We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for a Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed one night for a friend's wedding. It was our first time staying at a Fairmont hotel. We are Starwood people.

The grounds are beautiful. Well maintained. Has a "rich" feel to it.
The service at the front desk was as expected- very nice.
The hotel corridors/halls had a musty smell... we were on ground level. I assume it is just because it is a older property.
They have a complimentary wine tasting daily at 4:30? ... we sampled two wines. Nice.
The wedding- AMAZING service. The staff was some of the best in the business. They truly anticipated every guest's need! The food was excellent. They all really did a tremendous job!

Side note... there is a nice little coffee/luncheonette across the street. We went there in the morning for "real" smoothies... they were delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baallen33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear baallen, Thank you for your “AMAZING” review. We are delighted to read about your first Fairmont experience and hope we have created a permanent Fairmont fan. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,134 - 1,140 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Live in San Francisco, just a quick one hour drive to the hotel, beautiful drive lots o wineries to see.
Great place to go for a quick relaxing weekend.
Great spa, great room service ( yummy food)
Wife loved the massage and I loved the"roman baths"


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank pa56tti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a two night getway (Sunday- Tuesday) last week and it was fabulous. The service was second to none from the front desk to the wait staff to the housekeeping. The grounds are beautiful and the room was comfortably appointed. We were not in a premier room but it was still very nice. Only tiny issue we had was a noisy heating/AC unit. The food at Sante was arguably some of the best cuisine I have ever had and again the staff and service was impeccable. They have several pools onsite all of which are mineral though I did not pack a suit so I didn't personally get to enjoy them. I did have a massage at the Spa, but it was just ok. The spa itself is co-ed which was a bit strange and felt a little uncomfortable and it was super busy which made it less relaxing of an environment than a spa should be. We took a guided hike nearby that was complementary which was lead by a very knowledgeable guide and was enjoyable though they did pack us like sardines in this SUV to get us there. Thankfully two of us were little enough to fit in the "third" row which was really meant for child car seats.

We were near to the main town square and all of the local wineries but the immediate area around the hotel isn't excellent. There are a few bodegas, a thrift shop and some Mexican restaurants but nothing else in walking distance, not that you really want to leave the hotel other than to eat or go wine tasting, but if you want local shopping you have to get in your car.

Overall our stay was wonderful and the staff was amazing and what I have come to expect from the Fairmont.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank jerseygirl10577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear jerseygirl10577, Thank you for your “excellent” review. We are delighted to see that your stay was wonderful overall. I do apologize for the noise from your A/C unit and only “ok” massage. We certainly aim for exceptional, so I was disappointed to read that we missed the mark in the spa. Again, we are thrilled that you had an excellent stay overall and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Elegant lobby and wine bar. Nice pool but likely would get very crowded on a busy, warm day as it is quite small for the size of the place. Rooms small but comfortable. Bathroom clean and OK. One of our rooms on the 2nd floor at the top of the stairs from the lobby. Noise from bar & lobby made it impossible to sleep before midnight. Other room quiet. Rooms are amazingly small for what is billed as a top line hotel & spa. For the price that they charge there is a marked disconnect between $ and quality of the experience. Service excellent. I would imagine they only reason this hotel is able to charge the price that it does is because there is little competition for "luxury" housing.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept a room above the lobby and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doubleeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Doubleeagle, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you found the service to be excellent, but so sorry that we did not achieve the exceptional standards that we aim for in all areas during your stay. We do try to create great value for our guests with many complimentary inclusions for our guests such as complimentary daily wine tasting, yoga & fitness classes and guided hikes. We also have a variety of rooms and suite types to choose from that may better suit your needs in the future. Thank you again for choosing our resort for your visit and for your post. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We only stay at Fairmonts. The Sonoma Mission Inn is one of the best ones we have stayed in and we have stayed in all over the world, only in Fairmonts if we can help it. This place is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Thomas E, Thank you so much for your post. We are delighted we continue to remain on your “best” list. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very Clean and Well Appointed Spa/Hotel With Great Amenities And An Accommodating Staff. The Hotel Rooms Are Well Equipped With A Fully Stack Mini Bar, Luxury Robes, Sufficient Towels And All the Bells And Whistles Of An Elegant Spa/ Hotel. The Spa And Warm Mineral Spring Pools Are Outstanding!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank LaMarise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Arriving at the hotel comes in steps. First the valet takes luggage, while one goes in to register. Then one returns to the drive to be walked to the room. Our junior suite was just a large room, and quite dark - just one window that should open to a deck, but the doors hit the furniture on that deck - preventing access. The "bag" designed for the fireplace would not light, and one is advised nothing else may be burned in the fireplace. Bedding is very nice but the towels are not.
Internet is free for members of their loyalty program, but others must pay.
Beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Suenglish, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am so sorry that we did not quite hit the mark for you this stay. We certainly aim to make a seamless, beautiful stay for every guest. I am glad you did have a comfortable stay and enjoyed the grounds. Thank you for bringing to our attention the other items so we may look into them. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
2.4 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.3 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
666 reviews
2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
2.1 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
7 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Address: 100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-3678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#2 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: $243 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn And Spa
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Hotel Sonoma
Sonoma Mission Inn
Fairmont Inn Mission Sonoma Spa
Sonoma Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing