We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay!”
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We loved our stay at this hotel. We stayed in the lodge room and it was big, it smelled fresh every day, and it had a nice large tub! If you go there, make sure you get a massage at the Raindance Spa! One thing that sucks is that you have to pay for internet, BUT we had no problem with that because there is a cute cafe, the Barking Dog close by so we went there every morning to do what we needed to do online and get some breakfast at Whole Foods which is next door to the Barking Dog. This resort is in a great location, close to downtown Sonoma and several wineries. We're definitely coming back here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hello_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    415
    157
    56
    33
See reviews for
157
666
13
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
408 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Check in was GREAT! The front Desk Staff was outstanding! The room was beautiful without being overly stuffy.... BUT, the GM really needs to speak to the contract suppliers. We were there for 4 days and in the 4 days we got onto the internet maybe twice without a problem. Unfortunately I needed to get some work done and was going to use "Go To Meeting" for this. The Internet wouldn't work and then to rub injury into insult they system then charged us three times for the same 24 hour period.

Don't get me wrong we enjoyed our stay but there was no excuse for this. The front desk was put into a situation which was out of their control because a signed contract with an internet company STSN was not handled properly.

*This note is to the GM.... Madam or sir, listen... it is 2009. Invest in wireless! It is not that expense to install in your hotel but STSN needs to go. You could of had an outstanding review but because of this problem it dropped your score down.

And last, what is with having a business center you charge for? I have stayed at many Marriotts and usually this service is free to its guests or at least to its Marriott Rewards Guests.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiiantraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I travel for work to many Marriott properties and it wasn't as nice as some of the lower end Marriott chains that I frequent. The hotel was fine, i was just disappointed because there were many small maintenance issues which made the hotel seem cheap.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staci0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

The Renaissance is a little more than walking distance from Sonoma Plaza & all the bars & Restraunts of that area. Rooms are spacious, the pool & hot tub area are great, the spa is excellent, service is friendly & prompt. I recommend you avoid breakfast at Caneros it is way over priced & not very good, instead drive into the square area where there are a number of great little neighboor hood places, i can also recommend Meritage Martini & oyster bar on West Napa St for a value priced tasty dinner.
Sonoma is great for wine lovers with many great wineries available, i highly recommend Iron Hores in the russian River region, great views & superb sparkling & white wines

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Njhammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

My husband and I decided to add a trip to Sonoma on our tour of the area. What a WONDERFUL suprise to have found The Lodge! Our room was more than we hoped for. I am a NEAT freak about rooms, and this was one that was above my expectations. We will go back again. Make sure to get one of the rooms that overlooks the courtyard. Imagine grabbing some wine and sitting on your deck just relaxing. Yep, life is good!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

SERVICE: We stayed here for Valentines Day and it was absolutely wonderful. It was raining that weekend and we got caught in the rain trying to go to our car. One of the staff saw us and went to fetch us an umbrella!! It was so incredibly surprising. In addition, the staff printed us directions for the restaurants we were going to and were very friendly and hospitable. EXCELLENT SERVICE!

ROOMS: The rooms were very spacious! We had our own balcony and fireplace. It was quite romantic. There was a nice bathtub with a TV and a separate shower. Tons of room!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBuggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed at the lodge for Valentine's day and they were awesome. The room we were in didn't have a great view but it was great room and the service was absolutely tremendous. Everyone was incredibly attentive. I had sent roses earlier and they were ready in our room upon our arrival and everyone there was incredibly welcoming. Of a particular note, we also spent a nite at the Fairmont Spa which has such a great reputation but the service there was not even half of the service and attentiveness we got at The Lodge. We said many times that night that we wish we had stayed as the Fairmont could not compare to The Lodge in service and value.

The only negative is that the place is a solid 30 min drive from Napa but we didn't mind. We were still able to eat at Mustard's and Ad Hoc without any issue and sampled the wineries as well.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dc_jpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.4 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
632 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
196 reviews
8.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Property: The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Address: 1325 Broadway, Sonoma, CA 95476-7505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in an exquisite Sonoma Hotel offering vibrant charm in a tranquil setting. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of San Francisco and centrally located among the country's finest wineries. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our Sonoma resort's accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our Sonoma resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. The Lodge at Sonoma is also the perfect destination for corporate meetings, social events and Sonoma Wine Country weddings and wedding receptions offering 22,000 square feet of flexible event space, both indoors and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing