We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks like you are in Pottery Barn!”
Review of Ram's Gate Winery

Ram's Gate Winery
Ranked #27 of 104 things to do in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ram's Gate Winery embodies the convergence of great wine, design and hospitality. Situated at the historic gateway to the Carneros region, Ram's Gate was created with the belief that in a world obsessed with making things faster, where speed is valued above all else, a delicious wine is the way to press pause - to savor and enjoy what we love most. Amidst sweeping views of the surrounding vineyards, we offer a portfolio of estate and single vineyard wines made from the grapes of the region's marquee vineyards. Open Thursdays-Mondays, 11am-6pm by Appointment
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Looks like you are in Pottery Barn!”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very pretty, Pottery Barn like winery. Out of all the wineries we visited, this one was most like a restaurant. You sit down inside or out, and they bring you your wine samples. They didn't do any tours, speeches, or the like that the other wineries do. It is beautiful with a nice large seating area both indoors and outdoors. They also provide you with comfy blankets!! This was the only winery that did that, so that is a very nice touch. I think this winery would be a nice place to finish, not necessarily to start our winery tour like we did. It also seems perfect for large parties or groups. They also offer small plates to pair with your wine as well. We had a beet salad that was very delish.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pagetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    30
    9
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, CA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“COOL SIPS LOVELY VIEWS”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Ramsgate is a new winery on the way to the wine country and makes a great first stop. They serve some nice small plates. I recommend a reservation - as it seems to be quite popular. The wines are nice and they have a food/wine concept that is good. If you want to just enjoy the wines and the food you might have to get the server to "back down" - my husband and I wanted to check it out - and we are very experienced wine lovers - we do spend a lot of time in Sonoma! - and I found some of the speil a little much - but if you are traveling to the wine country for the first time this is a great introduction in almost a bar setting -
I think the wines are quite lovely. This is the upper line for a large conglomerate and they have put a lot of effort intot the new buildings and the food concept. I think very successfully - so stop on your way to Sonoma or Napa and have a couple of tastes and a yummy afternoon snack.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank selectivesonoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience!”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

After hearing rave reviews, we reserved in advance for a seated tasting & pairing and were not disappointed. Each of the 5 wines in the tasting flight were distinctive and palate pleasing. All of small plate choices were creative and delicious. The setting was stunning. The service was friendly and knowledgable. Can't wait to return.

Helpful?
2 Thank DandLCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great setting, average food & wine”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The setting is spectacular-- overlooking the vineyards, nicely landscaped. The seating area is a nice mix of tables, bar area and pit seating around a large fireplace. Soaring open ceilings that really enhanced the atmosphere. This should be the best in the area - easily the nicest concept for tasting in an intimate and casually luxurious atmosphere. The tasting menu had a lot of great options. We ordered several different courses with uneven results. The Foie GRAS was a bit tough and fatty. Oysters three way were nicely prepared and well flavored. The short ribs were great - that was the unanimous vote for best plate. We had an additional 2 plates that were good, not great. The third and fourth pours were given to us within minutes of each other with no chance to savor or appreciate the wines individually.
We asked for recommendations when ordering from the tasting menu and asked that the wines on the fixed tasting flight be paired with the tastings but no effort was made to do this which may be the reason we felt the wines were uneven - of the five wines, we liked two fairly well and did not care for the other three.

If the food and service were brought to the same level as the surroundings this would have been a 5 star. I hope they do this as this would easily become my top choice for a wonderful experience.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, classy mountain lodge vibe”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The building is gorgeous, the vibe refined. We sat under blankets sipping a buttery Chardonnay and decadent Zinfandel, snacking on brilliant warm olives and thoroughly enjoyed a sunset conversation on our way out of wine country. This place could have easily felt pretentious, except the staff was warm and welcoming and we thought it was a great find on the well-traveled path to Sonoma. Great place to stop to enjoy wine by the glass (instead of a full bottle or tasting flight) and good appetizers.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank aschultz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ram's Gate Winery also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Ram's Gate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing