We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed July 12, 2008

From the moment you walk into the lobby, you are transported into excellence. The staff is friendly; the pool is warm and inviting; the rooms are just the right size with fast internet connection and a good flat-screen TV. Carnenos, the restaurant, is outstanding and reasonably priced for a restaurant of this quality. Raindance, the spa, was wonderful. The grounds are kept impeccably. You will not go wrong if you choose The Lodge at Sonoma.

  • Liked — Carneros, an outstanding place for dinner
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bmfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    411
    157
    55
    32
See reviews for
154
660
12
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend. The hotel was very busy but everything was perfect. The staff from housekeeping to the front desk to the concierge were most helpful throughout the stay. The hotel is perfectly located for day trips up through Sonoma Wine Country and over to Napa Valley too. The rooms were beautifully kept and ours included a balcony, fireplace and luxury bathroom with soaking tub and a window that opened from the bathroom to the sleeping area... a fun, interesting (but not necessarily functional?) decor quirk! The pool area is very spacious as well. One observation: some of the pictures of this hotel on the internet show a grassy area surrounding the lovely hotel pool and hot tub outdoors. A disclaimer: There is no grass around the pool, just cement!

California wine country was amazing as was this hotel. Next time I hoped to be amazed by one of the finer restaurants in the area too...

One thing to avoid: the wine tastings on the property called Cellar Door Wine Tasting. Apparently this operation is contracted out and is not run by the hotel. Bottom line: Don't bother here, check out one of the scores of wineries nearby instead.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Avoid the Cellar Door wine tasting on the property... a contracted out operation that is a waste of time and $$
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xyv1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corpus christi, tx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

The Lodge was fantastic. Stayed there with my husband and my brother and sister in law for two nights while we toured the wine country. The staff was outstanding, especially Elizabeth in the hotel bar. Great location to local wineries and downtown Sonoma. The hotel restaurant is exceptional! Highly recommend! Rooms are beautiful, with large soaking tub and fire place in room, and very comfortable beds with down duvets. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jkellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

If we had gotten a great deal from Hotels.com or another discounter I probably would feel better about the stay. Having paid the full $450 for the room I expected it to be as luxurious as the Sonoma Mission Inn, in the same town, which actually costs a little less. It is not. We even got upgraded to a cottage. The fireplace is nice, and don't get me wrong, it's really an OK place to stay. Just not the WOW I expect for the price. I am typing this on my tablet PC, which is about chest height because the chair and table do not match. The sink and mirror are crowded into the hallway and there are no towel racks by the sink. The bathroom is large enough, but only a toilet and bathtub in the room. It does not seem like a lot of thought went into arranging the room. Also, when I arrived I held the door open for a couple people because the person at the door was talking to a coworker.

  • Liked — It was available
  • Disliked — Seems like an average place at a 4 star price.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EBTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

My husband Matthew and I both feel like May 18, 2008, our wedding day, was the best day of our lives. We hosted our wedding at The Lodge at Sonoma and thirty-one people traveled from where we live, in Minnesota, to attend. So few things in this world are better in person than in pictures and The Lodge at Sonoma truly is! It is a beautiful hotel - obviously well-maintained and very pleasing to the eye.

We had spent a year planning our destination wedding over the phone and via e-mail. Because we live in Minnesota, we weren't able to travel to Sonoma to review possible wedding sites. In other words, we did this all on faith. I was never concerned that we had made the wrong decision because our wedding coordinator at The Lodge and other staff there were so helpful and immediately responsive to our questions.

The rooms are clean, well-decorated, and relaxing. We stayed in a cottage near the pool and enjoyed the deep bathtub and would have loved the fireplace if it wasn't 85 degrees during our trip. The food was tasty (I recommend the midnight macaroni and cheese and the cheese plate as they are both worth the calories). We were also impressed will the level of service we received from all the staff we encountered: the people who delivered room service, the front desk staff, the spa staff, and our housekeeper.

The flowers around the buildings are breath-taking roses in a variety of colors. The entire complex just looked like they care about the way it looks and feels. We didn't want to go home.

I know that it may seem like a lot of money, but we typically stay at four and five star hotels and I can promise you that this one is very much worth the money. The Lodge is also very conveniently located near major vineyards in Sonoma and is a short drive to Napa. You really can't go wrong with this hotel! We will be returning to celebrate our anniversaries because it is worth the cost of a plane ticket.

  • Liked — The beautiful room, well kept property around the hotel, and the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing, honestly
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvRomanticGetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

We just spent 5 nights at The Lodge. It was absolutely wonderful. Most hotels in the area are B&B's and they are just not our style. The whole staying at someone's home feel just does not appeal to us. While one of the larger properties in Sonoma, the feel is very private and personal right from the moment of check in to check out.

At first we were a bit apprehensive due to the distance from the square but it was not bad at all. The drive to the square is very short and parking was easy to find. If you wanted to walk, that was possible too as it was only 1 mile away.

Hotel grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. We stayed in a king cottage suite. Very well appointed, nice spa products, ultra comfy bed and nice soaking tub which you can open to the main living area.

The spa was amazing, we booked the 90 min couples massage and both can attest it was probably one of the best massages we've had. With the massage, they offered us a spa pass for the next day where you can take advantage of the cabannas, swimming pool, and hot tub in the more secluded spa area.

We had dinner one night at the adjoining restaurant, Carneros. One of the best meals in Sonoma. In our opinion, second only to General's Daughter.

I can't say enough good things about our experience at this hotel. Our next visit to Sonoma will definately include a stay at the Lodge.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Calling_In_Sick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

My husband and I and my sister and her husband just spent a few days at The Lodge on our first trip to wine country. The hotel was a perfect find. This is a very nice property, well maintained, helpful staff. I love how the rooms are set up in a "cottage" style. There are clusters of 4 rooms around the property so you don't feel like you're staying in a big hotel.

We shared a room due to the high rates in Sonoma but it worked out fine. We had 2 double beds and a sitting area so there was plenty of room and we didn't feel like we were on top of each other. The beds were to die for! Soooo comfortable! The bathroom was big and the shower blasted out hot water.

It was a short drive into town (they say it's one mile to the town square) to get some dinner every night. We forgot our swimming suits and were bummed because the pool and hot tub were very nice and clean, looked very refreshing. We sat out in the lounge chairs anyway and ordered some drinks in the sun.

They do a free wine tasting every day at the hotel. That was fun, we took advantage of the tasting one evening. We also had drinks at the hotel bar/restaurant. Very nice place with friendly bartenders. We didn't eat there but the food looked really good. Especially the pizzas they were cooking in the wood oven.

All in all, a great find in Sonoma!

  • Liked — Location, quiet and clean
  • Disliked — The $4 charge for a bottle of water!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99TravelBug99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.4 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
8.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Property: The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Address: 1325 Broadway, Sonoma, CA 95476-7505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in an exquisite Sonoma Hotel offering vibrant charm in a tranquil setting. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of San Francisco and centrally located among the country's finest wineries. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our Sonoma resort's accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our Sonoma resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. The Lodge at Sonoma is also the perfect destination for corporate meetings, social events and Sonoma Wine Country weddings and wedding receptions offering 22,000 square feet of flexible event space, both indoors and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing