We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in Wine Country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We really enjoyed this hotel! We were really impressed that Manuel knew us by name when he checked us in. We loved our room in the lodge, with a patio seating area, soaking tub, and fireplace. I loved the layout of the room.

Concierge Cindy also did a great job of sharing nice wineries to visit in Napa and Sonoma, and provided a few complimentary tasting coupons. We also made good use of the "Tasting Pass" app for the iPhone, which offered discounts and free tasting for both valleys.

Also enjoyed the heated outdoor pool and exercise room. It felt like a private resort, as we were the only ones using the pool.

Loved the location. We were about a mile from Sonoma Square, which would be walkable in good weather. Dinners at Taste of Himalayas and Girl and the Fig were delicious.

The resort has a nice onsite tasting room, The Cellar Door, and the guy there was really informative about introducing us to terrific reds. Talking with him about his travels was really enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sevillana_in_Sandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed in the cottages behind the main hotel, and were treated to quiet and easy access to the parking., The rooms were set up for a restful evening, couch, FP and King Bed. One of the more unusual features was a louvered wall (which could be open or closed) between a soaking tub and the LR/Bedroom. The staff and concierge was especially helpful, with great recommendations for vineyard visits. Try Breakfast and Sandwiches downtown, look for groups of locals reading the paper in the morning, a good clue.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrrooom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The layout of the hotel is nice. The staff is great. Their afternoon wine tasting is also a nice touch. The rooms can be a bit noisy as guests and staff walk by (we were in an interior cottage, so we could not hear the cars in the parking lot). Beds are ok. The gas fireplace was pretty loud when it was running. It is one of the nicer hotels in Sonoma if you are looking for the hotel atmosphere - given that there are so many B&Bs in Sonoma. The room pricing is steep and there may be better alternatives.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anon_travelerSf_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Not worth $180/ night which I paid for. Nothing compare to Palazzo or Bellagio or any 5 star hotels that are all under $180.nt! No sound proofing. Old cottage house. Upstaris kids running around. You can hear water flushing/shower. TV won't work! ipod clock only work with the OLD version, not on all iphone. Small dirty tub. Bathroom door won't close. Cheap 'big lot' version mattress is old and 'wok' shape. Older than my grandma's bed! No support at all! No jet, barely fit 1 person. Loud noisy central heat. You can hear the heater is on/off upstair unit! No valet. Only self park. Cheap for the price they charged. Only worth $80 per night. Total Rip off.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank superpickywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

My wife and I were raving about how for us Sonoma is so much quiter, quaint and personable than commercialized Napa. We really enjoyed the spa, and the downtown area. The Bellman (I think his name is Mike) is extemely personable and helpful. Mike gave us the complete rundown on the downtown area providing us with free tasting coupons and the tip of the weekend, the Meritage Restaurant for excellent seafood.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiNeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We really liked the location of the hotel, and the grounds. The rooms were ok, there was nothing wrong with the room, but they were not really in my opinion a 4 star hotel quality. We did like the free shuttle, and did use it several times during our stay. The resturant at the hotel was good, albiet a little pricey for the amount of food served. We did have a cottage room, with a gas fireplace, but the door on the fireplace was so sooted up that the fire was barely visable. The spa was also very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyerno.one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stayed at The Lodge at Sonoma for 1 night as part of a group tour. Our room was in the main building on the first floor overlooking the front of the hotel, which had a lovely small balcony. The room & bathroom were clean with lovely comfortable beds.

The hotel gave a very relaxed feeling with warm cozy lobby area with fireplace and sofa lounges. Outside was a swimming pool surrounded by beautiful gardens and more cottage accommodations. Also outside was great outdoor lounge chairs with open fireplaces for evening warmth. We ate at the on site restaurant for breakfast which was buffet style.

I would have liked to have stayed here longer (except we were on a tour) however I think this would be a lovely hotel if you are looking for somewhere to visit wineries and relax & unwind, it gives a wonderful calming feeling.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawaii50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.4 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1.1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#6 of 11 in Sonoma
211 reviews
8.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Address: 1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476-7505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: $243 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy vibrant charm in a tranquil setting at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, our impeccable Wine Country resort in Sonoma, California sits less than an hour north of San Francisco and is centrally located among the country's finest wineries in Sonoma and Napa. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing