We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”
Review of El Pueblo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Pueblo Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2008

We stayed at the El Pueblo Inn in early April. It was clean and comfortable. They provided a nice continental breakfast in the morning. However I do not agree with other reviews that call it a hidden gem and thought it was well overpriced at $249/night. We spent a week in San Francisco and Sooma. We didn't pay more than $170/night at any hotel. Based on the price and the review I thought I was splurging for a really nice hotel on our final night. I was disappointed with what we got. No specific complaints but not worth the price.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ellenboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for El Pueblo Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 658 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2008

For three nights we had a clean, quiet, spacious room with king bed, fireplace, and balcony overlooking gardens. There is a pool and a workout room, which we didn't use this trip. The staff made sure the grounds, rooms, and public spaces were clean and maintained. Free, do-it-yourself continental breakfast was adequate to start the day.Hotel location is just a mile from the Sonoma Plaza, where most of the restaurants and nightlife are. From the hotel you can walk or jog in safe areas. It is centrally located for wine tasting throughout the Sonoma Valley. Service was great, but we weren't very demanding. The room was about $160 including taxes. We will go back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Magmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

My husband and I decided to stay in Sonoma after a drive down the coast from Mendocino on a Wednesday. We drove by the El Pueblo Inn and decided to check if they had any rooms available. We were surprised at the low rate - $118 for a King room with a fireplace. The room was very clean and cute and the bed was comfortable. We had a nice balcony and even though it was close to the road it was very quiet at night. We didn't bring our bathing suits unfortunately but they had a nice outdoor heated pool and spa. The staff was very nice and professional and the continental breakfast was great. I would definitely recommend this motel for a stay in Sonoma.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sje12341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

This hotel was perfect for a last minute booking for a single weekend night (booking in wine country for one weekend night is very hard). Good for non-couples as they have rooms with 2 double beds avail. The grounds are beautiful and the hot tub area is open 24/7 so we were able to hit the hot tub after dinner and stargaze. Delightful! (And very economical.) I will definitely go back. Not super high end, but clean, modern... the front desk very helpful and friendly - and they did give us as many pool towels as we wanted. The continental breakfast was very good too. Great huge palm trees are beautifully lit at night.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cdpcdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

On a trip to the wine country we stayed at El Pueblo Inn for four nights. It is ideally located, close to but outside of the hubub of Napa itself and within walking distance of the lovely downtown square of Somoma. Although it is located on a busy highway it is nice and quiet. The place is beautifully landscaped with a lovely outdoor pool and hot tub set in the garden. The on-site breakfast was quite good. The staff was very helpful in confirming the excellence of the several restaurant choices we had made based upon Internet reviews and recommending excellent wineries to visit for tastings. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. Best of all, the prices were quite reasonable for the Sonoma region, where most B&Bs and motels are truly exorbitantly priced.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mhw089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

This was our favorite hotels of our entire trip! We found the El Pueblo online and booked online. This place is more than a bargain at under $150/nite! We had an adobe room double/double room for two nites. The Inn is located in Sonoma and is a GREAT base for a Napa/Sonoma wine trip. There is pretty much anything you may need within walking distance. The hotel surrounds a beautiful private courtyard, that is absolutely immaculate with fountains, palms and olive trees. It is obvious the owners take great pride in their property. There is a pool and hot tub...open 24 hours a day. The property is entirely NON smoking. We are smokers and there are large walk balcony around the building with plenty of ashtrays, as smoking is permitted outside. I certainly didn't even want to smoke in the room as it was so clean and comfortable. Furnishings were new and well kept, bathroom was sparkling and the beds were to die for! Featherbeds and down comforters! Room was small, but comfortable for two. If you are looking for a great, clean, friendly and well kept hotel, the El Puelblo is a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hlbetzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

When we travel to the wine country, we usually stay in one of the upscale hotels or spas, but this time we waited until the last minute
and were unable to find anything available for our dates of travel. After reading the reviews on the motel, we thought we would give it a
try. Boy, were we pleasantly surprised!

The property is 50 years old but is in excellent condition. We were given a room in the newer section and it had a patio facing the inner
courtyard. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. Our room was spotless; the beds and linens were extremely comfortable.

The only negative comment I can make about the property is its location. It's located at a busy interesection, but it didn't bother us during our stay.

We're sorry we have overlooked this property in the past and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Linnbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.0 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#6 of 11 in Sonoma
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
5.8 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Inn

Address: 896 W Napa St, Sonoma, CA 95476-6415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Family Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: $177 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pueblo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pueblo Inn sits at the very heart of Wine Country, flanked by lush fields of grapes and filled with an ambience that blends Tuscan beauty with Adobe serenity. We're just a short drive from the famous city of San Francisco. From our door, day-trippers enjoy excursions to Sonoma Raceway, Jack London State Park, plaza wine tastings, shopping venues, fine dining eateries, pastry shops, biplane rides, hot air ballooning, and a whole host of delightful activities and sights. Guests delight in our ample amenities, including an interior garden for relaxing, 24-hour pool for swimming, and free Wi-Fi for web surfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your El Pueblo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Sonoma
El Pueblo Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing