We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dog heaven”
Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 days at the lodge. The hotel looks nice in the lobby and the personnel say all the right things but don't manage to resolve any problems. We had a room across the hall that had 4dogs staying there the whole trip barking!!! Apparently there is no limit on the number of pets that can stay in one room! Housekeeping was terrible. The place bills itself as luxury but is average at best. Would not stay there again

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jandmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    411
    157
    55
    32
See reviews for
154
660
12
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here for one night, primarily because I had a gift card at the spa. Booked a package online that included a $50 resort credit for the same price as the regular rate. The lobby is just finishing a remodel, it's very spacious and modern, with a lot of stone, wood, etc. But having family who lived in Sonoma, it feels more like Southern California than Sonoma for me.

The cottage room was a good size (large enough to have a small sitting area). There is one strange touch as the tub is separated from the living room with shutters that open up. I can maybe see that being a feature if the tub is a jacuzzi (maybe) but just a bathtub? It just seemed odd.

Many of the downstairs cottage rooms have "patios" that are simply slabs of concrete set in an area with minimal landscaping, and in many cases, a view of the parking lot. Yawn.

We didn't eat at their restaurant this time, because previously the atmosphere struck me more like a hotel coffee shop than a nice restaurant.

Next time I'd request the bed be made up with sheets and blankets rather than the heavy duvet, as it was really too heavy.

Their location is some distance south of the plaza, but they do offer a complimentary shuttle to the plaza which works quite well so you can enjoy dinner (and wine) without worrying about driving.

The staff was uniformly helpful and personable.

Room Tip: The upstairs cottage rooms facing north "might" offer a view of the Sonoma hills from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFSusanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Checked in during a rain storm. Upgraded to a cottage with a fireplace, bathtub and King bed. It was clean, cozy and convinced us not to rush out into the rain for something to eat. Had a great picnic in our room and were happy with our surroundings.
Hotel staff accommodating at checkin. Rooms clean, but a little tired around tiles in the bathroom faucet area. Tiny shower, but huge soaking bath tub. Bed very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiet and easily accessible from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wairRwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. rooms have a good size and are nicely appointed. I like the pool area, in a relaxing setting.
With a better restaurant I would give it a five stars

Room Tip: Some rooms are closer to the road and could be noisier, but other than that very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Montpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in March. Thoroughly enjoyed it. I was upgraded to a cottage room, which had an awesome fireplace that we used every night. The pool area was very lovely - we sat in the hot tub and it was the perfect atmosphere. The spa was also nice - quiet and private at the end of the property with its own hot tubs and a nice selection of beauty productsto purchase. The location is ok- right on the busy highway with residential behind it, but the grounds themselves were so lovely I didn't mind. The room was impeccably serviced daily. With the exception of the air conditioner randomly turning on( it was quite cool in Sonoma - low 50's) And a quasi broken coffee pot, everything in the room was well appointed. We had a ground floor cottage - I think I would have preferred an upper level. We ate at their restaurant both for breakfast as well as dinner - really a very good restaurant - great wine and liquor choices. They were in the midst of a major lobby renovation. In looking at the plans it's going to be quite lovely. Parking very close to the cottage that was free. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawdogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Spent a weekend here, and was really relaxing. Everything was very nice, the staff, the room, the hotel was recently updated and really beautiful. The bathroom was big and really nice, big tub, the bed was totally comfortable, and a romantic fireplace. The food at the restaurant was very good... reasonably priced. Highly recommend if you are staying in the area

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJHotelreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This place is a unique place for a couple getaway. From the first night to the third, we were thrilled with the comfort of this hotel. Really really comfortable beds, nice comfy robes, the rain effect shower heads, nice lay-out rooms for a romantic evening. The scents of lavender in the rooms was delightfull Real special treat centre. Their spa is the most reputable around. Their reataurNt is really great. We were with a group visiting the local vineyard. Really noce spot in the Sonoma valley. A must try for anybody!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danthemannad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.4 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
8.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Property: The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Address: 1325 Broadway, Sonoma, CA 95476-7505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in an exquisite Sonoma Hotel offering vibrant charm in a tranquil setting. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of San Francisco and centrally located among the country's finest wineries. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our Sonoma resort's accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our Sonoma resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. The Lodge at Sonoma is also the perfect destination for corporate meetings, social events and Sonoma Wine Country weddings and wedding receptions offering 22,000 square feet of flexible event space, both indoors and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing