We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Cheese at the Best Price”

Vella Cheese Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Sonoma Valley Wine Country Bike Tour
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Sonoma County Wine Segway Tour
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Sonoma Food Tour
Ranked #1 of 19 Shopping in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Best Cheese at the Best Price”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We are now going back to Vella Cheese Shop because we've eaten everything from our first visit. We could sample as many cheeses as we wanted. She was very helpful in getting us what we wanted. We took back 3 cheeses: sharp cheddar,Mezzo, and a soft cheese. The prices are more reasonable than any other place. It's not in the main road.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    45
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a great addition to Sonoma”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Really great place to get cheese and salami for your day at the winery. It's just a few blocks off the square, next to the bike path.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCJustMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Not touristy, just a wonderful old stone building with a glorious selection. Ask for tastes. You won't believe the differences between the differently aged jack cheeses.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great local cheese”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you think you've tasted cheese you haven't had anything until you've been here. The small store has a wide variety of cheeses that they're happy to let you sample, but be warned, it's hard not to buy the whole store once you've tried them.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pieperjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings MT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We enjoyed sampling many varieties of the local cheeses made here. Took them back to our room to enjoy and bring home.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gummby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vella Cheese Company also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Vella Cheese Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing