We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT, exceptionally comfortable Hotel in Sonoma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The entry to this hotel, on the busy end of the main street leading into downtown Sonoma, hides the true beauty of this hotel. But when you walk in, you are in a first class property all around. The lobby is nicely appointed, and the adjacent wine bar (which has evening wine tastings from the wine merchant that sells local wines inside) is a nice setting for an evening drink. The outdoor pool setting is beautiful, and there are impressive fire "pits(?)" set at table level around the outdoor seating areas...a great place to read, sip, and relax. The rooms are spacious and beautiful, with very comfortable beds. Service is excellent. My wife absolutely loved this place. The on-premises restaurant is excellent..we had breakfast and light dinners, which were superb. Overall, an outstanding place to stay.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the cottages, especially the second level cottages facing the pool. A small outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeanderingMike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for the kind review! We are so thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and several of our onsite perks such as The Carneros Bistro. Our Chef focuses on seasonal farm to table cuisine using the very best local ingredients! I am also delighted to hear you enjoyed our very comfortable brand new beds. We are continuously striving for improvement, and hope you will return to see our continued updates in the near future!

Sincerely,

Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved the spa and the hotel. I would highly recommend it to friends and family. Very clean , rooms were very large , bathrooms were very clean and spacious. Property was very nice as well. Restaurant on site was delicious , gym was nice and lobby was comfy

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MelroseMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The cottages would be great for a long stay with the living room, comfortable bed, and large bathroom with soaking tub. The service was great and bringing dessert from the restaurant back to the room made the perfect evening! The location was also convenient - a straight short drive from the main square.

Room Tip: The cottages are spacious and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ava C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and would rate more of a 3.5 to 4 star property and on that standard was just fine. Rooms are of a decent size, bathrrom slightly small but more significantly shower pressure not great and took awhile for hot water to show up. As some others mentioned, patio door would not securely close and lock and room could be broken into from outside. Coffee shop off the lobby which doubles aa wine bar in the afternoon had good coffee and service, and free coffee refills all day. Free shuttle within 2 or so mile area a nice touch, we used to go to dinner in town.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank atl_trav917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have stayed at resorts throughout US, Mexico, Germany, this by far is the least friendly. Room is fine, clean, in fact cleaning staff seems the friendliest of the entire resort. We are staying here to check out the Sonoma area so CD my husband's boss is pushing us to move to this area. Based on my experience here and in downtown, I think I will stay in Michigan. Wine tasting was busy but more than that, if you were not part of the original group you are ignored. Asked front desk about distance to town and was told, "It's not that far", with no mention of the shuttle.

Room Tip: Definitely get the room with fireplace and ask if view is of parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay. I am so sorry to read of your disappointments with your trip to Sonoma. I have followed up with the Front office team as well as our Beverage and Food team so we may ensure the appropriate improvements are made. Our goal is always to provide a hospitable and comfortable stay for our guests and we value your feedback as it allows us to improve for the exceptional service we strive towards.

Warm Regards,

Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a great property and we had one of the cottages with the fireplace. We used the fireplace every evening as we visited the beginning of November 2013. The room was very comfortable and the property is beautiful.

The complimentary shuttle service is such a nice touch and we did use it to visit some restaurants in the downtown area. The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. We did experience some challenges with securing various items for our room. They never picked up the room service card on our door the first night and that did create some challenges for us. Additionally coffee supplies were not replenished in our cottage and we stopped by the front desk and requested that the supplies be replenished while we were out for dinner. Unfortunately when we returned there were no supplies so I assume someone else received extra coffee supplies.

The restaurant onsite was very good and we did have a package which included breakfast daily. It is a beautiful restaurant and the food was excellent. There is a breakfast buffet on Saturday and Sunday with a great selection.

We would definitely consider staying at this property again.

Room Tip: If you can afford to do so, pay a little more for one of the cottages with the fireplaces...they rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyTXLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a great location. The hotel lobby is beautiful and the staff were great. But the room we had in the lodges is in need of serious upgrade. The shower is ill designed and floods bathroom floor. The heat unit was rackety and loud. The door to our patio wouldn't close after we opened it and had to go out another door to push on outside to get it shut. The mattress was lumpy. And in general it was all shop worn. When we were checking out the parking lot was full of new mattresses so looks like they are working to get things upgraded.

It's not so much a resort at all. Our room overlooked a neighborhood and we got to watch the tricker treaters making the rounds for Halloween. We didn't utilize the spa so no comment there. It's really more of a hotel. Our friends stayed in the main section hotel rooms. A wedding party kept them awake one night and the catering truck returning woke them on another.

But what really saved this stay was the restaurant. The food and staff were great and we really enjoyed coming in each night and eating and hanging at the bar. Both the hotel and the restaurant had free wine tastings that were very good.

I kind of felt for the great staff having to defend the property. Hope they get the facelift soon!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kendall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback of your recent stay at The Lodge. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our wonderful staff, and our award-winning Carneros Bistro! Our Chefs' use the very best ingredients from the local area as well as the restaurant’s own garden! I am sorry to read of your disappointment with our rooms and the noise that you experienced. We have just finished replacing all of our guests beds, and will be continuing to update our rooms with a complete room renovation in the near future. We hope you will come back soon to experience our rejuvinated property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.4 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
665 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
7.2 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Address: 1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476-7505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: $240 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy vibrant charm in a tranquil setting at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, our impeccable Wine Country resort in Sonoma, California sits less than an hour north of San Francisco and is centrally located among the country's finest wineries in Sonoma and Napa. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing