We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Easy to say nice things about this Hotel. The service was among the best I have ever received. The staff really offer first class service from the front desk to the café. The coffee in the café was very good. I was there for my sons wedding and it was a very memorable time. I don't think the hotel grounds would get a five star. The atmosphere was good, but not over the top for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Rooms in front on the second floor have a lovey view of the flat roof and the parking lot. Get a dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    411
    157
    55
    32
See reviews for
154
660
12
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed for five days and really enjoyed our time there. We had one of the cottage rooms which was amazing: open fire, beautiful bath and huge bed. Just a lovely stroll through the lovely garden to the main hotel and pool. It was probably early in the season and when I arrived the pool and surrounding area needed a clean but on Friday a big team arrived and it was cleaned up in no time.
Wine tasting was available every day from 4.30 to 6.00 and our guide was very knowledgable. The bar is lovely and serves coffee and cheese and the restaurant was amazing. Breakfast was great!
The spa was incredible; I had the lavender luxury and a facial which I can heartily recommend.we rented bikes from the hotel and cycled the bike route through the vineyards, stoping to take testers on the way; it was fabulous!
On Friday mornings the hotel offers a complementary hike up into the surrounding hills. I joined our 'navigator' Elizabeth who was so very lovely. I learned a lot about the area, nature and we finished up at a local farmers market. It was a great start to the day!
Elizabeth was so very helpful during our stay, advising us on bike routes, vineyards, shopping and where to go for dinner, without her we would not have enjoyed our stay or the area as much.
So much to write about, Sonoma is lovely and we had a ball!

Room Tip: Go for a cottage room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shel_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We went around in circles trying to decide where to stay. First I thought the Inn at Sonoma (Four Sisters) because of the great reviews but honestly couldn't get past the teddy bears. Then we thought the El Dorado, but couldn't get past the so-so reviews. We finally decided on The Lodge at Sonoma and are so glad we did. They have a shuttle that runs back and forth to town (its a flat 1.1 mile walk) from 8 am until 11 pm (well past the time the town closes down). The pool area is a respite - just beautiful. The fact that they have an excellent on-site restaurant with great service and a separate wine bar with an adjacent store to purchase bottles of wine just ices the cake. The spa was everything a spa needs to be and more. The beds were comfy, the bathrooms large, the balconies and french doors a nice touch. The staff was wonderful. The afternoon wine tastings were very helpful and had some good and some great wines. We will never stay anywhere else in Sonoma.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We came in to try the Pliny as we have heard a lot about the beer. Unfortunately, a wedding party had come in the day before and drained the keg. Ryan had a creative solution as offered a different beer with a shot of hop head, which is the closest you can get to a Pliny.
Thanks Ryan! Your creativity was appreciated.
I'd still like to try the Pliny though!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awsonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed in late May, five nights in one on the cottage rooms. Full bath and a separate shower. Small table a chair on a deck outside the room. Clean, fresh, quiet. Every encounter with staff was pleasant and positive.... not a bad apple among them. Spa has typical "spa" prices, but again, the staff goes above and beyond (Samantha and Christine) and the pools and tubs perfect for a quiet get-a-way day from the hotel pool. The grounds are immaculate and location south of Sonoma square perfect. Food at Carneros was wonderful and Desiree an accomplished waiter. Will defiantly repeat next summer. Great location to explore Sonoma wine country. Little market across the street for last minute items. Highly recommend The Fig and the Girl and The Mayan as restaurants on Sonoma square.

Room Tip: No bad rooms as far as the cottages are concerned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaRichard_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding feedback! We are fortunate to have great ambassadors on property who know how to create the true "Sonoma Experience" for our guests. We look forward to your visit next summer. If we can assist you with any pre-arrival planning prior to your arrival, please feel free to reach out at any time and we will gladly assist you with itineraries, etc.. The e-mail address is rhi.sfols.concierge@marriott.com. Thank you again.

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely resort, but guests in cottage below mine complained and then confronted me with "they can hear me walk across the floor (this is at 8am) and it cannot be tolerated." Apparently this resort prefers guests who have the capability to fly and not touch floors. GM was professional and helpful and moved these insane people to another unit. However, I will NEVER stay here again where the guests are intrusive and rude. Complete loonyville!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Windermere08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I was disappointed to hear about the challenges that you experienced with the guests who were staying in the room near you. From time to time, we do have guests placed next to each other who turn out to be incompatible. Once we are made aware of a situation such as this, we try to respond as quickly as possible to relocate guests to another room in the resort in order to prevent any further challenges. Please accept my apologies for the challenges that you experienced. I hope that you will give us a second chance in the future.

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband, myself and our two college age children ended up at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa after arriving at a misrepresented VRBO that none of us could stomach staying in. We ended up getting two guest cottage rooms. My husband and I stayed in a cottage with a luxurious king size bed, sitting area with fire place, soaking tub and shower. Our two kids stayed in the same type of cottage; however, they had two queen size beds. The rooms were large enough for us to gather in as a family and enjoy wine and cheese in the evenings. I would highly recommend having dinner at the on-site Carneros Bistro. We had dinner there two evenings and the food was excellent. We also enjoyed dining at The Girl & The Fig right on the plaza (expensive but worth it) as well as their sister restaurant in Glen Ellen called The Fig (much less expensive but equally delicious.) Another really good restaurant is in Boyes Hot Springs and it is called "Hot Box." As a guest staying in one of the cottages we received a special VIP wine tasting package that included the VIP tastings and discounts at various wineries including Etude, Beringer, and Chateau St. Jean. We found the location to be good for experiencing the best of wine tasting and dining in Sonoma, Glen Ellen and Kenwood as well as Napa and St. Helena. I would gladly go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakewayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to be in area with amazing restaurants, spas, and local discoveries. On your next stay with us, be sure to check out Bean & Bottle, our on-site wine shop, and Carneros Bistro. We have a truly amazing group of culinarians, along with three top notch sommeliers, who are truly passionate about food and wine. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future!

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.4 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
8.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Property: The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Address: 1325 Broadway, Sonoma, CA 95476-7505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in an exquisite Sonoma Hotel offering vibrant charm in a tranquil setting. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of San Francisco and centrally located among the country's finest wineries. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our Sonoma resort's accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our Sonoma resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. The Lodge at Sonoma is also the perfect destination for corporate meetings, social events and Sonoma Wine Country weddings and wedding receptions offering 22,000 square feet of flexible event space, both indoors and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing