We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good concept for a winery”
Review of Ram's Gate Winery

Ram's Gate Winery
Ranked #26 of 105 things to do in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ram's Gate Winery embodies the convergence of great wine, design and hospitality. Situated at the historic gateway to the Carneros region, Ram's Gate was created with the belief that in a world obsessed with making things faster, where speed is valued above all else, a delicious wine is the way to press pause - to savor and enjoy what we love most. Amidst sweeping views of the surrounding vineyards, we offer a portfolio of estate and single vineyard wines made from the grapes of the region's marquee vineyards. Open Thursdays-Mondays, 11am-6pm by Appointment
CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good concept for a winery”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our first visit to this winery. We had received emails from them before, but never made it up there. Beautiful layout and we really loved the idea of serving food with wine tastings. More wineries should offer it that way. The staff at the winery was very knowledgeable and let us walk around the wines and the little lake they have. Everybody was eager to answer questions and we had some wine tasting. Next time we will definitely stay longer and enjoy some of their food and wine pairing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacation_addicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    30
    9
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Union City, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
807 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“If it weren't for our flight that night, you'd still find us there.”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Ram's gate has to be one of the best atmospheres of any restaurant or winery I've ever seen. Though they are not technically making their own wine yet, they are bottling wine from other Caneros region wineries until their vines grown in a bit more, they have an amazing location with great views over the region. They are situated at the top of a lonesome hill in Sonoma which allows unobstructed views over what seems like miles and miles of vineyards. You can also see the Sonoma race track as well as hear cars there, which depending on your taste may or may not be desirable. The restaurant, or maybe it's just a lounge, we didn't look for food, is perfectly matched with this view as everything is incredibly open and airy and nothing seems to block your view. The property also has a lovely area next to a small pond with Adirondack chairs where you can enjoy your tasting and watch the ducks.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The new hotness in Sonoma”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Ram's Gate is quite the impressive winery in the Carneros region of Sonoma. Located just off the highway if you're coming from SF, it's perched atop a hill and overlooks much of the surrounding valley and bay. Highlights include the spacious interior, which mixes contemporary and rustic design, and the food and wine pairings. Some wineries serve little bites with their wines, but you have a full menu here. Great decor, atmosphere, and a relaxing setting. Perfect place to visit on a weekend afternoon.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mmeisner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A wonderful Howard Bracken designed stop at the start of the Wine Country”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This new addition ( a couple of years) at entrance of the Sonoma Valley is great stop to begin eating and drinking in a beautifully designed complex by Howard Bracken a highly regarded wine country architect. The interior is by Bay Area designer Orlando Dias Acuzy known for cozy plush chairs and couches. Think your dream living room and the ability to have a hundred guest at ease.

We stopped on our way to friends home further into the Valley. A glass of Pinot and a selection of several small plates of tasty food. No better way to start a trip in the Wine Country. The staff and service was up to standard and grounds were also part of a very good expiernce.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco area, CA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“This place is absolutely gorgeous! Very well planned, and laid out for the ultimate enjoyment and views!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Wonderful staff greeted us, and we felt well taken care of the entire visit. Very knowledgeable woman served us several tastings, and we also ordered a few plates of small bites to go along with the wines. Excellent, Excellent experience!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sjansenavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ram's Gate Winery also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Ram's Gate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing