa wine country. The room was modest in size, although the bathroom was more substantial. There are no special services that I would expect from an "Inn" in this area, such as wine and cheese in the PM, breakfast, or detailed advice on wineries and wine tasting. When I asked the woman who checked us in to recommend wineries to visit in the area, she gave us two for one coupons for wine tasting rooms in Sonoma (not wineries) and suggested a $99 per person day tour.

I might have been more happy if I hadn't paid as much as I did for the room. It was a little less expensive than some of the true Inns I looked into, but I wish I had spent the few dollars of additional money it would have cost to go to a location more fitting for wine country.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Two nights here were comfortable, clean and very enjoyable. Not your high end Sonoma vacation spot but a very quaint and reasonable place well located to enjoy the offerings of the area especially in Glen Ellen area! Enjoy the cafe around the corner except on Mondays when it is closed. we would definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jr w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
2.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.5 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
668 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Bear Creekside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Creek Inn

Address: 239 Boyes Blvd, Sonoma, CA 95476-3605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range: $104 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sonoma Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sonoma on Boyes Boulevard, just down the road from the world-renowned Sonoma Mission Inn, the Sonoma Creek Inn offers an affordable and casual alternative to pricey wine country Sonoma hotels - without sacrificing style and convenience. GUESTROOMSSonoma Creek Inn's 16 updated hotel rooms don't skimp on amenities. Many rooms have private outdoor patios or porches - just the ticket for relaxation after a busy day exploring the wine country. SPECIALSAvailable select times of the year, unbeatable specials, discounts and packages are offered. Check out our specials by clicking here and be sure to sign up on our email list to receive periodic offers. SONOMA LOCATIONThe neighborhood is close to wineries, parks and the downtown area of Sonoma is just a short drive away, with its historic Plaza, innovative restaurants and enticing shops. Our staff can assist you with arrangements for fun things to do in town such as tennis or golf at a nearby course in Sonoma, or an afternoon of pampering at the local spa while staying at our Sonoma hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Sonoma Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Creek Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing