We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience! Great location... Will definitely return...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great experience! Great location... Will definitely return...”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My family (of four - kids aged 12 1/2 and 11) recently stayed at the Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance for 6 days and 5 nights and had a great experience. The front desk professionals were just that - professional. They were courteous and attentive to our requests. As a frequent Marriott traveler this is important to me. I do not expect to have every request honored - only that they attempt to address.

I was very impressed with the check-in process - primarily because it was without a hitch, there was minimal waiting (no one sitting in the back room waiting for the "we are busy" nudge) and we were (voluntarily) given a map of downtown Sonoma.

Room location is VERY important at this hotel. If you want to be near the pool, there are many great options. If you prefer to be away, there are ample options as well. If you want to be closer to the parking lot, well.... you get the point. So, ask at the front desk before they assign your room! We stayed in the cottages, which was plenty of space for us (two double beds and a sofa bed). Each cottage also has a small outdoor patio/seating area that allowed my wife and I to connect/converse at night while the kids winded down by watching some television.

My view is that this hotel and spa is a great retreat for couples and groups (and there were plenty there) yet it is also kid friendly. My kids were very happy with the pool (heated) area. The adults ruled the hot tub and fire pit area.

You can get to a multitude of wineries (in Sonoma and Napa) within 15-30 minutes of this hotel. Downtown Sonoma is a 15 minute walk down Broadway or a quick car ride (note: you could have problems with parking). The hotel provides a shuttle to downtown as well. By the way, there is a cool tavern (Hopmonk Tavern) along Broadway (left side as you are walking/driving from the hotel to downtown) that you should check out (if you brought kids along - come Thursday night for the magician - I am not a "fan" of magicians but he was really good).

We had a great time and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room location is VERY important at this hotel. If you want to be near the pool, there are many grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    411
    157
    55
    32
See reviews for
154
660
12
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We arrived at the Lodge at Sonoma in the late afternoon after a scenic drive from San Fran and all I can say is wow! This place is built for romance. Our room had a fireplace, a massive tub in the bedroom and a balcony. There was also a hot tub and a fire pit down at the pool area. Absolutely gorgeous hotel,and really romantic - and unexpected as it was so reasonably priced!

The first night we were there we ate in town and had a few drinks in a local bar - the hotel is walking distance to the town centre, though there isnt footpaths the whole way. But at least it means you can drink and no cab fare home!

We found Somoma town to be very quiet, so on our second night - not wanting to waste our beautiful hotel room - we just ordered room service and drank wine on our own balcony.

Gorgeous hotel, would love to go back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovecheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My room and the people were terrific! Stayed in a Cottage near the pool...I will return!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank sdt928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was a weekend getaway. Great location, close to downtown and all Sonoma and the area have to offer. From the beginning our reservation was incorrect, and with much hassle finally resolved. The cottages were nice, but small. Grounds were well kept. The negative was the service. The Bean and Bottle cafe was understaffed during breakfast, which created long waits. One day they ran out of menu items. Staff attitude was indifferent. The Carneros Bistro has a great breakfast, however for dinner the service was poor and menu items not available. I understand that new managers have been working to improve service. The proof will be other contributor reviews.

Room Tip: Upper level cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband stayed here Wednesday-Saturday to celebrate a wedding anniversary. We stayed in one of the quality rooms (a standard room in the main lodge building).

The grounds are beautiful to say the least, the rooms are so clean and spacious, and the front desk met our needs (they did not go above and beyond, but they met our expectations).

My only warning is watch the use of smartphones in the room (ensure your settings are set for your phone service provider, not to pick up any wi-fi). Wi-fi is only free in the lobby/public areas.

We absolutely loved the Bean & Bottle. They have awesome coffee in the morning, and the staff at the bar is awesome. We visited there each night for a cocktail, and the charcuterie and cheese they have there rivals anything else you'd find in wine country.

We were so relaxed and felt as though we has our privacy. There was even a huge wedding there during our stay, and we were not disturbed at all.

The location is just South of the main plaza area. It's not too far of a walk, but they have a shuttle that will readily take you to the plaza at your call.

Overall, a wonderful stay. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Lodge from 6/5 - 6/10. It is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in one of the cottages which was very nice. Cottage has electric fireplace, refrig, beautiful pool with cabana sofas,etc. The grounds are very pretty and maintained. But mostly we felt the staff was very helpful. We highly recommend it. On the grounds, there is a restaurant called Carneros Bistro. The food is delicious with excellent wines, with fantastic service. They also have a separate little inside bar area for sandwiches, drinks, breakfast foods and coffee (things for on-the-go or eat in). There is an outside firepit as well. The beds were comfortable. I just can't say enough...lovely.

Room Tip: The cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havetimewilltravel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Beautiful property with a very professional & courtesy staff. The rooms were clean & very quiet. The only complaint I have is the beds were to firm for our backs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tspirit72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.4 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
8.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Property: The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Address: 1325 Broadway, Sonoma, CA 95476-7505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in an exquisite Sonoma Hotel offering vibrant charm in a tranquil setting. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of San Francisco and centrally located among the country's finest wineries. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our Sonoma resort's accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our Sonoma resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. The Lodge at Sonoma is also the perfect destination for corporate meetings, social events and Sonoma Wine Country weddings and wedding receptions offering 22,000 square feet of flexible event space, both indoors and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing