We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Paris” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centre du Vin - CLOSED

Centre du Vin
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Taylorsville, Utah
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Almost Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I wandered into their open air interior and was transported to the City of Lights. They offer wine tastings but i was there for lunch and dared not indulge. I could never have asked for a more attentive waiter.

I ordered the Croque Monsieur but added an egg to make it a Croque Madame. Actually a lot better than I had at an airport hotel bar near CDG.

I do not believe you will be disappointed if you choose to dine here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect for afternoon drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

we have yet to eat here but have made numerous stops for midday or evening drinks. it has such a inviting, comfortable feel. almost feels like you are in france.
the bartenders and servers are very polite and knowledgeable. great wine & great beer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mortgage8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This was ok - not great. For the price I expect more. The wine was good. The fish was a bit undercooked. The sauces were heavy cream. Not an awful experience but just not what it should be.

Helpful?
Thank MeT1nT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
291 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were in Sonoma to explore some of the vineyards and decided to have dinner before returning to the hustle and bustle of San Francisco's waterfront. After walking the entire square, we chose Centre du Vin, which is a part of the Ledson Hotel and owned by the Ledson winery.

We were seated outside with a view to the square which made great people watching (My daughter made friends with two passing dogs.) The afternoon sun was bright but we were shaded by an awning. The menu isn't overwhelming but offers a nice variety of meat, seafood and pasta.

We started with a table appetizer of Mussels & Frites which were done in a broth of wine and chorizo. Wow, what a nice combination. The mussels were as fresh as they come and the chorizo flavored elixir was lip smacking good. The plate was accompanied by thin french fried potatoes that rivaled the best McDonalds could produce. The broth made a great accompaniment.

I ordered a wedg salad that I shared with my wife. Plenty of blue cheese and dressing. For one, that would be a meal in itself but it was a refeshing way to clear the palette. For my main dish I ordered Duck Duo. Normally you don't see duck breast and duck confit on the same plate. Each is prepared very differently and taste very distinctively different. But both were presented on one plate by the Ledson kitchen. Wow. Perfectly done and served with a combination of Brocollini and Asparigus done al dente. Tres bon!

My wife shared a plate of Steak & Frites with our picky young daughter, who also had a caesar salad. The steak was tasty though a bit overcooked and dry. It was accompanied by the same delicious fries that came with the mussels. The Caesar Salad was not particularly noteworthy. My wedge salad was much tastier.

I chose to take a glass of Ledson's Zina Hyde Cunningham Dry Creek Red Zinfandel which wasn't really to my liking. I have found that Sonoma wines, at least the ones I sampled on this day, had a bitter aftertaste. This one was no different but it seemed to mellow over the course of the dinner. Or maybe my food complemented the wine and knocked off the bitter edges. Ravenswood (Sonoma) Red Zin is one of my favorites table wines so my taste could have been off.

All in all, it was a delicious meal. Service was good, though not terribly cheerful. The waiter seemed very reserved but also very accommodating.

We chose not to do dessert here because there was an ice cream place a wee bit down the road. So we paid our bill which came to $167 including tip. I will be back to Centre du Vin again if for nothing else, the awesome Duck Duo.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IMFLYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location but poor service...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Location great. Menu very French but with definite reliable American items and leanings.

Our problem is that we had been in California for 11 days ranging from a great B&B at Yosemite to the Four Seasons in SF City and finally found somewhere to actually complain about the service. Our Server, Jessica? Left quite a lot to be desired - and they were hardly busy!

Food was OK but not great. Worth a quick lunch in our opinion but not a go to place and we may not go back even if staying locally again.

The manager did run over when it was obvious that something was up and went some way to repair the damage caused by a poor server who didn't enjoy life or her job it seemed! Avoid Jessica's tables.....

Loved Sonoma though! And there are some lovely places to eat - El Dorado springs to mind for a great evenings meal on their terrace. (Girl and Fig is another)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Slaav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centre du Vin also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing