We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1997 called and they want their TV back”
Review of El Pueblo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Pueblo Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our overall experience in the hotel was positive--our room was clean and the staff was helpful and courteous. Our only qualm was that for El Pueblo Inn to truly be family-friendly, they need to update their TV situation. Not that we go to hotels purely to watch TV, but we do have kids and when we travel with them, they get to watch a movie at the hotel as a fun treat, especially since we don't stay out late with them. The TV sets at El Pueblo Inn were those giant boxes from the 90s that give a distorted picture. They also didn’t have movies on demand but instead, a selection of DVDs you could check out from the lobby. There were no animated movies in the selection and the most contemporary movie they had was (get ready for it)… FLUBBER with Robin Williams. This movie is from 1997--as old as the TV we watched it on (lol). Please El Pueblo Inn, if you’re not going to update your TV sets and have the option of movies on demand for your guests, at least throw in a few newer DVDs and some animated ones. You know, to keep the kiddos--and their parents who are paying for the hotel--happy.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank moya l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaala S, Guest Relations Manager at El Pueblo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review!

I wanted to let you know that we are in the process of replacing all of our "retro" televisions with brand new, 20" HDTV flat screen TV's. We are really excited about them.
(We are also renovating all of our original bathrooms!)

And I completely argree that we need some good chirldren's movies- thank you for the great suggestion! Right now the only movies we offer at our front desk are movies that were filmed in Sonoma County... We need some good kid options!

Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Kaala Stewart
El Pueblo Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 666 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

great for the price in December 2012. Super beds. Just as great as the Marriot. Rooms very large and nicely decorated. Towels very plush. Staff very very friendly.

Stay in the new two story unit. 2nd floor. ask for an upgrade to the Sonoma kings. Grounds make you feel like you're in a paradise setting.

Only bad thing is the heating unit on the wall sounds like a 747 airplane landing in your room. I would still stay there again though. We didn't use the heater just cuddled.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marjack3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel was fine. It was not great, but it was fine. However, after I checked out they charged my credit card $375 and accused me of burning a duvet cover and stealing a pillow! I don't smoke and the pillows were the worst part of the hotel. Now I am stuck in credit card limbo. The manager was not available to talk with and I couldn't even leave a message. Do not stay here! They can't count pillows and blame you for damage that was pre-existing. If you do stay here, film the room before and after you leave. What a pain. Not worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 18Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We loved the fireplace. Very romantic. The bed was very comfortable and there was alot of room. I t was wonderful. Next time we come we will stay here again. We would recommend this place to everyone. We liked the DVD player we brought our own movie and watched it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anewman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very well maintained, comfortable room with a cozy feel and very comfortable bed. Lots of attention to detail and thoughtfully appointed. Rooms are off a large central courtyard with lush landscaping providing a sense of privacy and the large fountain masks street noise wonderfully. Would definitely stay there again when in Sonoma.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2dogone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

El Pueblo Inn was recommended to us by a friend and we are glad that they did. We were only in the area one night, looking for a nice hotel (not too expensive) to stay in after a day checking out wineries. This spot was wonderful. The room was cozy, the staff was very kind and helpful both through the booking and checking in/out process. The room was spacious, clean, the bed was awesome. We had no noise issues, we slept wonderfully. Overall a really great spot to stay. We got a deal due to "liking" them on facebook too. So check out their website to see if they have any specials. The location was great; close to Sonoma square. Just a few minute car ride away. Some people walk it, but it was cold so we drove. This would be a good place to check out.

Room Tip: We were in one of the California Kings and it was great. Plenty of space, really cozy bed. Slept li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MindykaySL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Attractive and comfortable room on pleasant grounds made this an excellent stay in Sonoma. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, ask them for wine tasting tickets. The continental breakfast was varied, with pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, and tasty granola. There is a pool and hot tub.

It was the little things that counted. Several newspapers in the morning, a notebook full of area menus, biscotti in the room each day. Fluffy towels, attractive furnishings, friendly staff.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank WVUNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
1.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.9 mi away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sonoma
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Inn

Address: 896 W Napa St, Sonoma, CA 95476-6415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: $142 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pueblo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pueblo Inn sits at the very heart of Wine Country, flanked by lush fields of grapes and filled with an ambience that blends Tuscan beauty with Adobe serenity. We're just a short drive from the famous city of San Francisco. From our door, day-trippers enjoy excursions to Sonoma Raceway, Jack London State Park, plaza wine tastings, shopping venues, fine dining eateries, pastry shops, biplane rides, hot air ballooning, and a whole host of delightful activities and sights. Guests delight in our ample amenities, including an interior garden for relaxing, 24-hour pool for swimming, and free Wi-Fi for web surfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your El Pueblo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Sonoma
El Pueblo Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing