We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy country inn in the Wine Country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Ramon, CA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Cozy country inn in the Wine Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2009

In mid-January, the IIDA ( International Interior Design Association) held their Winter Retreat 2009 at MacArthur Place.

I was pleasantly surprised when I drove up to the property and found out that it covers 7 acres. There are numerous buildings on this historic site and each typically has 4 rooms, 2 upstairs and 2 down, total 64 rooms and suites. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and many interesting sculptures throughout.

Each room is individually designed and the decor is what I call country chic. The room was very comfy and charming, with king bed, nice linens and down comforter. Flat panel TV with DVD player ( they loan you movies at the front desk). The bathroom was spacious with shower ( wished it had a tub) and nice toileties ( and they had my favorite cotton pads, too), included is a bathrobe, which I wasn't expecting. There are books and magazines in the room and 2 large lounge chairs with reading light, large closet, dresser and desk. Turn down service was great cuz they leave chocolate and body butter from the spa. Mini bar and snacks in the room with coffee maker and martini glasses and shaker!

Saddles is the restaurant on the property, open for breakfast and dinner, we did not eat at the restaurant, but we had a Welcome Reception the first night in the Veranda room and the hors d'oeuvres served were decent.

The next day, our meeting in the Rodeo Room, started with buffet breakfast. I am assuming it is similar to the complimentary breakfast buffet for the hotel guests. Yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, croissants, coffee, tea, etc. Everyone loved the Numi tea! Our lunch was a typical bag lunch with sandwich, chips, apple, cookie. Nothing special, but the afternoon strawberry/banana smoothie was delicious!

On the property is a swimming pool, great for when the weather is warm and a jacuzzi. Some were brave enough to use, but for me it was too cold in the middle of January.

The Garden Spa is adjacent to the pool and has 7 treatment rooms, lounge, locker rooms, co-ed steam room and gift shop. Facilities are complimentary for hotel guests or with any spa treatment. Spa Day packages include "Spoil Yourself" facial, massage, lunch and spa gift, 100 min, for $245.

Other amenities include, fitness center, complimentary evening wine and cheese reception in the library ( excellent selection of games, books, DVD's), internet access and printer, giant outdoor chess set and bike rental.

I have a map of the property, that I can send you if you send me your email address ( also have Spa Menu). Some of the rooms are farther from parking than others. My room was close to the pool, which I think could be noisy in the warm weather. Because we were a large group we got a great rate on the rooms, I believe it was $189 per night for Thursday and Friday night. The president of our group got upgraded to a large suite, which was lovely with fireplace and soaking tub.

We ate dinner at Mary's Pizza at the Plaza the first night and it is a fun, casual, inexpensive place with great thin crust pizza, the specialty is the Toto pizza (combo). The next night we had a very nice dinner at El Dorado Hotel restaurant also on the Plaza. The food was excellent and it is a very upscale restaurant with modern decor.

The MacArthur Place conference center and gardens offer ideal space for meetings, retreats, weddings, private events and receptions. I think it is perfect for a romantic getaway or girl's weekend. I would definitely go back, although the high season rates seem very high. $399-699 per night. 2 night stay required on Saturdays.

Sonoma Plaza is wonderful to stroll around and my favorite shops include the Church Mouse ( thrift shop benefits St Francis school) and off the Plaza is not to be missed Tiddle E. Winks - step back in time to vintage 5 and dime!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieJue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    158
    47
    17
    2
See reviews for
96
543
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

While this was not our first stay in Sonoma, it was our first stay at MacArthur Place. We found it to be lovely. It has a great location, within walking distance of the downtown square; lovely grounds, with gardens including whimsical sculptures; and charming guest rooms that made you feel like you were staying at a private home instead of a hotel. Our room was in the "Manor House" with only three or other rooms, and had its own porch. Unfortunately, our stay was short, so we did not visit the spa or the restaurant. The only negative we experienced was the bed and pillows were a little too firm.

  • Liked — location, gardens, room decor
  • Disliked — the bed and pillows were both a little too firm
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eam214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

We just got back from a week stay at Macarthur Place. This place is magical!! We got a great deal on a deluxe suite through the Macarthur Place website. It was spectacular! (Comfortable King bed, bar, fireplace, desk, rain-shower, walk-in closet). The place was so peaceful, and the gardens were still beautiful in the middle of winter. The pool and hot tub were warm and a great start or ending to every day. The place was very clean, staff exceptional, the wine and cheese tasting was a nice little appetizer before dinner.

The hotel is only a few blocks away from the Square at Sonoma (10 min walk). Trust me, this is the place to be, it is where all of the restaurants and shopping are. If you stay any further north (Fairmont) you are in the middle of the Sonoma ghetto. Macarthur Place is a fantastic location to visit wineries!

We had breakfast a couple of times at the hotel, it is what it is.. free!! Nice fruit, yogurt, cereal, muffin or bagel breakfast. Plenty of fine dining in Sonoma, a quick free breakfast is all you need.
As far as restaurants go LaSalette was amazing, as well as Girl and the Fig for lunch. Meritage was just ok, good happy hour, and sushi at Shiso was some of the best (sit at the bar and you might be lucky enough to have the owner make special dishes for you).

Ask the hosts at wineries for recommendations on other tours and wineries, we got several free reserve tastings.

Word to the wise... it's called "Slow-noma" for a reason. After the wineries close at 4:30 and most shopping closes at 5, all that is alive in the town are a couple of restaurants... open until maybe 10. Macarthur place is a great place to close out each night by the fireplace with a bottle of wine. It was truely a relaxing and restful vacation we were looking for after the holidays.

  • Liked — Rooms were fantastic, Peaceful environment
  • Disliked — Everything was wonderful
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LinzDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petaluma
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The grounds amazing and the spa was an added bonus of relaxation.
Can't wait to visit again.

  • Liked — beautiful grounds
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank adobecreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

I would highly recommend MacArthur Place as the perfect destination for a weekend retreat. I went with my girlfirends for a quick getaway from Marin. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and enjoyed not only the lovely suite we stayed in, but also a wonderful spa experience. We felt as if we were truly far away in a beautiful resort. We also enjoyed the close proximity to the attractions of downtown sonoma. I would definitely go again - with girlfriends or for a romantic getaway with my husband.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytripperyeah17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

MacArthur Place is, in many ways, better than the existing photos suggest and it would take many more photos to give one a sense of the place than are currently posted. The grounds are well kept and quite beautiful and interesting. The rooms are in small buildings of 4 rooms (2 lower / 2 upper) and there are say 10-15 of these small buildings -- maybe more. The entire setting inside each room is home-like and pleasant. There's a sense of spaciousness and connection with surrounding environment and yet each room has a good degree of privacy. Negatives? There really aren't any. I have also stayed at the Harvest Inn in St. Helena and between the two, it's a close call. I prefer the updated and pleasant day bed environment of MacArthur Place, classic architecture, and overall style. The place is a little more laid back which probably reflects the Sonoma vs. Napa style issue. Harvest Inn is pleasant but I find the in-room environment a little more hodge podge design wise versus what one finds at MacArthur Place unless you get a room that has patio and looks at the vineyard. The upside of Harvest Inn is its close proximity to the heart of Napa Valley. But for pure R&R, you might be better served at MacArthur Place and the presence of the spa (even if you're not going to use it) is a plus.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank plenty_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotati
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2008

Great place for girls to have fun. fabulous spa . best burger i have ever eaten

  • Liked — the Gardens are beautiful
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolamonalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
6.9 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Property: MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476-7615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 Minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 10 San Francisco and Northern CA Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing