We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Endless goodies!”

Basque Boulangerie Cafe
Ranked #1 of 5 Bakeries in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Basque Boulangerie Cafe opened on the historic square of Sonoma in 1994 and offers two generations of baking excellence. "The Basque", as it is affectionately known by locals and return customers, specializes in lightcrumb, crisp sourdough breads and assorted sweet French or Parisian style breads, Danish pastries, morning rolls, cookies and cakes in its lively cafe, as well as delivering these fresh products daily to its wholesale customers. The Basque Cafe offers an extended cafe style menu available all day.
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Endless goodies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stopped in on Saturday morning for a quick nosh at a table on the sidewalk on Town Square. This bakery rivals the best bakery in any country for baked goods, sweets and savories. Very nice servers and a good spot to stop and people watch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank aulocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    102
    25
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Mainstay or our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

No wonder the locals love this place. The coffee (latte) was excellent, the breakfast sandwichs were excellent. It is a little cramped, but it's a boutique coffee shop - you can't have it all. We had breakfast here every morning, it's a great little bakery.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Deli/Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a great place to stop before or after you are shopping in the Sonoma Square. Small space to grab some seats first. I had the roast beef sandwich, side of potato salad (beware its enough for three people), a cup of coffee, and the princess cake for dessert! The sandwich was great. Bread was soft and the sandwich had so many wonderful flavored. Only ate half. Coffee had great, deep flavor. Cake was a real treat! Can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Morning Goodness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Breakfast at the Boulangerie is perfect. We love to go there for a croissant and espresso when we're in town. It's a breakfast staple in Sonoma for us. We've had baked goods and sandwiches there and have always been very happy with everything. Fresh and reasonably priced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sidewalk satisfaction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stopped in for pastries and coffee one morning. The pastries were good quality, and the coffee was excellent. It is a hangout, and has nice, small tables both inside and out. Good for people watching.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basque Boulangerie Cafe also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Basque Boulangerie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing