We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soothes the soul and challenges the norm”
Review of Hot Box Grill - CLOSED

Hot Box Grill
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Boyes Blvd
Description: Serving locally sourced ingredients in a relaxed atmosphere, the Hot Box Grill is a wine country gem. Chef Norman Owens is at it again creating inspired comfort food.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Soothes the soul and challenges the norm”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a fantastic experience at Hot Box Grill. WE started with the duck fries and shared them amongst four of us. They were so unique and delicious. My husband and I split the fried hen. It was decadent and better than some of the best Southern fried chicken I have eaten. IT wasn't greasy or salty. Just perfect! Everything about our meal was better than the next. I would highly recommend the food. The service was excellent and the restaurant was very cozy. We would definitely go back if in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    25
    17
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Just Like Sunday Dinners in Grandma's Kitchen”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Positives:
1. Attentive service
2. Fabulous deep fried cornish game hens with macaroni and cheese and bread pudding
3. Reasonably priced
4. Chef is really imaginative and food is beautifully prepared and well executed.

Only two negatives:
1. Even though owner has installed sound baffles, it is still pretty noisy so if that is a negative for you, go early.
2. Hot sauce is REALLY spicy so beware but you'll love it if you like habanero chili flavor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank United50K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena, california, USA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“You know it's going to be great when....”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

You know it's going to be great when you walk in the door at your correct reservation time, and you immediately get seated without even waiting one minute. You know it's going to be great when the chef prepares food from local sources , and particularly vegetables that are in season. Of course most wine and beer is from local area. I also like that they include a choice of a carafe of wine. A member is our group is a a celiac, and she was able to enjoy a delicious gluten free meal. Dinner for three was a reasonable one hundred for two starters, one entree, and one shared entree, carafe of wine. This was our second time eating here, already looking forward to the next. This restaurant is exactly what one thinks of as a "Sonoma" Calif. innovative restaurant. Dress is casual!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hughespasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not far from the center of town by car”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a great meal at Hot Box. I had one of the specials which spare ribs served over pasta. It was like a tasty stroganoff. My husband had chicken. He enjoyed his meal. The service was good. The place is small so reservations are a must.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dive_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We overdid it a little bit at the Hot Box, but it was hard not too. Each couple did a meant-to-be-shared meal, and they were both excellent. Husband and I chose the rib-eye, which came with roasted brussels sprouts and twice baked potato, and one of the best restaurant rib-eyes we've had in a long time. The other couple shared a melt-in-your-mouth pot roast. Comfort food elevated to another level. Wish we would have had room for dessert, because they looked to die for. The service could have been more friendly and helpful, we felt like we were annoying our waiter for having to wait on us, but the food more than made up for it. We'll go back the next time we're in Sonoma

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Box Grill also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing