We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed reviews, part neutral, part good”

Basque Boulangerie Cafe
Ranked #1 of 5 Bakeries in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: The Basque Boulangerie Cafe opened on the historic square of Sonoma in 1994 and offers two generations of baking excellence. "The Basque", as it is affectionately known by locals and return customers, specializes in lightcrumb, crisp sourdough breads and assorted sweet French or Parisian style breads, Danish pastries, morning rolls, cookies and cakes in its lively cafe, as well as delivering these fresh products daily to its wholesale customers. The Basque Cafe offers an extended cafe style menu available all day.
Auburn, WA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews, part neutral, part good”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were so excited to have a croissant and some other pastries at this bakery, which is located in the heart of Sonoma and within walking distance of the apartment we rented. Collectively we were all so-so in our reaction to the scones and croissants we purchased. The prices were very reasonable. On our way out of town, I grabbed a raisin cinnamon bun and it was great. I noshed on it from Sonoma to Sausalito. So I suppose that it depends on the particular items you select and your expectation. We have some awesome pastries in Seattle, so the bar is set high. We did not have any coffee, so we can't comment on that part of their business. The bakery had great energy. On Sunday, you could barely see the counter, as it was so popular.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebBAuburn_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    109
    25
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful pastries and coffee!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I travel to Sonoma a few times each year. We start every morning at this bakery/café. It is located right on the Sonoma square. They have great coffee and wonderful pastries. A huge selection of muffins, croissants, scones, cookies, rolls, and also breakfast items (quiche, etc.). There are a few tables outside and also seating inside. A perfect way to start the morning in Sonoma!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holadebbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Bakery items are outstanding”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Raspberry raisin scone, chocolate walnut muffin, chocolate cherry muffin! I came back day after day for the baked goods. They were huge and only $2.15 each. I can't vouch for the meals, but the bakery is excellent and a tremendously good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcsepich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing hot spot on the Square”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Sonoma square needs a decent cafe for breakfast. We went here because there was no where else to grab a coffee and pastry in the morning. It was jam-packed. The pastries were disappointing as they did not seem fresh. The quiche was dense and flat and seemed like it could have come out of a Marie-Callendars frozen box. The croissants were not fresh. The best thing shared by our table was the French Toast. The cashiers made several mistakes so watch what you are paying for and that you get what you asked for. (In one case they brought us a dish that had been cancelled, in one case they forgot to give us the pastry-although they quickly offered it up when it was mentioned).
At the end of the day of wine tasting, we were again circling the square and an older gentleman was sitting outside near the door promoting all the passers-by to come in and have some of the fantastic food, which he said had been featured on TV.
The coffee is fine and there are no other options in the square but the food we had was a major disappointment.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank purpleskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Bakery”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went here for breakfast and were so impressed with he food we also bought bread here for a lunch we packed. Very friendly people and also they have good coffee.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandSheri1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basque Boulangerie Cafe also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Basque Boulangerie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing