We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so cute”

Basque Boulangerie Cafe
Ranked #1 of 5 Bakeries in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Basque Boulangerie Cafe opened on the historic square of Sonoma in 1994 and offers two generations of baking excellence. "The Basque", as it is affectionately known by locals and return customers, specializes in lightcrumb, crisp sourdough breads and assorted sweet French or Parisian style breads, Danish pastries, morning rolls, cookies and cakes in its lively cafe, as well as delivering these fresh products daily to its wholesale customers. The Basque Cafe offers an extended cafe style menu available all day.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“so cute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Good location, friendly service and everything there tastes great. Very European.
It is easy to visit for snacks, coffee or more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank woodie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    102
    25
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

After driving for 6 hours and arriving in Sonoma, we were just looking for something light to eat for lunch. While walking past Basque Boulangerie Cafe, a young woman sitting at one of outside tables told us "to take it from a local, this is a great place". So we did. My husband had their grilled ham and cheese sandwich - he actually finished the whole thing - so I know he enjoyed it. I had the spinach salad - very good and just what I was looking for. This is not a fancy cafe, but you will get some good food and the staff was very friendly. So if you are in Sonoma, try it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank marysbandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a lovely cafe and shop selling amongst other things - wonderful muffins. The coffee is really good too and it's good value. You can sit in (its busy) or take away to the historic square opposite.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MarquisofCaribas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Noisy, cramped, overpriced to say nothing of apparently unhappy servers, and then there is the long wait, the dry sliced whole wheat bread, which I think had something between the slices, but hey for $7 you can't expect too much cheese, tomato, lettuce mustard etc or can you?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grampscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Get it to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Really good baked goods, but get them "to go" and go over to the Plaza to eat. The Basque seems to always be crowded. (But, hey, that's a sign that it's really good, right?)

Tutti Fruiti, morning buns, croissants, Danish, cookies -- all highly recommended.
The breads are exceptional. I'm sure I've tried each kind at least once. (The "pull-apart" is especially good.) Get a loaf and then go to the Cheese Factory on the Square for some cheese, then go to the Plaza for a picnic.

(I haven't had sandwiches or salads from the Basque, but I see lots of people eating them. So I'm assuming they're good, too.)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basque Boulangerie Cafe also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Basque Boulangerie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing