We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Most uncomfortable beds. Only the bathroom had air/ventilation except for 1 window to open (had trouble opening) besides 2 French doors which you wouldnt want to leave open at night. Pool was average with bugs floating in it. Ordered a vodka tonic with lime and came as vodka, WATER and lime. Daughter tried to get them to help her find a way to get back to SF. They kept telling her someone would get back to her . They never did. She figured it out herself. Unimpressed for that kind of money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trig_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    420
    161
    59
    35
See reviews for
158
685
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

1 mile from center of town of Sonoma, some vineyards in walking distance, others not far away. Comfortable rooms (though AC system blows freezing alternatively with roasting), nice restaurant, excellent sommelier who gives lectures and tastings.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplaces, others handicapped amenities.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally responsible through recycling, water preservation etc
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mschoenmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went on a wine trip with my parents and stayed here over anything in Napa, and we do not regret the choice. The reception was one of the friendliest and helpful we have ever had, and when we got to the room, we were very pleased with how warm the room was. It was atypical of most hotel rooms, with a square shape and a fireplace, but it was comfortable and appropriate for the lodge setting. The grounds of the hotel are also unusual but effective for creating the feel of the hotel. I wish we had more time there to enjoy the pool and main lobby area, which are perfect for enjoying some wine and the cool air. The curly-haired gentleman at the front was awesome and helpful, and a woman there was also exceptionally friendly. I would not hesitate at all to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kafreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! We hope to see you again in the very near future!

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Left credit card by accident at front desk. Called manager/general manager twice after checkout. Call was not returned until over a week later! They had the card the entire time and made no effort to contact me. Room is good with overall grounds good - but neither could be construed as spectacular as evidenced by a Triple A rating of 4 diamonds or other similar ratings. There were several shortfalls for this rating such as the single ply toilet paper. There are better values in Sonoma - be warned.

Room Tip: No breakfast provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chubaka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read about the challenges that you experienced with your credit card. This is not the level of service that we pride ourselves on and I will look into this immediately with my team. The single ply toilet paper was replaced several months ago after receiving similar feedback such as yours and I will follow up with our Director of Services to ensure that it is still in place. If you have a moment, please call the hotel so that I can get a few more details regarding your stay. Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us!

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohasset, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with my wife and daughter in a Cottage. It was our first time to Sonoma and we were very pleased with our stay. The property was beautiful and the staff was excellent. The hotel has a free shuttle to downtown Sonoma (its a 10 minute walk). We were able to go downtown twice for dinner and our last night we at the hotels restaurant (excellent!). My wife and daughter enjoyed the spa (I golfed) and we all enjoyed the pool. I called before our arrival and the Hotel recommended which turned out to be an excellent local private tour guide for our wine tour. The hotel also has nightly wine tastings.
Our cottage was very clean and had a lot of space.The only negatives were our bed was not up to Renaissance standards in my opinion and our pull out coach wasn't the best sleeping option for a teenage daughter. And for all the space the Cottage had, the bathroom was a little small, especially the shower.
Overall I was very pleased with the property and the service and would recommend staying here and hopefully I'll return again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hagearty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A well-located, lovely property. The rooms were clean, well-appointed and roomy with an outdoor seating area. The beds provided a very good night's sleep. The staff was very helpful, taking time to be sure that every need was taken care of and every question answered. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cg15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Yorj
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was really pleased with my stay. The property was beautiful, clean and well maintained. I stayed in a standard room and it was very spacious with a large bathroom, bathtub, fireplace, and balcony. The lobby had complimentary cucumber water which was great after lots of wine and the heat. The concierge was also helpful in recommending local vineyards to visit. Overall, a lovely time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dansh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! Please come back and visit us again soon!

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.4 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
657 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
205 reviews
8.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Property: The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Address: 1325 Broadway, Sonoma, CA 95476-7505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in an exquisite Sonoma Hotel offering vibrant charm in a tranquil setting. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of San Francisco and centrally located among the country's finest wineries. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our Sonoma resort's accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our Sonoma resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. The Lodge at Sonoma is also the perfect destination for corporate meetings, social events and Sonoma Wine Country weddings and wedding receptions offering 22,000 square feet of flexible event space, both indoors and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing