We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Napa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We flew to California to visit Napa Valley but stayed in Sonoma. What a smart choice! Prices are lower and this resort was perfect for us. If you can, reserve or upgrade to a cottage which looks less like a standard hotel room. Cottages are in 2-story buildings so second floor units require using stairs. Outside of our room was a quaint table and chairs perfect for enjoying the evening while sampling local wine. The grounds are absolutely beautiful - they must have a team of gardeners! Everything is very clean and well-maintained. Housekeeping service is excellent and every staff member at the top of their game. We were especially pleased with the restaurant, Carneros. Again a beautiful room, creative menu, great tasting food, and servers focused on pleasing guests. There is some patio seating with umbrellas. We were treated to muffin samples one morning and a smoothie the next. There is a nice size outdoor pool with comfortable lounging furniture. The location in Sonoma is only a couple of miles to shops and restaurants on the town square. We highly recommend this resort and didn't want to leave after our 3 day trip.

Room Tip: We found cottages more fun than rooms in the main lodge but note some require taking stairs to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveCarmel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your outstanding review! You picked a perfect time to visit the Lodge at Sonoma. Everything is in full bloom and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Lodge is a beautiful hotel and I wish I could have stayed longer. It is quiet and small with grounds that are beautifully maintained. The staff (Rhiannon) was very helpful and provided a list of recommended wineries to visit according to our unique wine preferences. We came back early from our wine tasting adventure in order to take advantage of the wine tasting in the hotel bar, which was marvelous. We had dinner at the restaurant was delicious and sat outside around the pool area afterwards once the little fires were lit. I will definitely come back and book a spa appointment if for no other reason than to hang out at the spa outdoor lounge area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marylynn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you so much for the great feedback! Rhiannon is an outstanding ambassador for the resort and we are very fortunate to have a team of ambassadors, like Rhiannon, that truly know what guest service is all about. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience at the restaurant as well. The quality of service and food at Carneros Bistro consistently receive high ratings. On your next visit, definitely experience Raindance Spa.. You will love it!

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Visited Sonoma for the first time over a long weekend for a romantic getaway. The Lodge at Sonoma was a wonderful hotel that we accidentally happened upon. The rooms are beautiful with very comfortable beds. The fireplaces, wine glasses, and corks in every room remind you of why you've come... to relax and drink wine.

The hotel has some great amenities like the shuttle, spa, and fitness center. The shuttle will run people downtown to the plaza most of the day. The drivers are also very knowledgeable about the area and can be very generous about helping you arrive directly at your destination instead of the hotel mandated drop-off point. The spa was gorgeous, very busy while we were there. Buy a bottle of wine and hang out in the outdoor courtyard after your treatment. The fitness center is very robust for a hotel (average for a resort). It has multiple cardio machines, free weights, kettle bells, etc.

Rhiannon at the front desk has a WEALTH of information about everything to do in the valley. She'll give great suggestions for wine tasting rooms, wineries, hiking, restaurants, etc! You name it she knows it. Be sure to ask her for suggestions on ANYTHING!

All in all we loved our time at the resort! A lot of people complained about the birds on this review board, but I have to say this wasn't an 'issue' during our stay at all! Yes, there were birds... it is the country afterall. If you have an aversion to birds perhaps you should stay in downtown high rise type hotels where you won't be inconvenienced by 'wildlife'...

Room Tip: All the rooms have fireplaces! Rooms with terraces are nice, however I wouldn't want one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenDunn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We scored a killer deal on staying in this hotel on our first trip to Sonoma and were really happy with the place. The grounds and buildings are impeccable and were really clean and updated. The common areas are outstanding with little fires for people to sit around and have a drink or two and the pool is large enough to relax the hot days away.

The only downside to this place is, it is BIG bucks if you cant find a good deal or time to go. Hard to complain about this though, its all supply/demand and they clearly have people willing to shell it out to stay here......can't say enough about it.....oh and the restaurant here was all A+ too!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LfeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you for the great feedback! We are really proud of our resort and all of the great offerings that we have available for our guests. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for an overnight in one of the cottages. Great space and comfortable beds. The best part was buying a bottle of wine at the wine bar and taking it back to your room and enjoying it on the outdoor patio.

The pool space is like a resort, the drinks are pricy. Everywhere on the grounds there is fantastic trees, shrubs, plants and roses of all colors. The restaurant on site is really good and they have a fantastic veggie garden where I'm sure many of their ingredients come from.

It's a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quique02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for the great feedback! All 850 rose bushes on property are in full bloom and it is spectacular!!! The garden at Carneros Bistro is also coming into bloom and the chefs harvest fresh herbs for the menu every day. We are all excited about the Heirloom Tomatoes and other vegetables that will be available soon. On your next visit, please feel free to walk through the garden and check out the great things that the Chefs Peter Smith and Andrew Wilson have planted for the restaurant!!

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I dont mind paying over $300 for a room at all but this place needs some work. The pool area looks amazing until you get there and see that they have a serious bird issue. There is a bird droppings everywhere.. even in the pool. We choose this place for the pool area for my kids but to say it was not clean or sanitary is an understatement. Everyone at the pool was telling their "bird droppings" story. Kind of gross to be honest.

I went to the spa. While it was a nice experience they kept telling me they were the Top 25 in the US. It is by no means a Top 25 spa.. but it is nice.

The room was nice and the front desk staff was just ok. Once they clean up the bird issue this place could be fantastic. There are much more affordable options that my friends did the same weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trvl4work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We did experience a large group of mud swallows that quickly began nesting around the pool area, which created a mess. Over the past few days, we have netted the main building to encourage the swallows to nest in another area. This has been very successful and the pool deck and furniture are sparkling clean, ready for our guests to enjoy. Please come back and enjoy our resort in the very near future and please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced.

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Thank u Elizabeth Fenn for organizing a wonderful day of wine tasting in beautiful Sonoma. We thoroughly enjoyed the lodge and the food at your restaurant was excellent. We had a perfect day thanks to you :). Looking forward to another weekend retreat soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kavieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67SonomaFan, Director of Operations at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for the great feedback. Elizabeth is one of our outstanding Navigators and I am so glad that she helped to make your stay memorable. Please come back to visit us again soon! The 850 rose bushes on property will continue to be amazing throughout the season!

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.4 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
665 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
7.2 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Address: 1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476-7505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: $238 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy vibrant charm in a tranquil setting at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, our impeccable Wine Country resort in Sonoma, California sits less than an hour north of San Francisco and is centrally located among the country's finest wineries in Sonoma and Napa. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing