We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Wonderful pool, spa, restaurant. The area of town is a little busy but our trip was great. We did some winery tours and met up with some friends. The room was very nice and had a luxury bathtub. We had a nice view of the gardens. The fitness center was nice too. I recommend it. Also, try to use your AMEX points to book and you can get special packages. For breakfast and a few lunches we went up the street a short walk to the breakfast and lunch place but I can't recall the name.. it's where the concierge sends you if you ask about breakfast... that was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babybee5227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    307
    175
    74
    28
See reviews for
151
597
24
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have stayed here three times in the last 36 months.

I agree with much of the reviews of FSMI in that it is expensive, dominated by small, dank rooms, oddly situated in terms of the breakfast "diner", the adjacent walking surroundings (nothing) and the tendency toward very crowded pool areas on the weekends.

But there were a few things that FSMI refrained from doing that are positives. Namely: they do not charge for self parking, they do not charge the requisite "resort fee" that ALL their competitors do, the Spa (though outrageously expensive for mediocre services) is very relaxing, calm and unique. Not going to the Spa ( and private pools)at FSMI would be missing a major portion of the attraction of this place. They also have a very nice GYM and Yoga classes.

The revamped Sante restaurant is very nice to have on property. The food is good (expensive), service acceptable but do not believe the hype that this is "one of the top three wine country restaurants" that they spew. It is a good dining experience that one does not have to drive to. nuff said.

The lobby wine bar is great, but, do not expect a glass of wine under $16.00.

This place is a couples weekend getaway. It is a great location to use as a base for Sonoma County wine tasting, getting away from the Napa crowds. I am a Calif local, so I see value in the location a short drive from my home. Would I travel here as a destination from far, no I would not. Would I came here for a Family trip? no sir.

My last pet peeve is the tiny front desk that ALWAYS has a 20 minute line-up.

I really would give them a 3.5 rating if I could, I am more positive on the place than this review sounds, but I strive for a balanced review.

Room Tip: Never allow them to give you a room in the main building facing the porte cochere, loud all night an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calinativeceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear calinativeceo, Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review. I was disappointed to read your “balanced” review as it is our intention to tip the scales on the excellent side; I am sorry we did not achieve this for you. We do appreciate your feedback so we know the areas we still need to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back again and do hope to be less balanced in favor of fantastic next time. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is an elderly resort that has an excellent staff. The rooms are very nice, but the grounds are overgrown and not well maintained. The Breakfast area is awful; on a busy street with a view of the "Church Mouse Thrift Store". They do not prepare omelets to order; and the menu is quite limited. The area the hotel is in is very low-end. The resort needs a new bucolic location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grognard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Grognard, Thank you for your post and commendations of our team. I apologize for your disappointment with the grounds and breakfast. We do also offer In-Room dining service so you may enjoy breakfast in the comfort and convenience of your own room. Thank you again for your feedback; we do read all post and appreciate the feedback. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

A very pretty property nestled privately off a main road. Large, well appointed suite, VERY accommodating staff, great amenities. We received gracious attention in a very casual but quite luxurious setting. Throw in afternoon wine in the lobby after a day of enjoying the countryside- a real winner

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandsboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear jandsboston, Thank you for choosing our resort in Sonoma Wine Country for your getaway. We are delighted to be the provider of luxury for your getaway and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very poor value for the $ spent, but that may have been due to NASCAR race in town. Maybe hotel raised rates because of that, room was not in great shape, bathroom in particular. 50/50 at best that I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Bill G, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you did not experience better value at our resort and for your disappointment with the bathroom. We certainly aim to create exceptional value starting with great rooms, suites and service and including such items as complimentary guided hikes and fitness classes, complimentary bottle of wine in your room upon arrival and daily wine tastings. We certainly hope to tip the 50/50 scale so we may be able to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed at Fairmont Sonoma for a conference in early June, and I was blown away by the property. The room, which was on the first floor and a short walk from the lobby, was quiet, nicely appointed, impeccably clean, and very spacious. Every staff member that I encountered during my stay- front desk, housekeeping, restaurant staff- was incredibly accommodating and warm. They all seemed truly eager to ensure that I had an enjoyable and relaxing experience. While I did not make use of in-room dining during my stay, I did dine at the lobby bar and at Sante- both of which were terrific. Based upon my stay, I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a luxury hotel experience in Sonoma. I also recommend spending some time at the nearby Benzinger winery!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Brendan L, Thank you for your “awesome” review. We are most touched regarding the warmth you experienced from our staff as that is the culture we pride ourselves on. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Here is a nice comfortable hotel with an unbelievable kitchen (with SUPER delicious inspired food) that serves a great variety of cuisine. Don 't get too excited because there is no turn down service to give you water etc, before you retire, but a totally great mineral pool to relax in during the day and great wine and cheese samples at happy hour. Super friendly and knowledgeable staff that you will totally fall in live with. All staff just delightful. You will be comfortable and happy but not ecstatic. No cell service, so calls out of room are unreasonable high ($40 for 10 minutes), but all else good for the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Audrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Audrey L, Thank you for your post. We are delighted you so enjoyed the cuisine at our resort. We are always happy to provide turndown service, so I apologize that you were not able to experience this service. We hope to welcome you back soon for more relaxation by the pool, great wine and delicious food. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
2.4 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.3 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
7.0 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
2.0 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Property: Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Address: 100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-3678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn And Spa
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Hotel Sonoma
Sonoma Mission Inn
Fairmont Inn Mission Sonoma Spa
Sonoma Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing