We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay in Sonoma”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Pueblo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Pueblo Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Sonoma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed five nights at the El Pueblo and we were also so suprised to find this little oasis with stunning gardens right off the main road in Sonoma. We had a queen room with a balcony overlooking the gardens. I would recommend the upgrade to this newer part of the hotel. Gardens were beautiful and the grounds are so well cared for. Pool area is very pretty, exceptionally clean and a swim was a welcome addition on a hot day after lots of wine tasting. Very cleanRoom was spotless. Huge bathroom, very comfortable beds with duvets. Breakfast was great. Staff was very courteous and delivered great service. Hotel was well located for travelling in the area and a very short drive into Sonoma each night for dinner. Would not hesitate to stay here again. For a very expensive area this hotel offers outstanding value and a great experience. Certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive queen and request a second floor balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Thirstytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    235
    44
    18
    12
See reviews for
110
340
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were surprised to find this beautiful patio with a fountain, lots of flowers, very quiet.
The room on the main floor was cozy and clean.
You may walk to Sonoma PLaza.. El Pueblo Inn has its price, but not as expensive as the hotels in the center.
We definitely would stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank doroPfalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the Inn for the first part of our Wine trip. Check-in was easy and prompt. Our room was very clean, updated, and had a great little fireplace. The sliding glass door at the back of the room opened to the courtyard area which was filled with plants, trees, flowers, and a lovely fountain. The continental breakfast was very nice too. Check out was painless. We didn't use the pool/spa but walked around it -- very enticing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfCookDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Maybe this is a case of expectations, but for the price, in a pricy community, we thought we would be getting a lot more. The web site implies this too. Basically, this is a glorified motel with a Hispanic motif. This may be one of the nicest motel/hotels in Sonoma, which is surprising given the tourism in the area. Definitely below our expectations.
Rooms were rather small, but our room had a lovely remodeled bathroom with a good shower which was nice. Walls are not insulated so we could hear other rooms and TVs playing. The amenities included a pool which we did not use and a courtyard with a fountain. I was expecting something more of a resort with other items. The hotel has a quiet policy, requiring a signature that you will keep things low key. Nice in that aspect.
Some rooms on the courtyard have a patio, which is nice but most rooms don't have them. Two story building, ground floor definitely easier.
We also had a problem in that we expected to stay three nights, at rates well past $200 per night. The hotel called and said they had a water leakage and were unable to let us stay the third night. That irritated me that they would displace an existing guest to accommodate new guests coming in??? They did find us alternate location, a small cottage, sort of like a B&B without the Breakfast. The hotel paid for the room, so in a sense, our third night was free. The cottage was a nice alternative. Wish I had stayed at the cottage all three days. Better value.
I give El Pueblo credit for taking care of us, but it is overpriced for what you get. Part of the Sonoma market, I guess. Oh yes, breakfast is included and it was typical for most motels that offer breakfast now. No big deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

As usual, one of the main reasons I booked this place was because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor. I would suggest a main floor room, because you get a patio instead of a balcony. I would also recommend you book a room facing the inner courtyard that has a water fountain. The day we checked in was one of the few times we actually had a few hours free to unwind, and our patio was the perfect spot. Lots of privacy because of the abundant greenery, etc., and with the water in the background, it was heaven! There is a pool, and we saw some people sunning there. Very friendly staff, great breakfast (included). Beautiful room and amenities. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: First floor, with patio facing inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandMfromOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We ended up returning twice to the El Pueblo, the rooms were comfortable and a reasonable size, the gardens were attractive and the pool and hot tub area was large and very well laid out. Staff at the check in were really helpful and friendly. The facilities, including the breakfast, were above my expectations and very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four days during "crush". Our room was ample in size, with a comfortable king bed, desk and chair plus a comfortable chair and ottoman, refrigerator. The landscaping was beautiful, and the pool and hot tub were very nice, and open 24 hours/day.

Service when we checked in was friendly and helpful. The Front Desk staff was helpful throughout our stay.

A continental breakfast was offered each day. No hot food items were offered, except toasting bread or bagels.

The location of the Inn is excellent as well. It is about one mile from Sonoma Square, and is on the main route through Sonoma County -- Route 12.

We will return to the El Pueblo Inn when we return to Sonoma.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank almhuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
1.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1.0 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
1.0 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
5.8 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Inn

Property: El Pueblo Inn
Address: 896 W Napa St, Sonoma, CA 95476-6415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Family Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pueblo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pueblo Inn sits at the very heart of Wine Country, flanked by lush fields of grapes and filled with an ambience that blends Tuscan beauty with Adobe serenity. We're just a short drive from the famous city of San Francisco. From our door, day-trippers enjoy excursions to Sonoma Raceway, Jack London State Park, plaza wine tastings, shopping venues, fine dining eateries, pastry shops, biplane rides, hot air ballooning, and a whole host of delightful activities and sights. Guests delight in our ample amenities, including an interior garden for relaxing, 24-hour pool for swimming, and free Wi-Fi for web surfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your El Pueblo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Sonoma
El Pueblo Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing