We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Restaurant”
Review of Hot Box Grill - CLOSED

Hot Box Grill
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Boyes Blvd
Description: Serving locally sourced ingredients in a relaxed atmosphere, the Hot Box Grill is a wine country gem. Chef Norman Owens is at it again creating inspired comfort food.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Phenomenal Restaurant”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I look forward to Hot Box every time we get to visit Sonoma. The food speaks for itself and the hot sauce is unbeatable! This is the perfect wine country foodie destination. Get there quick!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WLR60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    25
    17
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best comfort food in Sonona”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This place is not pretentious or overpriced. It is simply great quality ingredients that are prepared in interesting ways. It is comfort food with a twist. When in Sonoma take a chance off the square and hit up Hot Box Grill. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yumburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veksoe, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hot hot hot”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

HotBox Grill is a great place to dine. We had CRISPY SOFT BOILED EGG SALAD and SMOKED PROSCIUTTO AND SECKEL PEAR for starters, before sharing the catch of the day which was swordfish. Starters were great and the swordfish was out of this world. It was by far the best we have ever tasted. Good selection of wine by the glass, very friendly service, all in all: highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Should not be #1 in Sonoma”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I eat here for two reasons, one it was close to hotel but primarily due to the fact it got such great reviews. To size this up real quick, I have no idea why this is the #1 restaurant in Sonoma. Our group of four wanted to experience several items, so we all ordered different things then sampled a little of each. Our sides consisted of deviled eggs (No big deal), Duck Fat Fries (No different than Red Robin Fries), Spicy Ahi (the best of the bunch) and spicy mac n cheese (oily and bland). As far as main courses, the “chick pot pie” is really a chicken breast with a side of potatoes (Not a pie and uneventfully), The Cornish hen was large and could feed multiply people but unfortunately was over salted and dry.
To break it down
Positives
Great service
Decent prices
Awesome Wine and beer menu

Negatives
Food wasn’t very good
Since the place is small it is VERY Noisy
Even with doors open it was hot inside

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DieHardRamsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Cornish hen saves restaurant”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went for dinner and looking forward to their sides. The server appeared very disappointed that only 1-2 person hen dinner and multiple sides (brussel sprouts, fries and mac&cheese) were ordered. The hen dinner could easily feed 3 hungry people and slightly oversalted. The meat was tender and juicy. The fries were good but not outstanding--probably because the ketchup and mayo were uninspiring dips. Mac&cheese was oily. The winner was the brussel sprouts, served in a skillet, but still somewhat oily.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uzengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Box Grill also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing