We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice, but expensive!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice, but expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Recently spent two nights here. Very nice hotel, very nice staff (especially the car valets). Originally booked a Junior Suite...but when we saw the room we were disappointed, it wasn't anything special (not even a balcony). Front desk was able to upgrade us (for a charge) to a Mission Suite. The suite was really special! If you're going to pay extra for a suite, definitely go for the Mission Suite! Spent the last morning at the spa, which was also wonderful (and pricey).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljfbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    280
    163
    72
    25
See reviews for
138
546
23
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We've previously stayed at Solage, Calistoga and Westin, Napa and wanted to give Sonoma a shot. My wife and I had a great experience at the Fairmont Empress Victoria, so we were looking forward to this visit for our 5 year anniversary. Lets start with the negative so we can end on a good note.

Valet parking is $35 a night. Just for reference, Solage and Westin both offer complimentary valet parking. The self parking lot is insufficient and you will find yourself parking off of the property by the restaurant run by the Fairmont. I can get over this, but this is obvious price gouging.

The older rooms have thin walls and we could hear every single word of our neighbor's "enthusiastic" conversations at 2:00AM in the morning. Here's a quick summary. The two were seriously not impressed by some guy they were talking to in the lounge because some people are "just not classy." They knew it was late, but did not feel like sleeping. They were hungry so they ordered a "cheese plate." One girl references that the other works there (a Fairmont employee!?). Later in the morning one of them leaves and she brings her friend back some breakfast. A banana and a muffin I believe she said. The supposed employee goes on to complain about some "Interns from Ebay" spending time at the resort. The interns are all "Indian and don't drink." The Indian interns all order "tuna sandwiches from Bouchon" and she complains about being in a "hot room with a Tuna smell." I could not make this up if I tried and it may have been funny if not for the expense of my wife and I. What made this frustrating is that this person might be an employee. I hope it was not.

On the plus side, we received a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine for our anniversary. That was a very nice gesture. The property is beautiful. Lots of little paths to walk and explore. They have little tables and chairs in grassy areas around the whole property. You can order food and drink anywhere you happen to be hanging out and relaxing. The spa staff was very friendly and attentive and the spa facilities are very modern and clean.

In the end, I don't believe we will be returning. We are not taking Fairmont in general off of our list, just this property. We got a good deal, but at full price we have had better experiences at other resorts in the wine country.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the newer buildings. Also, join the Fairmont President's Club‎. It...
See more room tips
Green Features: They implement the standard eco-friendly practices. Put that card on you bed. You don't need them to wash your sheets "every" night. California is in a drought and we need the water for the grapes! :)
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImFromSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear ImFromSF, Thank you for choosing our resort for your anniversary celebration and for taking the time to post your detailed review. We do read all reviews and appreciate the feedback. I sincerely apologize that you were disturbed by noise from neighboring guests. I am glad however that you enjoyed the sparkling wine, overall property and received attentive and friendly service from our team. We do hope you will consider visiting again as we would love to welcome you back. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We love Sonoma Mission Inn! The adult-only pool is the best place to relax after a massage and we always enjoy the water treatments before massages. Close access to the Square is nice and the concierge is very helpful. Wish the whole place was adults only! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank joelleh449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Neals
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

As soon as we drove up the space seemed very crowded. The valet and bellman, however were very attentive and helpful. My husband had to move our vehicle so that other cars could get out.
The reception/check-in area is very small and crowded, staff again is very attentive and helpful.
The room was nice. Pretty view of the south lawn, but the bathroom is small with the toilet right in the middle of the room. I prefer a separate area or partition for the toilet area. The tile is green and from the fifties. The shower is spacious, but again, green tile is outdated.
Overall it was ok. May or May not come again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank boardlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear boardlady, Thank you for choosing our resort for your getaway and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate the feedback and do hope you will visit again. We have different kinds of rooms and suites with varying layouts that you may enjoy more. Thank you again for your patronage and post. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed 3 days and nights at this classic resort. The staff was welcoming on and offered a discounted upgrade, which was well worth the cost. The room was very well appointed, spotless, with a great shower, jacuzzi tub and private veranda for morning coffee. We were directed to a local eatery with the best Mexican food I've had in a while. We almost missedout on the unique mineral springs spa on the grounds, the use of which is included in the charges. Would definitely revisit this gem!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the villa was worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeBee34698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear CeeBee34698, Thank you for your post. We are delighted you so enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your return. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Awesome place. Pricey but worth it. We loved the spa, the pools at the spa, and the gorgeous lush landscaping which was beautiful to look at and made us feel relaxed. Added bonus was the morning hike!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Ron S, Thank you for your “beautiful” post. I am thrilled to read how much you loved the resort and complimentary hike experience as well. We hope to be able to share more of what our resort, and Sonoma Valley, have to offer again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is our second visit to Sonoma Mission Inn and would come again. Family friendly, elegant but not pretentious, and feels like a piece of historical Sonoma with its architecture. The main pool is standard but kept our youngest busy on a hot day, and pool side libations are tasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank saspatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear saspatel, Thank you for choosing our resort and for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that your family so enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
2.4 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.4 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
9.0 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Kenwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 1 in Kenwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Property: Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Address: 100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-3678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#2 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn And Spa
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Hotel Sonoma
Sonoma Mission Inn
Fairmont Inn Mission Sonoma Spa
Sonoma Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing