We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business meeting excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Beaumont, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business meeting excellence”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The grounds, meeting facilities, amenities, and service were flawless for our corporate retreat. Staff were uniformly knowledgable, helpful, and genuinely pleased to be of service.
I was a bit concerned about booking what I hoped would be a memorable event for our executive team based on the mixed reviews on this site, but could not have been more pleased with the hotel.

Great experience!

Room Tip: We requested - and were placed in - quiet guest rooms in low traffic areas, which worked out very we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Dan S. Thank you for your post. We are delighted to read that your meeting and experiences at our resort were excellent. We hope to welcome you and your team back for another retreat very soon. Best regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    322
    187
    76
    29
See reviews for
159
632
26
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nice property, we enjoyed the weekend in Sonoma and the stay. I think most of the staff was very nice and welcoming, with a couple of exceptions. I don't think this place warrants $500 per night for rooms, its more of a $300 a night quality property. The fact that you pay so much and then get a room next to an electrical generator that makes a lot of noise is not good, but they switched us out of the room and gave us an even better room so we were happy.

A couple of things that are surprising considering we were paying $500 a night and are Fairmont President's Club Platinum members:
$30 a day valet fee (tell them you have a hybrid vehicle and you can self-park for free)
$30 a day for the spa
Golf club not on property
Breakfast restaurant not on property

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room away from the electrical generators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walle2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Vikas G., Thank for your review. I was thrilled to read how you enjoyed your weekend. I apologize for the generator noise disturbing you on the first night and am glad to read that the team was able to make other arrangements for you to improve upon your experience. I hope you were able to enjoy the many complimentary offerings we have for our Guests such as complimentary wine tasting daily in our newly renovated lobby, complimentary daily guided hikes, yoga and other fitness classes. The Big 3 Restaurant is on the Northeast corner of our grounds and we also offer In-Room Dining for guest convenience in dining. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Overall disappointed. My wife and I recently stayed at the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn for 3 nights. The rooms are tiny, wifi didnt work, concierge and staff not very knowledgeable. The hotel itself is not located in a great area - too far from downtown Sonoma. Breakfast, which was included in the room rate, was in a separate restaurant outside the hotel grounds. Breakfast service very slow (we waited over 30 minutes for service). For the prices they charge, two thumbs down, definitely over rated. On a possitive note, the hotel itself is pretty, clean and staff is friendly. The SPA was nice with multiple heated pools, although located right next to a busy road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Colin C, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am so sorry for your disappointments with your stay. Please know that we do read all posts and very much value the feedback so we may improve any areas that are lacking in the exceptional service we strive for. The Big 3 Restaurant is on the Northeast corner of our grounds and we also offer In-Room Dining for guest convenience in dining. I was glad to read that you enjoyed the Spa. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The worst Fairmont that I have ever stayed in. The walls were so thin we could here our neighbors on both sides talking in a normal tone of voice. When their cell phones rang they wakened us as if they were in our own room. During our 4 day stay they never refreshed any bathroom amenities such as shampoo. In spite of repeatedly asking that they deliver the morning newspaper which I am entitled to as a Presidents Club member they failed to do so. Valet parking at $25 is outrageous. The beds are too soft, the feather pillows are worn and tired. The room size at this price is ridiculously small and cramped. What an awful place to stay with all the other wonderful choices in the wine country. Next time we will go back to the Carneros Inn

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lasereyesdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Lasereyesdoc, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry for your disappointments with your stay. Please rest assured that I have followed up with the Housekeeping and Rooms Teams to ensure those items are corrected immediately; thank you for bringing them to our attention so we may address them. We do have a wide variety of rooms and suites to suit various stay preferences. I also apologize that the bed was too soft for you; we are always happy to provide a bed board or extra pillow top to firm up or soften the beds as per the preference of each individual guest. I do hope you will reconsider and try our resort again in the future. We are traditionally known for exceptional rooms and service and I am so sorry we fell short for you this stay. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her for one night on a spa package. It included a king room, breakfast, and a couple's massage. We also ate dinner at the hotel's redone restaurant. The room was in one of the separate buildings on the grounds-nice size, good bed and a balcony. Not luxuious but very nice. The spa was lovely. Nice amenities with access to pool and smaller thermal pool. I believe the spa had been redone. The lobby definitely has been redone since I stayed here almost 15 years ago. A very nice job integrating the old building and some nice modern pieces and new lighting. The restaurant was excellent. Good service and good food. We brought our own wine but looked at the wine list which was typical for Napa-good selection but expensive. Overall a very nice rekaxing get away. Price was reasonable given we were on a package deal. Service nice Staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sftcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sftcat, Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa for your getaway and for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you had such a relaxing visit and enjoyed our renovations. We hope you do not wait another 15 years and we may welcome you back to our resort in the near future. Best regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Fairmont Sonoma was beautiful! Upon arrival, the car was whisked away by the parking valet. The lobby was beautiful with complimentary coffee and tea in the morning. We stayed in a suite which was recently remodeled and included a fireplace. The bed was very comfortable along with the high thread count sheets and down pillows. We stayed on the third floor which was very nice with no noise above us. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant, as I made reservations at Press in Napa which was fantastic and Bottega in Yountville. The only downside to staying at the Fairmont Sonoma was it was about at 30-40 minute drive to Napa and Yountville.

Room Tip: I recommend a third floor suite close to the pool. Also, ask for a remodeled room. Our's was b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortmill63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Fortmill63, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled you so enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back again and hope you have the opportunity to try Santé, our Michelin Star rated restaurant right here on property. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel was so wonderful. The staff there is so accommodating and authentically care about your stay there. It is set in beautiful Sonoma. Sonoma is less commercialized than Napa and it makes the whole vacation very peaceful and relaxing. The Spa there is amazing and you could spend the whole day there. Every aspect of the hotel was wonderful.

Room Tip: The Junior and Mission suites are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannem926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Jeanne M, Thank you for your “wonderful” review and appreciation of Sonoma’s charm. We are glad you felt our genuine care and had the opportunity to visit our Willow Stream Spa. We hope to welcome you back soon for more Wine Country relaxation. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
2.4 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.3 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
642 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
202 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
7.0 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Property: Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Address: 100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-3678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn And Spa
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Hotel Sonoma
Sonoma Mission Inn
Fairmont Inn Mission Sonoma Spa
Sonoma Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing